1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 14.1 Beta 1.6 Posted

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 2, 2014.

  1. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    yeah, no.
     
  2. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,800 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I can't play a single 3d game or benchmark for more than 5 mins before the display driver crashes to desktop on my X-fire 290Xs, sometimes I can go back to the game or benchmark after a CTD, but FPS are super low.

    I get a lower score on valley when I'm able to finish a run with these drivers than I did when I only had one card (after a CTD on every run) 3Dmark crashes hard on Fire, and sometimes reports that a DX11 device has been disconnected in the middle of a run.

    I thought, well no gaming for me on my Radeon rig until a proper driver release, I don't "play" BF4 anymore and couldn't care less about synthetic mantle benchmarks, so I decided to go back to mining again, one card was stuck at 200 KH/s and the other at 90KH/s, these are 900+ KH/s each cards :(

    I reformatted my hard drive, reinstalled everything cleanly, to no avail, same issues, integrated card has always been disabled on my BIOS it's one of the first things I do when I first boot a new computer, but I double checked just to be certain after reading this thread.

    After over 12 hours wasted I'm back to the 13.25 drivers that came with my DCUII card, everything is back to normal.

    Anyone else encountered these issues?
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,463 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,112
    Location:
    South of Planet Earth
    Installed them yesterday and played a few games of BF4 with no problems.
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,586
    I played a little BF4 last night to test it out, and it went well without issue, single 290. Then again BF4 usually ran well before.

    Also played some Trine 2 for the sake of it and it ran fine too so that was good to see. I haven't tested any other games or benches.
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,800 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Issues with X-Fire then I take.... My cards are from different manufacturers and are clocked differently as well, one is reference, the other one has a custom PCB and BIOS, would that have anything to do with the driver crashing all the time?
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,967 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Florida, US
    lol people don't read.... LMFAO
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  7. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,586
    Someone earlier in here highlighted that there was an issue with Mantle and cfx and BF4, but I'm not sure if the issue extends to further games, like what you've experienced.

    If prices hadn't jacked up like woah, I'd have another 290 and be in a similar boat but alas, I am not much help. :(

    We can hope for a quick fix soon
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,800 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I take that was directed at me, would you care to enlighten me?

    Could really use some help here and the release notes don't mention any problems with my specific hardware config, after wasting 12 hrs I would really like to find out if the problem is on my end.
     
    manofthem says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    198 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    It might, but X-Fire just seems really touchy with these beta drivers right now. Best to stick with what works 'till you specifically see X-fire for R9 290x mentioned in patch notes. This version of the beta driver references updated frame pacing X-fire fixes but the R9 290 and R9 290x are explicitly missing from from the list of supported configurations. Ref: Updated Frame Pacing
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  10. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    ,,,,was hoping to eventually try this out but I think I.m gonna wait No clear support for my old 6870 and the old there's gonna be a patch for that.....people are still waiting for a patch to fully utilize bulldozer. I wish amd simply wouldn't say anything about their new tech until its optimized and operational. For me its easier to pay more for something that's right from day one. Oh well I'll keep checking.....love my 6870 would welcome anything that keeps it relevant for a few years more.
     
  11. dwade

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    118 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Meh gains for me. And they expect developers to work harder for Mantle. Haha. This won't end well.

    Game developers are better off working on their games rather than wasting time on Mantle.
     
  12. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,586
    I thought that's because the 290/x isn't plagued with the same frame pacing issues as others since cfx is handled through the pcie lanes instead of a cfx bridge, which would explain why they didn't include it in the list.
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Yes, AMD specifically stated X-Fire is no go and it will be fixed in later patches. Did you not read the notes. It's even posted in here too.

    Known Issues
    • Mantle performance for the AMD Radeon HD 7000/HD 8000 Series GPUs and AMD Radeon R9 280X and R9 270X GPUs will be optimized for BattleField 4 in future AMD Catalyst releases. These products will see limited gains in BattleField 4 and AMD is currently investigating optimizations for them.
    • Multi-GPU support under DirectX and Mantle will be added to StarSwarm in a future application patch
    • Intermittent stuttering or stability issues may occur when utilizing Mantle with AMD CrossFire technology in BattleField 4 - AMD recommends using the DirectX code path when playing Battlefield 4 with multiple GPUs. A future AMD Catalyst release will resolve these issues
    • Notebooks based on AMD Enduro or PowerXpress technologies are currently not supported by the Mantle codepath in Battlefield 4
    • AMD Eyefinity configurations utilizing portrait display orientations are currently not supported by the Mantle codepath in Battlefield 4
    • AMD Eyefinity technology is not currently supported in the Star Swarm application
    • AMD testing for the AMD Catalyst 14.1 Beta Mantle driver has been concentrated on the following products: AMD Radeon R9 290X, R9 290, R9 280, R9 270, R7 260X, R7 260, HD 7000 Series, HD 8000 Series, A10-7850K and A10-7700K. Future AMD Catalyst releases will include full test coverage for all AMD products supported by Mantle.
    • Graphics hardware in the AMD A10-7850K and A10-7700K may override the presence of a discrete GPU under the Mantle code path in Battlefield 4
    • Frame Pacing for Dual Graphics and non-XDMA configurations above 2560x1600 do not currently work with Battlefield 3 and Battlefield 4. An upcoming release will enable support
    • DX9 Dual graphics is not supported in AMD Catalyst 14.1 Beta. An upcoming release will enable support
     
  14. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    198 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    The notes mention BF4 and Star Swarm demo issues with X-Fire, but they were having problems in other games and benchmarks too. It'd be nice if someone else with a multi 290x setup could check in with their results so far to see if it's an issue of Warlock's mismatched cards or just a general glitch with early beta drivers.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  15. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    i'm curious......several different forums.....some are having success with mantle ...most aren't. Whats the difference? A poll maybe or something....
     
  16. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,800 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    As stated before in my previous post, I don't play BF4 or haven't tried that demo, I was having issues with X-Fire in general, I did read the notes and they do not mention anything about the scenarios I tried my cards on.

    I wish people had read my post before they started attacking my reading skills, anyways, like I said, I went back to the 13.25 drivers that came with my card, that solved all of my problems.

    And please don't attack me asking why I tried the drivers if I don't use mantle, the drivers fix some other non-mantle related issues and I thought they would be worth a try, obviously I was wrong and I just posted my own findings in hope of getting some help.

    To all other people who has posted helpful tips, thank you very much, your input is much appreciated :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,800 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Thank you very much, that pretty much was the purpose of my original post :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,313 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,586
    Played a little more BF4 today using Mantle, everything seemed fine, occasion dip in fps though. However, played some more Trine 2, and my screen went black after about 30 minutes or so; reset and no chance; shut down for like 15 seconds then all is well again.... for now..... ( did have MSI AB running)

    I haven't had this issue prior to this driver, and if it continues, I'll be reverting... :(\


    edit: and I just got a BSOD watching youtube video :mad:
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,125 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    254
    Hopefully your not using the MSI AB Beta.

    I stopped using MSI AB BETA awhile back because of just that. Once I viewed a couple of videos in arrow it wouldn't want to play anymore and always had to reboot the machine. Uninstalled MSI AB beta and just OC with CCC and no more issues ever since.
     
  20. xorbe

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    414 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Two monitoring programs is a no-no generally
     
    15th Warlock says thanks.
  21. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    915 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    486
    Location:
    south korea
    I dont know if its only me but after this driver, fan rpm sensor is gone on my R9 290's.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. freeleacher

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    105 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Just comparing frame delay using 13.12 dx11
    For about 3 seconds before I bsod I was getting the same results on 200 res scale with mantle.
    If you think im lying or don't think im telling the truth your mistaken because I don't lie ive no need to why would I ?
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
  23. freeleacher

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    105 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Err yeah why do you think no ?
    Ive seen it with my own eyes why else would I give it to much of my time to get it to work stable.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
  24. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    I've already linked the test result from Anandtech("no" is a hyperlink), it's 10% at most with a fast CPU. That vs. your 3-second-before-bsod numbers, which one do you think is more reliable and realistic?
     
  25. freeleacher

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    105 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Mine because its real life and done by me who isn't exactly new to computers.
    You will have to trust what im saying and time will tell when they fix these terrible drivers.
    It took me 50 bsod for that single chance to view it.
    The cpu frame time was thin and around 9ms the gpu was on 5 ms
    screen res was on 2560x1600 full ultra @ 200 res scale.
    I know what I saw ive no reason to lie about this because im not happy because I got these cards in preparation for mantle and the fact they don't work for me gets me mad.
    I don't want to praise mantle because I feel ive been spat in the face but facts are facts.
    Im only telling you what I have seen
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page