1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Confirms GDDR5 for ATI Radeon 4 Series Video Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 21, 2008.

  1. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    So Nvidia supplies there compilers to a company so there product works well on Nvidia. AMD is more than welcome to do that, and they did in the past as ATI. AMD has never done this, how many titles have you seen say runs best on AMD besides the FarCry 64 patch? AMD needs to get there compliers out so games can be optimized for there cards also, if they can't do that, then who cares. The way its meant to be played program is a program for compaines to get access to the complier and recive sponsoring from Nvidia to help fund the game. AMD is always welcome to do it also, they just won't/
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    ATI is the only thing holding AMD together. They are luky they bought them in time.
  3. ningen New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Poland
    Oi oi, not a fanboy and don't want to instigate. I do remember Radeon 9700 you know.

    It's just facts though - you look at specs and wow, GDDR5, wide bus... but still GFs win. Even if ATI gets one game, it loses in 10 other ones. There are more drivers problems with ATI too, and pricing kinda shows what's what as well.
  4. Valdez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    293 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    After "bribing", Ati's presence is not welcomed anymore by the developers ;) Ati doesn't have money, so they are happy if the final version of the game is tested on a Ati card at least...
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,130 (13.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,582
    Exactly. Plus, AMD needs to kick themselves in the arse and get thier marketing department going. As far as "running best on" that is all just marketing hoopla. AMD should have plenty of money to "grease the palms" of game developers.
  6. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    id have to say Sempron and low end x2 does alot better for them, they are still in many OEM and office PC's sold, and are faster than the intel lot in that price range. ATI is getting beat in every price segment right now
  7. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    agreed, alot of runs best on intel games back in the day did the oppisite but it just means they had the complier for it, if AMD did this i might take notice, but all i see them doing is screwing up
  8. Valdez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    293 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    It's illogical what you've written here... Do you have any source that amd doesn't (want to) provide any help to the developers?
  9. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Confused? Confused? Either you wait and see if the 4870 is indeed faster then nvidia current offering or you remain loyal no matter what! It's nothing to be confused about at this point.
  10. jbunch07

    jbunch07 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Chattanooga,TN
    those where my thoughts... it doesnt seem right when nvidia does that. :shadedshu
    AMD/ATI doesnt do that afaik, but im sure its just a marketing thing nvidia has going...

    anyway im glad to see that gddr5 is confirmed! :)
  11. Azazel

    Azazel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,204 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    London, UK
    for the love of god..another ati vs nvedia,...
  12. Valdez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    293 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    cata 8.5 is out btw :)
  13. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I am liking the GDDR5 route, and also I am liking the 28 people viewing this thread (must be important!) Good thing ATI will make a comeback.
  14. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    But if it is faster is will be more expensive. Also i don't know how good ATI's drivers are on nforce chipset boards.
  15. Valdez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    293 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    i'm using hd3870 with nforce 570 ultra, never had problems with that ;)
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  16. Millenia

    Millenia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Turenki, Finland
    But if it offers a major performance upgrade it's a LOT cheaper and a better choice to use a bit more expensive RAM instead of having monolithic cards with gazillions of transistors if it yields the same end result.

    At least power consumption should be lower that way :p
  17. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    You could have easily visited your MB forum and would have received a good answer to that. Valdez statement should key you in on what the deal is IMO.
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    im guessing ggdr5 cheaper than 512 bit bus?
  19. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Well think of it as this:
    You have water cooling setup and want to decide on the size of the tubing. You can go 3/4" inner diameter tubing but you run the risk of a slower flow rate do to the size of the pump's barb only being 1/2" and it's power output (more/less). Or you can get a tube with an inner diameter 7/16" (which is slightly smaller then 1/2") which should maximize your flow rate. I believe this is what the following means:

    If I am wrong could someone clarify this? :eek:
    Last edited: May 21, 2008
  20. Kirby123

    Kirby123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    155 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that is all in opinion from my point of view, my x2 matches up to the 9800 gx2 easily, my max score on mark 06 was higher than the 9800gx2, same parts just different video cards.
    the cards are built for gaming, there isnt a good enough game to really tell what is better. right now i beat the 9800 series of invidia by 8 fps with same settings. it is all on the config of your pc
    ( i am only running 1 card right now too)
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    That's weird considering the 9800 GX2 is more expensive.:eek:
  22. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Looks like the 4 series will be mighty nice. I may need to sell my 3870 and buy 4870. Of course, Id love to CF two of them, even though I dont have a need for it.
  23. Kirby123

    Kirby123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    155 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    prices dosnt matter its all on your setup. 9800 gx2 and the X2 3 series are basicly equal. i recomend X2 over 9800 gx2. right now the best computer out is the ati crossfire X quad gpu setup. my friend from css mark 06 score was 45k.... one main reason is the quad extream he has at 4.8 ghz with 8gb ram. but his friend got the 9800 gx2 sli and his was only 40k. crossfireX is the best thing out right now from what i have seen atleast.
  24. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    ATI has worked with developers as well, and usually, the very, very few games that they've worked closely with devlopers, we tend to see the tables turned - i.e. Call of Juarez. Even games that are developed closely with ATI, but still brandish the TWIMTBP logo run fairly equal between the two (i.e. FEAR, when it came out, and even up to today).

    But, those games are few and far between - nVidia likes to pander to the poor, struggling game devlopers, who need the money.


    ATI cards have proven capable of keeping up without "optimized" game code, which says a lot, IMO. If we were to scrap all hardware optimizational coding, both companies would be on a level playing field.

    The way I see it, though, I wouldn't be surprised if nVidia is the next to come under anti-trust law investigation. They're still up to shady tactics, and odd coincidences pop up now and then - like Assassin's Creed and DX10.1 . . . funny how much better ATI 10.1 capable cards were running it as compared to nVidia's, and then DX10.1 is removed?! :wtf:

    Makes you wonder why nVidia refused to support 10.1 to begin with, even though it's meant to run better than initial DX10 . . . and possibly that refinement is why ATI chose to be the only hardware manufacturer to support it . . .
    Last edited: May 22, 2008
  25. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    ATI works a little with valve. Thats why there logo is in the pause menu in HL2:EPx. And Nvidias logo is in Crysis. But it's not like it actually matters.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page