1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Celebrates Shipping its 500 Millionth x86 Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 23, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD recently announced its 40th Anniversary celebrations. Coincidence has it that the company reached another milestone at around the same time. It celebrates shipping its 500 millionth x86 processor, what the company specializes in. As the company, like most other companies is facing turbulent economic weather, the celebrations are largely low-profile. To reward its loyal customers, the company announced a contest that involves following AMD on Twitter, answering the question(s), and standing a chance to win one of four HP Pavilion dV2z ultrathin notebooks powered by AMD's Athlon Neo processors. Details of the contest can be read here.

    Source: AMD
  2. Sir Alex Ice

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    55 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    WoW, only US and Canada. Good for them, shows how much other countries where they have sold loads of CPUs matter.
    I think they deserve to be 2nd to Intel in terms of market share. At least Intel makes good CPUs, and not re-use the faulty quad core versions to make triple core CPUs out of them.
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    Eligibility: Residents of United States and Canada (excluding Quebec), age 18 or over


    These contests are never outside the states :(
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It doesn't matter how you make it. The 3 or 2 cores you get as advertised are not faulty and are backed by warranties.

    And for the record Intel uses "faulty" dies by disabling portions of their caches to roll out Wolfdale-2M and Yorkfield-4M. The practice is pretty institutionalized.
  5. Millenia

    Millenia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Turenki, Finland
    Yeah because what they SHOULD be doing is throw away all faulty CPUs, now that is a solid business plan!
    Meecrob says thanks.
  6. AltecV1

    AltecV1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Republic of Estonia
    Your ignorance amases me :slap:
    Meecrob says thanks.
  7. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    That might look good at first glance from the consumer's point of view, but actually throwing away all CPUs with defects would mean higher retail prices. Simple economics really!
  8. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Has no-one noticed he's being sarcastic?
    As for the news post saying X86 processors are their main business, what the heck? All of their desktop processors since Athlon 64 have been 64 bit haven't they?
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    Technically no. They're x86 processors with 64 bit instruction sets. "x86-64"

    A true 64 bit processor would be like Itanium, with no x86 at all.
    crazy pyro says thanks.
  10. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    shame on you AMD!

    i thought the rest of us outside US&Canada has bought more than 50% from all your CPU-s
  11. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Oh right, cheers for that mussels. I was confused as to how they were X86 processors.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,933 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    you could call modern processors x86 and/or x64. its just that AMD has chosen this as "our 5 millionth processor which is x86 compatible"
  13. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Well done AMD, nice pile of processors :toast:
  14. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Not quite true, when running in 64bit mode the a64 is truely 64bit, BUT unlike proc's like the intium it can revert to an x86-32 mode to run x86-32 apps.

    Its hard to explain without the charts and such that one site use to have up(site went under) it showed how the amd chips where truely a 64bit x86 design where the intel chips just had the 64bit extentions tacked on to give what intel at the time considered "good enought" support.(like the athlon xp's sse support, it wasnt a native part of the chips design)

    Oh and x86 can be 64+bit it just started as a 16bit then 32bit, hell my first system (given to me) was a wang 8088 with 640k memory!!!(dos3 baby!!!)

    I have owned pretty much every revision of the x86 core design, its come a long way since its early days, the current designs really dont have any similarities to the early chips, they support the same code to a point, but dont do it the same way.

    Really I would like to see them work to move to x86-64(amd64) without the x86-32 OS support(apps could still run tho, as its gonna take a while for companies to port over 32bit apps)
  15. Meecrob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    318 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    alot of the reason that they dont do it world wide is due to laws in different countries/regions, Its just to much work to make sure that you comply with every countries laws and aren't gonna get sued by the EU or another such organization, If you want to see more non-US events or events EVERYBODY has access to, then work to get the world to adopt a world wide set of laws(haha, yeah thats gonna happen....)
  16. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    Fixed. :p
    Mussels says thanks.
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It is an x86 processor, not "x86 compatible". There's no other architecture AMD's processor uses apart from x86, with its own AMD64 extension that is a subset of the x86 architecture, and not an architecture in itself.
  18. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,050 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    789
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    WOW, u start your first few posts here with a blabber:roll:

    thanks for clearing that up.

    if ain't AMD there isn't innovation.

    Go AMD GO :rockout:
  19. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    823 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Gratz to the greens!
  20. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    very impressive... but if they hadnt trashed the phenom I they surely would have reached that goal earlier..;)
  21. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Well done AMD :toast:

    How long did this take intel just out of curiosity ?
  22. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    They do also make chipsets and GPU's, yaknow ;)
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I know, and that has nothing to do with the architecture AMD uses with its processors.
  24. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    A GPU(Graphics PROCESSING unit) is a processor is it not? Or a memory controller? It 'processes' information. AMD has made chipsets, just not all are defined as "CPU". GPU's are not "x86".

    They are defining it the way they want :p

    AMD also has many side projects, I have found AMD labeled chips inside of macs I have torn apart, used in conjunction with Power PC's.
  25. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Obviously we're talking about processor as in central processing unit. Something GPU isn't. And by me saying that AMD's CPUs not being based on any other architecture than x86, I'm referring to PowerPC, ARM, etc.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page