1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 13.8 Beta V2 Drivers Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 20, 2013.

  1. _larry

    _larry

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    261 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I think I'm just going to stick with the 1st 13.8 beta. I don't play any of those games listed in the v2 update. Unless someone can find some other benefit, I will wait for the official version.
     
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Odd problem with the 13.8 betas is back again for me.
    I assumed there was a performance decrease or 'bug' with some single card configurations within the 13.8 beta due to being aimed at CrossfireX users.

    In short particle effects seem to cause very noticeable frame drops (similar to a memory leak).
    e.g.
    Tire smoke in GRiD 2 will cause frame drop.
    Snow particles will cause frame drop in Warframe.

    Been narrowing down the problem.
    So far my theory is once the monitor is turned off (set to turn off at 20min in windows) , something is not kicking in properly once the monitor turns back on as all games played one after the other are without problem before the monitor is turned off.

    Also the release notes state CrossfireX users do not use the latest CAP (13.5 CAP1) which makes me assume single card users will still need to use the CAP.

    I have been using the 13.8 betas without CAP.

    Whether or not this will resolve the current issue will have to find out later on this evening.

    If not back to the 13.5 betas with 13.5 CAP1 I have been using without problems.
     
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,488 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,034
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    hmm I had the idle watts increase issue and went back to 13.4 all is good now.

    did you revert back to 13.5 b?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,263 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    No, no CAP in any configuration with these drivers.
     
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I ran GPU-Z during some gaming in Warframe prior to the monitor turning off, so I will do the same after the monitor has been turned off which will generally happen later on this evening so I can see if there is any inconsistency in GPU-Z if the frame drops happen again in the same areas.

    If there is I can report the issue and then go back to 13.5 beta wit 13.5 CAP 1.

    If this is the case then these drivers are not for my configuration.

    Either way I will still test my theory.
    Primarily wanting these drivers for the stated increased performance in Saints Row IV.
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,830 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,552
    So no cap at all in these drivers?

    Or do we need to install the latest CAP?
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,263 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    The latest cap is months older than these drivers. Unless you're running 13.4 whql's, you don't need the CAP.

    @Widjaja: If you're having issues with a card throttling up, disable ULPS.
     
  8. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Not sure if it is throttling up yet.
    All I know is particles in game like GRiD 2 (tire smoke) and snow in Warframe causes the frames to drop and movement becomes sluggish with these drivers, but only after the monitor has turned off due to inactivity and I come back to the PC to play those games.

    But I will have to test it out to see if for certain if the issue happens directly after the monitor has shut off.
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,116 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,540
    what makes you think powertune throttling is related to ulps ?
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,830 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,552
    I'd like to know W1zzard :respect:
     
  11. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8,226 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,719
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    For some reason these feel a bit rubbish to the first beta which is very rare. I get dumb slowdowns in Natural Selection 2 here and there and constant crappy stuttering in Firefox until i minimize it and maximize it again. Then it's again smooth for some time. Weird...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Back on the 13.5 beta 2

    Replicated the same things I did before leaving the monitor to turn off by itself for an extended duration of time with the 13.5 beta 2 before playing a game again.
    No problems.

    So it appears the game lag/slowdowns issue happens after the signal gets sent again to the monitor with the 13.8 betas and my single card configuration.

    Played Saints Row IV for a bit today and have had enjoyable frame rates at Ultra settings so no big deal.
    Not the first time where a later AMD or ATi driver has caused problems.
    Simple fix for me is to stay with what worked.

    If there is a specific area in Natural Selection 2 which exhibits slowdown which you can replicate every time with these drivers, try replicating the slowdown again in the game by playing it straight after a restart.

    When I get the slowdowns in the 13.8 betas, a restart makes them go away.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    8,226 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,719
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    But i don't recall having that at all with 13.8 BETA1...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,263 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    I don't. It's not "downthrottling" it's "upthrottling" and pegging the 2nd GPU at 99%. I've read this issue with other folks and the quick fix for it is disabling ULPS.
     
  15. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Use 13.8 beta then.
     
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,830 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,552
    I've seen one of my cards up throttling to 138% on a few different runs.
     
  17. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,830 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,552
    So far this Beta 2 driver is the cat's azz!

    Been playing Crysis 3- grid 2-and Tomb raider... smooth as silk.

    You need to go into the regedit and remove any amd entries!

    This drier is the best by far imo :cool:
     
  18. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,958 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,243
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Any one checks their temps and compared them with the 13.8 beta 1's? I am curious if the temps are better with these.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    594 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Location:
    Romania
    I revert back to beta1, beta2 have problems with lighting in skyrim game although feel smother in the game, and also some error in eventviewer(aod error)...
     
  20. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,488 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,874
    I am getting a weird error from this driver.

    I keep getting an error window saying internet explorer has stopped working. This does not stop me from using internet explorer, and it even happens without internet explorer being on.

    Looking in the event viewer it is tied to atidxx32.dll which is driver related.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,984 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,645
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    You haven't updated to 13.11 beta v8 or even 13.9 WHQL yet? :twitch:
     
    james888 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,488 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,874
    oh. He he. I accidentally got the wrong driver thread. I am on 13.11 v8. I did a search for amd driver and I guess I saw 13.8 and thought it was v8. Silly reading is for chumps!

    Going to put same post in proper driver thread.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)