1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Cuts Down Processor Prices Paving Way for Bulldozer

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 6, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,431 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    With the obvious intention to clear out higher-end Phenom II series processors from the market, and to make room for the new upcoming FX-series "Bulldozer" CPUs, AMD introduced a chain of price-cuts affecting all price-points. This comes after the introduction of the new Phenom II X4 980 BE part, earlier this week. The X4 980 BE pushes down prices of nearly all Phenom II X4 and X2 parts, while pulling down six-core models with it.

    The six-core X6 1090T Black Edition with unlocked multiplier is priced on par with it, while the 1075T, 1065T, and 1055T are below it. The Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition continues to be the fastest AMD has to offer, and it's just a little over $200, at $205, making it a heck of a deal against Intel Core i5-2500K. All the prices are tabled below.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 9, 2011
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Can somebody explain to me why the 1065T is more expensive than the 1075T and the same price as a 1090T BE? lol
  3. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    My guess is that those procs will be faded out, so their price won't be adjusted.
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    TBH do anyone seriously buy the 1075T anyways?
    It is almost the same price as the 1090T since launch.
  5. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    Where are the Athlon II's

    IMO if Bulldozer turns out to be another Phenom II with price being their only advantage, I will abandon AMD solutions for good(not gpu though, best!)
  6. Suhidu

    Suhidu

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    163 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Florida, USA
  7. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,886 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ya they probably have a lot more 1075s on storage and want to get rid of them
  8. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    I wont, cluster computering for virtualized environments, 6 core with 16 gb ram for almost no money at all.
    nothing can really beat it's price point.

    But gaming machine is something diffrent...
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but the even slower 1065 is THE SAME PRICE as the 1090. That makes even less sense than the 1075's price point.
  10. xaira

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    209 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    why do people keep saying apus? theytre normal cpus for am3+, lliano will be a completely different socket with cores based on k10.5

    [​IMG]

    bulldozer apus are a ways off still, notice how there are no immediate plans for 9xxg/9xxgx chipsets?
  11. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    you wont see chipsets like that when bulldozer apu krisna comes.

    there will be no northbridge required for krisna, just like sandy the pci-e controller will most likely be ONDIE.
    You can put up a seperate pci-e controller just like NF200 gets used.
    Most likely 24 pci-e lanes will be interigated in krisna, or 16 so not enough for very high end, but most users it will be sufficient.

    How many lanes it'll have, I have no clue, but its only idiotic to not have a pci-e controller on die when you have gpu, cpu, and imc on die.
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  12. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    1100T for just $200 ?? :eek:

    Bulldozer is just like Bobcat, it's codename for cores not for processor entirely like Zambezi and Llano. even i got confused by it.. :ohwell:

    so yeah, different from Zambezi (FX-series), Llano (E-series) is APU itself. and Khrisna will be Zacate's successor with 28nm process..
  13. spynoodle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    27 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
  14. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    really?

    cpubenchmark only do one test, and it's based only from the software they were created. if you want to see how good they really works, test it on real and syntethic benchmarks like dhry-whetstone, video encoding-transcoding, 3dmark, and real-time games.

    so far i see, 2500k really do better than 1100T. but only significant on memory test and games that cpu demanded like far cry 2 and GTA IV. the rest only 10-15% faster. so based on new prices, for the people who's budget tighted, 1100T it's still good bargains..
  15. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    I like the adjustment. The 1090T seems like the best option to me.
  16. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,133 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    But what it comes down to, is which one is the best bang for the buck? Why pay $200 for an 1100T on a soon to be dated platform that significantly underperforms a CPU that only costs $30 more, and does significantly better across the board (minus like, Cinebench)?
  17. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    not all people have the most "up-to-date" platform, even i still had X2 5000+ on AM2, and pentium D on LGA775 running almost 15 hours a day..

    i'm not defending AMD. even i had a plan to build my next rig with 2500K. but again, its all back to buyer, which platform they will find more suitable.

    btw, 10-15% more faster is not that significant, take a look at this :

    http://www.guru3d.com/article/core-i5-2500k-and-core-i7-2600k-review/1
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    You might use a lot of multi-threaded applications or just run shit tons of stuff at the same time.

    I run shit tons of stuff at the same time.

    Whilst clock for clock I get beaten having two extra cores means more leway when it comes to abusing my system :toast:
  19. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    "bulldozer apu krisna comes" I think I specified bulldozer krisna apu ;P but yes I do that error, describe zambezi as bulldozer and next gen bulldozer design as krisna. but not now. so didn't quite understand the reason for the post.

    But my point is, AM3+ will not support APU... and will probably be swapped out in 2013 or something like that.
    I'd be suprised if bulldozer ever will be apu on am3+.
    Last edited: May 6, 2011
  20. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    APU's only listed for BGA-413 socket..
  21. Nesters New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Aand where's Socket FM1?
  22. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    BGA-413 is for Zacate APU's which is now already on retail, FM1 is for "upcoming" Llano APU's..
  23. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    844 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    6 core 3.3ghz 2mb L2 6mb L3 for $205!!

    Thats pretty damn good IMO :pimp:
  24. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
  25. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    472 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    $100 -- Phenom II X4 905e, 2.5GHz
    $143 -- Phenom II X4 910e, 2.6GHz

    Who in their right mind would spend 43% more money for a 4% increase in performance? :wtf:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page