1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 12.11 Performance Analysis

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    My 2D clocks are are stuck in this mode now.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Install error, I'd say, no problems like that here, both single and multi-GPU, 300 MHz GPU, 150 MHz memory no problem.
     
  3. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    i only got a slight improvement 1-2% negligable,, tut they work well though, they seem to have 5xxx series as good as they are getting, they are working very well still :)

    mine are at 157 Erocker but no glitching, odd ,good but odd ,theres time yet for your trick ;)
     
    More than 25k PPD
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,131 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,657
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    They are the same performance even more now. I dont see how it makes the 680 look bad. Must make the 7970 look bad then too. Like i said, pick your color, and your getting same card with different drivers.

    Im wondering what they did to push this amount of performance out of the cards. When Nvidia did this with the GTX2xx series they lowered the image quality in a lot of the games to get the extra performance.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Oh you.

    I've reinstalled several times now. Using my method and using ATiMan Uninstaller. It may be the bios I'm using which has unlocked clocks.
     
    james888 and theoneandonlymrk say thanks.
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    More than 25k PPD
  8. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,372 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,602
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I'm getting the same clocks with my primary 7970. 2nd card is still using zero core though.

    EDIT:

    Just tried a few things and it does seem to be better (even with crossfire). It's also fixed my Afterburner bug where my 2nd gpu temps/clocks wouldn't show. Now it does :)

    Can confirm, BF3 is faster :toast:

    But yeah, primary card doesn't down clock as much but it doesn't exactly suck juice at 0-1% load so no biggie.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,178
    Tried the stock and GHz bios and get the same high 2D clocks. Only happens with these drivers. When I switch back to 12.9 beta, clocks become 300/150 in 2D mode. I don't know what I'm missing.

    @cadaveca, did you just install over your previous drivers?

    @ 54thvoid, are you running reference card(s)?

    **I found others having similar issues: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18452871&page=10

    Seems to be happening to 7970 reference card users. Apparently AMD is aware of it. I'll take the power usage in trade for performance though for now.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  10. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Great driver for gaming... this is the first driver where The Witcher 2 has worked 100% fine with ubersampling enabled for me - no crashes + 60fps performance!

    The bad news? It seems unstable for bitcoin mining. When I'm mining, I get weird artifacting on the screen regardless of my clock and voltage settings. The problem does not exist in any games so far, and obviously not many people mine bitcoins, so not a huge deal.

    It also nearly bumped my 3dmark11 X score over 7000! I could probably get my clocks up enough to score X7000 and survive for a single run, but at 1195/1800 (which is my max 100% stable clock), I'm getting around X6850-X6900.
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,976 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,630
    ya that stuff right there is not a normal task. Id say try folding/crunching
     
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,540 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    Interesting about bitcoin mining doing that. What miner do you use? Btc mining is all single precision math. Try lowering your aggression.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,099 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,878
    I'm going to try the 12.11 and see if they affect my reference 7970 the same way as erocker. I'll post back shortly.
    12.11
    My clocks are also stuck at 500/1375
    [​IMG]

    And apparently it's only my main card, as my second card doesn't have the issue of high clocks, but it doesn't seem to be powering off like it used to.
    [​IMG]

    Went ahead and downloaded and installed 12.10 also, no change ? I swear 12.8 didn't have this issue
    12.10
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Novulux

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Messages:
    150 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    My 3DMark11 performance preset graphics score increased 1.4k on my HD 7870. Time to try some games.
     
  15. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,909 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,384
    I've been running the 12.4's for a while, and my clocks are already stuck at 500/1375. Might as well try these out for the extra boost ;)

    EDIT: Ok, ran the installer package and did an uninstall, rebooted, then ran the package again and installed them. Had to go back in and configure my Eyefinity setup (no big deal - 30 seconds maybe), then had to reboot again for cards #2 and #3 to be recognized in Afterburner. Right now I am sitting idle at the desktop and GPU #1 is at 500/1375, but GPU #2 & #3 are sitting at 0/0. Nice :pimp:
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,377 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,682
    12.10 is working as expected for me on 5K crossfire, no bugs with idle clocks.
     
  17. Clubber_Lang

    Clubber_Lang New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    70 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Well.....I'm glad I have you guys here that actually know what you're doing to test this stuff. If I had my new card I wouldn't know what the hell was going on. Hopefully be able to pick up a new 7970 within the next couple weeks!! :rockout::rockout::rockout:
     
  18. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Using GUIMiner because I don't really know what I'm doing (don't know what aggression is or how to lower it) and the other miners seemed more complex, and I just started leaving my rig on at night to mine while I sleep to make some free $$ to pay for new tech toys (I don't pay for electricity).

    It doesn't seem to do anything harmful... the artifacts seem to have to do with aero glass in win7 as it seems to have problems drawing the borders of windows - they will become sporadically "blocky" until you move the window and make it re-draw.

    I've had it up and running for a few hours now and no crashes, so it's not unstable... just some sort of weird bug.
     
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,540 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,691
    Ah, guiminer. Guiminer uses poclbm. It does not have aggression.
    You are useing this on a 7970 right. You should try these settings in the extra flags section.

    Code:
    -f 60
    -f refers mostly to how the system will prioritize graphical load. -f 60 will put it last. -f 0 will put it before everything. It may reduce your hash rate by 10mhz but your system will run better hopefully.

    Code:
    -w 256
    -w refers to work size. This should increase your hashrate.

    I would suggest cgminer. It is the best out there right now. It will give you the best hash rate and it is actually really easy to use.
     
    BigMack70 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,099 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,878
    12.10 has normal idle clocks? I tried it w/ 79xx but it did the same high 2d clocks 500/1375. Back on 12.8 for the time being and everything looks good :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Both the 12.10 and 12.11 BETA are giving me flickering artifacts in Skyrim with my 7870 :(
    I can confirm the 12.11 BETA has resolved the 7870 core clock reporting 450Mhz randomly.
    But still the artifacts.

    Revert back to 12.8 and no artifacts.
     
  22. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Well, I tested 12.10 and 12.11, but there wasn't much to test. The drivers are junk.

    3D clocks never engage no matter what you do. Any attempt at applying an OC results in crazy distortion and sometimes the image bouncing up and down (is that the flickering ppl are talking about) with lines running through it.

    JFC. Get your shit together, AMD. I expect bugs in a beta but not an official release.
     
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I have no issues to report with my dual 7950's and the 12.11 Beta. Secondary card will go full shutdown when system is truly idle..etc...etc...etc..

    [​IMG]






    Battlefield 3 Visual quality has been adjusted somehow...I have to play a few rounds more before I can say much on that...I can say that I have my very own driver un-install method, dunno if that's what got things worknig for me or not, however.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    My HD7870 is factory OC'd to a whopping 1010Mhz core clock!
    Fastest 7870 Ghz edition factory stock! :rolleyes:

    Yet I am getting sporadic flickers and crazy distortion in Skyrim which appears for a split second, but if I walk backwards to the same spot, those flickery triangles are there.

    No 3D clock issues wiht the 7870 though besides the usual random core clock drop to 450Mhz noted in GPU-Z which does not appear to affect game play on current WHQL.

    Back to 12.8 for me....not that I really needed the fps boost.

    I just go to control panel, right click the AMD install manager, select change and uninstall all AMD software.
    Theoretically it should be enough. :)
     
  25. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    621 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    South Africa
    Has ATI fixed the idle clocks for multi-monitor setups yet?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page