1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 12.11 Performance Analysis

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,438 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,471
    go to google.com and type this in

    total war shogun 2 supports AA
     
  2. Blau&Gruen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well, it supports up to 8x multisample anti-aliasing after a patch.
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,438 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,471
    just to me after reading what i had seems AA is broken to an extent. You could always force AA in AVECC,
     
    Blau&Gruen says thanks.
  4. Blau&Gruen New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, thx

    I need to have a look into this.
     
  5. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    even without of its newest catalyst, amd radeon 7970Ghz edition is still the fastest single gpu graphics card right now. :rockout:
     
  6. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Nice AMD :toast:
    Now should I upgrade, I am currently using CAT 12.8
     
  7. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    506 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
    you must :toast:
     
    Super XP says thanks.
  8. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    Well, considering that here in Brazil HD7970 and GTX670 have almost the same price... no doubt about what to get for a new build.

    Do you guys know about any review of HD7970 CFX with Catalyst 12.11? Google wasn't so friendly when i searched for it.
     
    os2wiz and exodusprime1337 say thanks.
  9. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    i went from 15.9k in 3dmark11 to 16.649k with the new drivers, performace across the board seems to be great. I can post some benchmarks if you want. Lemme know what you wanna see and i'll put them up if i can
     
    PatoRodrigues says thanks.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,662 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,056
    Yes, they are that good. I was pretty amazed myself seeing 10+ more FPS all the time.
     
  11. PatoRodrigues

    PatoRodrigues

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    227 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Brazil
    That would be very, very nice. And also a really cool favor for all the guys (or girls, :))out there trying to choose a new graphics card.

    After 12.11 Beta 4, i'm leaning towards a Sapphire Dual-X 3GB HD7970.

    And those Diamond 7970's are really good looking! ;)
     
  12. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,964 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,391
    for what it's worth, the 12.11 beta 4 on Windows 8 also has the high 2d clocks. just throwing that out there
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,438 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,471
    considering a 10 FPS increase can mean playable Frame rates (60+) vs bearable frames (45-59) and unbearable (0-44)
     
  14. electro1971 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Gpu vs Cpu

    Hello everybody,

    It was my first time here and my english is not very well, apologize me. I want to congratulation for this analysis and aprove what is saying when you talk for they old card that we are no see the performance. I have a HD 5750 and i dont see the diffirence.

    My question is: For my cpu dual core 6550, what kind of video card i need to my cpu. I want to buy a HD7850, do i need to change my old cpu? And there is anywhere in the web to see
    which cpu work whit some video card?

    Because i play whit the game Guild Wars 2 and when a lot of people are in the battle my video card do is best, an a optain 10 FPS.

    Thanks a lot

    Electro1971
     
  15. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    The GPU will work fine with the your current CPU.
    Bare in mind CPU intensive games may exhibit lackluster performance despite the GPU upgrade.
     
  16. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I just re-ran the window experience index. My HD7770 went from a 6.0 score to a 7.7 with this new 12.11 upgrade. Nice!

    3D Mark is P4706 3DMarks
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2012
  17. levat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Which settings (AF, tesselataion,...) do you use in Heaven 2.0?
     
  18. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I have heaven 2.0. You want me to run it?
     
  19. levat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    I was interested in which settings does TPU use in that bench

    because they only state AA. I have Heaven 2 and wanted to compare my 7750 to theirs, so I have to know their settings (at least on 1680x1050)
     
  20. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
  21. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
     
  22. levat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Probably not, but you should download latest CAP (CAP 12.10).
     
    os2wiz says thanks.
  23. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I underestimated power requirements for Crossfire. I am not going to use 350 watts extra every time I game. That would run me an extra $100 a year on the electric bill. Plus I would have to buy an 850 watt power supply. That's an extra $35 for a good one over the 650 watt Kingwin LZP 650 that is coming to me on Monday. Not worth it. So the pair of used MSI Radeon HD6970's I bought for $390 on Ebay will be resold as soon as the solitary Sapphire Radeon 7950 arrives Tuesday. I'll save a few books get almost the same performance and save bundles on power. I wish I had done my home work in advance. I hate having to sell things on Ebay with taking pictures and haggling with people who no matter how good the price is, try to knock it down further. I am anti-capitalist at heart.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,438 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,471
    you should try to sell them here too
     
  25. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    It is just as bad here selling as on Ebay. You have to supply a picture, which means absolutely nothing about fraud prevention. I woujld rather give my home address and telephone number when joining Tech power Up then having to do these false security measures that really do NOT making a safer place to sell. Any thief could find a picture to duplicate if they did not really have the product to sell. Any body can provide a false name and hand sign it on a picture. I built a life long reputation for being a man of my word. I earned whatever respect I have gotten in life. These false security measures are just like the TSA at the airports . A mega billion dollar industry based on mass fear and deception by the government. I would rather build a bond of trust rather than a world based on fear. No sale here it is more complicated than Ebay. I wanted to sell my 2 GB 6950 Radeon HD for $140 & free shipping here just to give guys a break, but if I have to jump through hoops to do it then it's not worth it to me. I'll sell it for $165 on Ebay plus shipping costs.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page