1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 11.4 WHQL

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by EREN007TR, Apr 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EREN007TR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    [​IMG]


    Also contains chipset drivers for AMD boards.

    Should be the same drivers AMD will post tommorow.

    Win7/Vista x86/x64
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 27, 2011
  2. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Everyone rants and raves about the crossfire improvements with these but they tanked my old 5850 crossfire compared to the 11.2's
     
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,627 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Weren't 11.4 WHQL suppose to be releasd today?
     
  4. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    you clearly musta done something wrong because 11.4 trash the 11.2 for performance
     
  5. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    It was on a fresh install, Because of the results others were getting I thought best to do a fresh one as it only takes 25mins and it was due for a fresh install anyway.

    As an example the 11.4's lost me 10fps on the minimum framerate on Crysis compared to the 11.2's.
     
  6. 2DividedbyZero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    780 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    202
    Location:
    in retarded hell
    ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh minimum framerate



    in 1 game.








    :confused:

    11.4p > 11.2 /end
     
  7. loler32

    loler32 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If the 11.2 works better for him , he should use it.
    your sig is dumb.
     
  8. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    I used 1 game as an example :shadedshu:shadedshu:rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,639
    just uploaded the official files from amd (not the ones from this thread) to the tpu servers
     
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Are these the official new drivers then ?
     
  11. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,639
    yes, the ones in the tpu dl section are
     
    AudiTuner and trickson say thanks.
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Sweet thank you W1zzard ! Going to try them out now . :rockout::respect:
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,627 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Thx Wiz. Though i hate the fact that AMD is not using timestamps anymore for digital signatures. This way you could always verify if they are indeed unmodified and actually what they say they are. Otherwise you can just rename the thing from 11.4 Preview and you still wouldn't know until you install it and check version numbers. But i guess we can trust Wiz here. It's a bit more problematic when random ppl post them...

    EDIT:
    Btw, do you have changelog for 11.4 WHQL?

    EDIT2:
    What's the obvious new thing is the update checker. Good way to keep users from using outdated drivers. I like it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2011
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,639
    changelog url is still pw protected :(
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,627 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Awesome, profiles are back. Now i can make one profile with MLAA, another with regular FSAA + Transparency SuperSampling. I can also add one without any goodies and one with everything maxed out for really old games. And you can easily fire it up through tray icon now. I'm totally sold as it works abslutely great. You can also assign hotkeys and EXE to it, though i won't be using that...

    Before this i had to manually switch every setting by hand. No need to do that anymore :D
    Just one note for this feature. If you don't enter tooltip info, the profile won't work. It will save but the settings won't be stored in it. Just copy the name you assigned for tooltip as well if you don't have anything useful to write in there.
     
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    The problem I have with all these driver updates is that you have to keep uninstalling the old ones to install the new ones. I wished they would make it so you could just install the package over the old ones . They need to start making driver updates easier and more user friendly . JMHO .
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,627 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    928
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Where were you living for the past 2 years? I'm installing drivers over old ones ever since i bought Radeon 9600 Pro. And quite long ago they changed it so you don't even have to reboot after update.
     
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL . Recently Most have been running into big problems doing this ( I have as well ) . I find that you have to uninstall the old drivers just to get the full benefit out of the new ones and some times even when you do this you can adversely affect your OS or computer all together ! But I still think they should make them much easier and user friendly to install .
     
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,887 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,639
    over hundreds of driver installs on many systems i never had any problems installing-over with nvidia drivers, only like once or twice with ati drivers.

    my suggestion is just install over, if you run into trouble uninstall and reinstall
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  20. boise49ers

    boise49ers

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,277 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Idaho
    Some people's kids :wtf:
     
  21. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I had a BSOD installing them ! I finally figured it out . For some reason ATI put this HD audio crap into there drivers and that is the cause of the BSOD For me any way . I took every thing out ATI related then did a custom install leaving out them STUPID Audio drivers and it went smooth ! No BSOD after I did all this ! What the hell is up with that any way ? This is video card drivers not Audio card drivers ! Man talk about freaking me out I was all upsad and scared ! I will just have to do custom installs of the drivers from now on leaving out the crap that causes BSOD !
     
  22. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,773 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    While I don't have ATI cards any more.... How are these doing are they worth it? Reason I ask I am planning on picking up two 6850's for back up cards possibly at the end of the week. So if anyone has a couple of 6850's or 6870's please let me know how these are working for yah?
     
  23. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,779 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Just gave it a shot installing right over the top of 11.4 preview. First time I've tried this as opposed to the clean install approach. I have my fingers crossed.
     
  24. loler32

    loler32 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Can I use this for my HD4350 ?
    (after I will fix the BIOS of course)
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,671 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,066

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page