1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 11.10 WHQL Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,231 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD today released its latest official version of Catalyst, a software suite that provides drivers for AMD/ATI Radeon graphics processors, A-Series APUs, 7-series and 8-series integrated graphics, and related system software. Catalyst 11.10 WHQL launched today has essentially the same change log as the 11.10 Preview 3 driver, except that it's WHQL-signed. Catalyst 11.10 WHQL is the driver to have when playing some of the latest titles such as Battlefield 3 and Rage.

    Catalyst 11.10 WHQL brings in a few new features, too, such as support for 5x1 Eyefinity, with maximum resolution increased to 16000 x 16000 pixels on Radeon HD 6000 series GPUs, and in DirectX 11 applications, and improved Vision Engine Control Center / Catalyst Control Center applications (VECC is installed for A-Series APUs and Chipset IGPs, CCC is installed for discrete Radeon GPUs).

    DOWNLOAD: AMD Catalyst 11.10 WHQL for Windows 7 and Vista 64-bit | Windows 7 and Vista 32-bit

    Windows 7 specific bug fixes include:
    • Some OpenGL games like Enemy Territory Quake Wars no longer experiences random corruption.
    • Lost Planet 2 no longer experiences random crashes when running the benchmark.
    • F1 2010 and Dirt 2 no longer experience random flashing during the game.
    • Google Earth no longer displays random corruption when running in OpenGL mode.
    • Mafia II no longer experiences a random crash during game loading / game play when Crossfire is enabled.
    • Unigine Heaven running in DirectX 11 mode no longer experiences a performance drop when running with Dual Graphics enabled.
    • Homefront no longer experiences random game crashes.
    • Random flashing is no longer experienced when playing back SD/BD content on a 120Hz monitor.
    • An application crash is no longer randomly observed while playing M2V/Mpeg2/Mpeg4 files and toggling the Hardware Acceleration setting.
    • Display corruption is no longer experienced on the primary display when running in extended display mode with AERO enabled.
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011
    Ahhzz, 95Viper and Super XP say thanks.
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,231 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to ShogoXT for the tip.
  3. ShogoXT

    ShogoXT New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    974 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    dark2099 says thanks.
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,817 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    so i dont need this for 5000 series ? i got the version before this
  5. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
  6. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    These are working fine. I have my settings all on high and AA and MAA turned off. I will be tweaking it down the road, but for now I am satisfied :)

    happy halloween all!

    Sorry, had to do it!
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    H82LUZ73 says thanks.
  7. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Alex you were running which driver prior?
  8. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,743 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Installed them for my HD 6970. The interface looks different than the 11.9 version. Now to play some Metro 2033 and L4D2 to see if I notice a difference.
  9. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    11.10 released on the last day of October. Cutting it close there guys.

    I got another star, holy ^*&^.
  10. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    11.10 Verison 3 with CAP4
  11. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    So should I expect any improvements with my crossfire 5870's in BF3?

    I have preview 3 installed with cap4, UL(whatever you call it) disabled and still stuck on HIGH settings no AA only. It I set anything to ultra I get dips from 100fps down to 1-2. :(

    There was no mention of bf3 improvements in there either.
  12. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,112 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    16k x 16k!!

    AMD just quadrupled Intel's incoming 4k by 4k support. :nutkick:

    Also shouldn't the CAP 4 driver be included with 11.10?
  13. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    What about the flashing in F1 2011 . . . :shadedshu
  14. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Well, BF3 use 900+MB of vram on high, so on ultra pretty much every 5870s will run out of memory.
  15. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    My 5870s fly, i use 2gigs of VRAM on my 5870s.
  16. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The vast majority of 5870s are 1GB versions (except a few versions like the Eyefinity or the the Asus Matrix), so they tend to run out of memory on ultra settings with AA.
    In Crossfire vram is mirrored, meaning a pair of 5870 1GB will act effectively as a 1GB card.
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,519 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    It's listed right in there? :confused:
  18. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    I Know that...the limitation dosent slow me down one bit. Its nice to have an SSD and alot of RAM.
  19. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    Good one, got a new radeon card coming [xfingers] tomorrow.
  20. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It is because you still have barely enough vram for 1080P, on higher resolutions and higher level of AA, you will notice the difference.
    System memory is more than 10x slower than the memory on the 5870, it doesn't matter how much of it you have.
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,519 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    Ultra settings, 2xAA, 1920x1200, 1gb cards, no issue at all.
  22. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,166 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    The quick links on the homepage to the drivers for both Nvidia and AMD are out of date now.
  23. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    BF3 suprisingly smooth with Ultra textures, everything else high 0x AA and HBAO on @ 1680x1050 with a measly HD 5770. It looks fantastic, in the words of McDonalds" I'm loving it!!"
  24. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    823 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    In Rage everything went blue... xD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page