1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 13.2 Beta w/NET4

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by The Mac, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    374 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Unreleased driver from some file sharing site I've never heard of... Of course I'm going to try them! :toast:

    :laugh:


    *Seriously though, I am trying them.
    MrMilli, nt300 and theoneandonlymrk say thanks.
  3. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    374 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    its legit.

    annoying sharing sites though...

    use the 2nd one, its the least annoying...

    ill upload it to my dropbox when it finishes for those who dont trust crazy share sites..

    fair warning: Thracks(aka Robert) over at overclock.net who is an AMD employee, and sits 2 cubes from the driver team advises against installing this, he says it not ready. These are however the drivers the tech reports used.
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
    erocker says thanks.
  4. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,761 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    894
    I just installed 13.1.

    I like when it rains drivers.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Well... I'm staying away for now. I don't really have any issues and I'd rather not start having any. :)
    95Viper says thanks.
  6. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    working ok for me, stuff seams smoother on 5800?? placebo maybe
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,288 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Well stated!

    They test using lab animals for a reason. ;)
    nt300 says thanks.
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Still all fine here. Smoother to me but i cant test ocd due to pump fatigue
  9. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,266 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    I don't like the link. It started downloaded without asking me. Nothing showed in the chrome downloads tab but the file was growing in my download folder.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    You can go to guru3d and download it, I did (the 13.2Beta version w/o .NET) and have it installed in my main rig. Oddly enough, my Hitman Absolution benchmark did show a dramatic max framerate improve as well as good average and lows. Haven't tried other games, oh yeah, played Dead Space 2 in EF mode w/o issue. I did install the 13.1 WHQL driver in my 3rd rig, and it seems to be fine.

    BTW, if you're installing this driver, don't install 12.11 CAP2 since the Beta driver has an even newer CAP package within the driver suite.
    Aquinus says thanks.
  11. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    374 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    i fixed the link to a reputable site,
  12. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,334 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Awesome, first recent AMD driver install that fits my screen in every res I select without having to check the scaling box and reboot.

    I uninstalled the 12.11 CAP 2 profile with Revo Uninstaller, then used the AMD Cleanup Utility. I rather like that the AMD tool does everything via command prompt. In answer to what was said about registry bits left behind. Revo Uninstaller found no leftover bits after uninstalling 12.11 CAP 2, and in my manual registry searching there appeared to be no GPU driver related AMD stuff, so I'd be careful what you remove from there. A lot of it is just AMD references in redistributables.

    Upon restarting, Driver Sweeper showed lots of AMD boxes checked after clicking analyse, which I thought was strange since the desktop res even went down to the default non driver size, which doesn't usually happen when I just use Driver Sweeper. So I ran DS anyway just to make sure everything was gone.

    Going to try some games and report back.

    I used Guru3D btw, first link here. http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/amd_catalyst_13_2_beta_download.html

    Only slight annoyance was the file is 7Zipped.
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013
  13. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    The 13.1 worked decent going to turn into a lab rat soon and test this beta.
  14. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Same here... Smooth and crispy for BF3. Any micro-stutter seems to be gone. Getting ready to try a few more titles.
  15. The Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    374 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    supposedly it only fixes the specific games that tech reports tested...
  16. InzamX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Signed up to tell you guys about these drivers.
    Best ever. I had a LOT of microstuttering in Darksiders II. The FPS was probably around thirty, but it felt like 10-12. Using this driver, game runs silky smooth.Yet to try other titles. :toast:
    AMD's drivers are finally becoming decent. 12.11 boosted performance a lot for me, and now this. :rockout:

    Keep in mind that I'm using hardware WAY inferior, and gaming at a resolution of 1600x900.
    HD 7470M.
    Core i5 2430M.
    8 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz.
  17. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,100 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Are you both seeing smoother play in games using 5 series cards?

    I might have to try this out if true.
  18. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    yeh seems that way to me
    mastrdrver says thanks.
  19. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    With the titles Ive tried so far....yes.. BF-3 Metro2033 and dirt3
  20. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I see a big jump in temps on my 5870 :banghead: :eek: BETA:ohwell:
  21. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    So if I understand correctly, these 13.x aren't really written for 5870's?
    or at least not for single 5870 GPU's?
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    This is from an AMD rep who posts at overclock.net:

    It was given to TechReport to use with a 7950 which uses a different architecture than the 5 series.
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have it running now with no issues. Even seemed to get better steady frames in arma 2
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. levat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
    beta 3 is now available on AMD site!
  25. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,200 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    i must b blind :(
    can u link?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page