1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD CPU's and Realtemp?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SaiZo, Apr 22, 2011.

  1. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Ok, I want to see my tempreature on processor and cannot get Realtemp to work with AMD processor. Why? Is there any otherway?
    Reason - have lowered the fan speed (sounds like a jet engine @ 4000rpm), but need to check the tempereature of the fan. The msi thing that I gott with it doesnot help much, can set it to 100% | 75% | 50%. Ok, good, but what is the temperature then? and if put it on 50% run a game, then what temperature then??

    I was told by the reseller to get this program, which doesnot work with AMD for some reason.
     
  2. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,370 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,578
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @SaiZo

    Are you running an unlocked tri/dual @quad setup? If so, the on-die temp sensor gets disabled once it is unlocked. Therefore no software will read it.
     
    SaiZo says thanks.
  4. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Hey, thanks for the info. No, iam not running anything unlock or so. It is all factory settings. I cant get my "systems specs" to show, but it is a X6 class processor.

    I will try that program. However do anyone of you know what is a safe speed to run the fan at?
    4000RPM will cool it, but it has them heatpipes on the heatsink, copperbase and so on. Case is aluminuim and has a large exhauste fan near the processor.


    Edited: Ok, now I got that coretemp up and running. I have set processor fan @ 75% and the temperature is around 22celcius.
    I do not want to stress the processor (not yet), but can I test a game or something, then check what the temperature is at then?
    Also - i have put arctic silver insted of the stock cooling that came with it. The reseller said "this is the shit", meaning this is better.
    By the way, what does Tj.Max mean?
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2011
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    in cortetemp, keep the temp below 60C. its inaccurate by default (AMD's fault) on the x6 thubans, and 72C is the recomended max - so under 60C keeps it safe, even with the inaccuracy.


    TJ max is the maximum temp the CPU is rated to run at. 'thermal junction'
     
    SaiZo says thanks.
  6. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Ok, but what is a safe speed to run the fan on? If i set it too 100% its like having a jet engine in the room. 60c sound like a very low temperature. Perhap this stock cooler should be replaced or something? It is 22/23c right now. 60c is just around 40c more. Now im conserned that the cooling is not enough..
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    How warm is the air inside your case?
     
    SaiZo says thanks.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    the thuban sensors read about 10C too low. keep that in mind.
     
    SaiZo says thanks.
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I realize that. That's why I was asking.
     
    SaiZo says thanks.
  10. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Ok, so if I see "22", ishould interpret it as "32"? Played some CS:S last night, 3hrs. The temp went up to "30", so that would be "40" then?
    Thanks for the info. that is good too know about the extra i have to add.

    Never thought of that.. Can i see it using coretemp?

    Think i will have to come back to that, have a front fan to install (120), the rear fan is as big as the front one. Its just that i have case door open - copying files from another drive.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2011
  11. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Ok, iam back now. What you wrote seems to be true, Mussels. I have both coretemp and the controlcenter up and running. Controlcenter say that cpu is 31C, and coretemp say that it is 21C.
    Casetemparature is 38, room temperature is 25, i should open my door and make it more ventilated..but i have several guitars and the humidity should not fall beyond 50%.
    Next month i shall buy a new motherboared, and some new fans. Maybe even invest in another cpu fan aswell.

    Thanks for all the info. now i know where to look, what temps. to read and when to put cpu fan at 100%.
     
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    CPU temps can't be cooler than the air around it. Just remember that. ;)

    Keep your cores reading under 47C and it will be fine. The cooler the processor the better it will run.
     
    SaiZo says thanks.
  13. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,103 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    SaiZo says thanks.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    SaiZo says thanks.
  15. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Ok.. Maybe i should invest in watercooling system? But iam afraid that the system get destroyed if water would get onto it.
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    they dont use tap water. they use distilled water, which isnt electrically conductive.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page