1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 14.4 WHQL Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 26, 2014.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD released a WHQL-signed version of its Catalyst 14.4 software suite, its first in four months (the previous one being 13.12 WHQL). The driver builds on the Catalyst 14.4 Release Candidate the company shipped out a little earlier this month, to lend immediate support for Radeon R9 295X2, which hit the shelves on the 21st. The four highlights of Catalyst 14.4 include support for the R9 295X2, CrossFire frame-pacing improvements for a number of games, full support for OpenGL 4.4 API, and bug-fixes for AMD Mantle API.

    Among the games AMD worked to improve CrossFire performance of, include Crysis 3, which sees improved frame-pacing; Far Cry 3, which sees improved 3-GPU and 4-GPU scaling; Anno 2070, which sees an overall CrossFire scaling improvement of 34 percent; Titanfall, which sees reduced game flickering an micro-stutter; and Metro: Last Light, which sees 10 percent improvement in CrossFire scaling. The driver also addresses bugs related to 3x1 Eyefinity setups using three Ultra HD displays. For gamers running Battlefield 4 with its Mantle renderer, AMD addressed the performance slowdown seen when switching windows using Alt+Tab; and fuzzy textures when playing the game on rotated displays.

    DOWNLOAD: AMD Catalyst 14.4 WHQL for Windows 8/7/Visa 64-bit | Windows 8/7/Vista 32-bit | Windows XP 32-bit and 64-bit
     
  2. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,278 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    I'm getting a black screen upon during installing the driver, and it never resolves itself even after reboot. I have to go into safe mode and manually uninstall the display driver to be able to do anything with the PC.

    This is strange because the release candidate worked fine before this, and I just reverted to the release candidate and everything is back to working. I even performed a clean uninstall using AMD's utility before attempting to instal the WHQL driver. Has anyone else experienced this issue?
     
  3. zzzaac

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Messages:
    21 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hmm, haven't experienced that yet, so far my only issue is that Gpu-Z isn't showing some things in the sensor tabs (it was working alright in the previous drivers)

    EDIT: Though it has happen to me in the past drivers, it hasn't happened in this one
     
  4. FrustratedGarrett

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    60 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12

    No problems here. Working fine with my 7950 on Windows 8.1.
     
  5. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,557 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Works great on R9 270
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I'm getting issues too. CCC doesn't load at startup, and launching it manually gives me this each time:

    [​IMG]

    The driver itself appears to be working.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Check your .Net files
     
  8. lkiommmmyyyy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do not know if there is no improvement or correction asus r7 260x dc2oc 2g ddr5 black with crashes
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,220 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,520
    7970 GHz edition, working just peachy. no problems at all, windows 8.1 x64
     
  10. Eroticus

    Eroticus

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    252 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Israel
    Works perfect .

    R9-290x - Windows 8.1 x64.
     
  11. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    works fine for me so far. though I had the beta driver already installed if that makes any difference. My screen did go black for a while but it started working after a couple min, but that could be due to the tv i'm using with HDMI.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  12. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    684 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Overseas
    Any point in installing this after already installing the 14.4 RC?
     
  13. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    I haven't updated my drivers yet, I still have 13.12 and it's running ok. Any real benefit if I jump on 14.4? Any noticeable improvements to single card setups in BF4?
     
  14. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    684 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Overseas
    It said "Mantle improvements" and there are only a couple of Mantle enabled games, so it's possible. Plus, I'm pretty sure there have
    been fixes/changes in the multiple betas aimed at BF4 since 13.12
     
  15. Greenmousa

    Greenmousa

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    179 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Argentina, Latin America
    7870 2GB here on AMD 8320, 14.4 improved SIGNIFICANTLY the performance on BF4 with Mantle activated. While running DX11 i could get 60fps but with some drops to 40, or worse in heavy action parts. With mantle i can keep it on ultra 60fps locked trough the whole thing (im talking about 64 player servers) so i would say that if you play Battlefield 4, 14.4 for the 7 and 8 series it's a blessing!!
     
    suraswami and erocker say thanks.
  16. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,890 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Had some problems updating from 13.6 - the display driver didn't want to update automatically. I removed everything from the add/remove and everything seems to be working.
     
  17. urza26

    urza26

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    207 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Got the exact same problem on Windows 7 64bit.
    Uninstalling the drivers and a run with DriverFusion followed by a fresh installation solved the problem.
    Probably a problem with converting settings to the new CCC version.

    Another weird thing I get is that the first time I run the setup I always get "warnings occured" at the completion step eventhough I don't see anything odd in the log.
    Whenever I run the setup again I get the normal completion message.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2014
  18. skraftnm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Have u fixed the problem?

    I'm having the same problem, while installing the new 14.4 (rc or whql) the screen goes black and the only way back is to use a restore point to before the driver.

    Using w8.1 with R9 290.
     
  19. Lopez0101

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    684 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Overseas
    • Driver installation might result in a black screen when installing on a Dual AMD Radeon R9 295X configuration under Windows 8.1. The issue can be overcome by rebooting the PC; upon reboot the display driver will be installed. The remaining Catalyst components can then be installed.
    Perhaps it's not just isolated to the 295X
     
  20. skraftnm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    But in my case the reboot does not fix. x(

    This is bullshit because the first WHQL driver in the last 4 months is the same that fucks me up! =/
     
  21. _larry

    _larry

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    191 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Working perfectly here. Windows 7 64-bit, 7950.
     
  22. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,825 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Downloading now. Been using some old drivers 13.11
     
  23. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    No issues on my 7970, Win 7 Pro 64.
     
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,263 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,059
    Been running this driver sense release and no issues at all on a 290.
     
  25. skraftnm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    windows 8.1?

    gigabyte vga?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page