1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 12.11 Performance Analysis

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    What does windows 8 have to with the high 2nd clocks??? You telling us that windows 7 won't see that?
  2. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    You must like high electric bills! Extra 350 watts/hour x say 2 hours a day x 365 days per year=
    255.5 kwh per year . Con Edison in New York 39 cents /kwh = $100 a year in added electrcity costs. If you are a crazy addicted gamer double that.
  3. levat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    CFX is not for everybody, some people just don't care about those costs. If he wants better performance and has the money - why not invest in such configuration?

    Btw i just ran 3dmark 11 on my HD 7750 and graphics score is 2860, while overclocked it went to 3607 (overclock: GPU 1050 MHz, Memory 1370).
  4. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    I get that you don't agree with the added cost. But unless you're seriously gaming on a budget i don't think many people here actually consider the power options available to them when purchasing a high end rig. It's true my computer takes 1100 watts out of the wall everytime i play bf3, but then again i have the money to spend. I'm not exactly concerned with the cost of owning my computer as much as i am the performance it affords me. Similar things can be said about my corvette or my outer limits boat.. both chew through shitloads of fuel.. and yes i could by a sailboat and save some money on the fuel, or buy a prius.. but neither would go very fast and i don't find that very fun.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    I'll pay that and a bit more for my hobby. :)


    *Also, remember to use the multi-quote button.

    Thanks!
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,603 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,238
    no way your rig takes 1100w from mains. even mine doesnt even hit 600w when in BF3 and I have more hardware and other bits and bobs bolted on.
  7. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,848 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,044
    I think you need to calm down; I'm not telling you anything. My comment was in the context of what we had even talking about earlier specifically regarding high 2d clocks on the 7979 in Win7, and since no one mentioned Windows 8, I thought I would, as i said "just throwing that out there."

    Please don't be ridiculous and please formulate your posts better, leaving the argumentative tone out.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I get it. Your one of the 1%. We all love performance, but some of us have to worry about paying the mortgage , the food, the credit cards etc. So among the 99% it is a game of balance.

    He does Crossfire, you can't do Crossfire on less than 800 watts unless your using 5000 series or older chipsets. Of course if you have a platinum certified power supply you may skate by with 750 watts, but that would be cutting it very close.

    There was nothing angry in my post , you through out the windows 8 remark out of the blue, and I being a skeptic wanted to know if there was something about windows 8 that influenced the results you mentioned. No need to be so defensive.

    Please stop triple/double posting. -Staff
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2012
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,599 (13.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,988
    Please keep the political diatribes off of this forum



    This information is inaccurate. There are other 7000 series cards that can be CrossFired besides the highest end. Also, running a couple 6 series cards in CrossFire I never went above 600 watts. Your best bet is to check out some CrossFire reviews, some reviews will go over power consumption.


    This is why it is best to keep on topic on an internet forum. The topic of this thread is specifically for Catalyst 12.11 drivers.
  10. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I am sorry for going off topic. I must admit I do so more than I would like to admit , not intentionally but I believe my power of concentration is not that sharp laser beam it used to be. Sometimes I get caught up with secondary matters instead of keeping focused on the primary I will endeavor to be a little more attentive to the topic of discussion. Thank you.
  11. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,362 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    2x overclocked 6950's and a 4.5ghz 2500k along with the rest of my system only used 522watts at max usage. Tested. I have a killawat to test. Fun little thing to play with and see how much power each thing uses.

    Edit: I think I was just above around 300W while gaming. I was just messing around with the killowat at the time.
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    ^ roughly 450W peak for mine in synthetic testing, sits under 300W for most gaming.
  13. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I checked out the 6970's on the AMD web site and they wouldn't work with 650 watts at full load. So I guess the 2 6950's use probably 100 watts less than 2 6970's. I'll go to the review on graphic cards power usage. So those 7900 series boards are very power hungry compared to the 6900's. That is a little surprising since they are done on a much smaller process than the 6900 chips. They must have twice as many transistors.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    those are just generic requirements. meaning, they suggest you have a 650W PSU, so that if you get a *CRAP* 650W PSU, it should still run.


    doesnt mean it needs anywhere near that level of power for regular use (again: if you'd tested it/researched it, the average power consumption of video cards is far, far lower than their peak - especially with Vsync on)
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,249 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    only diff is you have to provide a piece of paper with your user name on here. besides the product yourselling. Stuff here tends to sell faster than on Ebay

  16. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,362 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    The gpu reccommened wattage is large safe zone. You can actually be a bit tighter than that. A 7970 and 6970 have the same power consumption according to amd (250 watts). I have found that the extreme psu calc is pretty accurate. According to it, a 6970 uses about 50 more watts.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    So Mussells, would a 650 watt Platinum certified Kingwin LZP psu be able to Crossfire 2 HD7950s in your opinion?
    I am searching on the web site here for a guide on AMD gpu power requirements and I can't find it. Can you provide me with the link?
  18. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,362 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    You asked mussells but I beleive you could. I don't know your specs so I put in a higher power using cpu along with 7950 crossfire. Psu calc, with those specs, recommends a 500watt psu. I would think of that as a minimum. 650 watts should be plenty.
    os2wiz says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    yeah, you quite likely could. obviously other things come into account as well, such as insane overclocks, or 50x hard drives - but at stock at least, it'd run with room to spare.
  20. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,137 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    04578
    if i remember right cadaveca with his 2x 7950s stock on his rig was using around 400w when fully overclocked he was pulling 600-700
    os2wiz says thanks.
  21. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I only have 2 SSD drives , I disconnected my 1.5 GB Seagate Sata III drive ,as I rarely use it, and am looking to make more room for a future Crossfire setup with my now solo 7950 that arrives Tuesday. MY Kingwin 650 Platinum certified psu arrives Monday. I also have a blu-ray burner, but that doesn't draw a whole lot of current, and I rarely use it. With my AMD FX-8350 overclocked to 4.8 ghz I figure the cpu will draw 135-145 watts max. I have a Corsair H100 liquid cooler that should keep it nice and cool. That all gets installed Monday on my Crosshairs
    V motherboard. The review for HD Radeon 7950 Crosshairs states at max 358 watts power usage. That is for the 2 cards together. Singly it is 179 watts. SO you are absolutely correct
    I should be able to run the two with the psu that I am installing. I really do not understand why AMD doesn't explain in more detail what psu would need . I know builds vary greatly but they could give more detail that would make the choices easier. The review here on this site was far more useful than anything I read on AMD's site.
  22. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Well it appears at least it is a viable option for me in the future with the hardware I am assembling Thanks for the information.
  23. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Thank you for the link for psu calc. I subscribed gave them all my ram. cpu, potential crossfire setup, ssd's , hard drive, card reader, fans, usb 3.0 front panel hub , blu ray re-writable burner. All in all they recommend 619 watts. So with 650 platinum, I am should have a quite comfortable safety margin.
  24. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,137 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,778
    Location:
    04578
    yea should be fine just keep the overclocks moderate, and it shouldnt be an issue.
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,142 (11.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,471
    and really, if you're spending that much cash on a PC, cough up the $20-$30 for a wall meter and check the power use yourself.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page