1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD cuts prices on socket 939 Opterons.

Discussion in 'News' started by zekrahminator, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,113 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    Why AMD is cutting prices on socket 939 Opterons is unknown, though TheINQ suspects that it has something to do with a faster then expected integration of AM2 Opterons. A full chart of the price cuts, listed by CPU model number is here.
    [​IMG]

    Source: TheINQ
     
  2. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    Price cuts are always welcome and now that we're talkin about opty's :D
     
  3. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i'm considering saving for a AM2 one :toast:
    pheraps a Santa Ana 65nm 2.0ghz a while after they reach the market
     
  4. Canuto

    Canuto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,157 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Portugal
    I'd like to see how far you can go with it :toast:
     
  5. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    on this board not much... :mad:
     
  6. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Finally, i've been waiting to upgrade my Opteron 146, to a Opteron 170. And my original plan was for around Xmas. Thank you amd!
     
  7. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    What would be better, an Opteron 165 Denmark, or an X2 3800+ Manchester? Both Dual-Core...I'm going to be upgrading my CPU and GPU (DX10) within the next year, when Dual-Core will (hopefully) be fully utilized.
     
  8. Tory New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    339 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Newegg has been offering these prices for maybe a month now
     
  9. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    probabily an opty :cool:
     
  10. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Good then, I'll get that Opteron 165 with a mid-range DX10 SLI setup within the next year.
     
  11. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,299 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    At newegg, the Opteron 165 is $160, and in the price cut it says it's currently around $240-$250, and the price cut won't be in effect until 10/30. Does this mean the price of $160 at newegg can still lower?!?
     
  12. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,981 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    i would wait ;)
     
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Fellas, this looks good to myself as well (price cuts!) on Opteron CPU's by AMD!

    :)

    QUESTIONS:

    1.) I have an AMD A8N-SLI "Premium" mobo: IIRC, I can 'update/upgrade' to an Opteron CPU, but do I need to use "Error-Correcting" memory along w/ that CPU?

    (I am also looking for better RAM than what I have of course, so might as well ask this question NOW, before I purchase either one!)

    2.) What is the FASTEST OPTERON Socket 939 CPU up on that chart??

    (Assuming 185 model, but, will ask anyways here from you guys... just to be sure/safe!)

    :)

    * Thanks for feedback guys...

    APK
     
  14. Tonyjack New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It works with the same memory as an x2, in fact it's about the same thing as an X2 with 1mb of cache per core. I think they're made to higher specifications and the quality control is better but that's about it. the 185 model is the fastest dual core at 2.6ghz. These processors run cooler than the X2s usually and overclock higher or at the same level with lower voltage

    edit: the fastest single core is the 156 at 3ghz
     
  15. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Hey Alec,

    The performance you would see over your X2 4800+ shouldnt be that huge.
    Just out of curiosity why would you want to move to opteron?

    Also, you def. need a RAM upgrade :)
     
  16. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Because in ScienceMark 2.0 for instance?

    Opteron users were the ONLY systems that consistently "took mine to the cleaners", performance-wise!

    (Not HUGE amounts, but wins nonetheless vs. that which I have in AMD Athlon 64 X² 4800+, prior to the INTEL CONROE folks starting to dominate the test done @ these forums using it (& they also did extremely well on AquaMark 3 as well (CPU's matter imo, even in gaming (though not as much as a GOOD vidcard))))...

    I do, but not the AMOUNT online so much (because I pull 'tricks' on it running the pagefile.sys on a solid-state drive), but MORESO in the brand/build I use... not great "overclocking ready" RAM!

    Back on the pagefile.sys 'trick':

    I use the older CENATEK "RocketDrive", on PCI 2.2 bus (132mb max transfer in burst) & PC-133 SDRAM RAM based unit, soon to be replaced by the DDRDrive X1 PCI-Express 1x slot & DDR-RAM on it)

    So - so it will be even faster in the capacities I use it for noted in my signature near bottom-line below...

    :)

    * However, you can't improve on 0% seek/access time, & CPU usage (driver eats 3% iirc only)... but, this other unit (DDRDrive) WILL be faster in "BURST" because of using a FAR faster bus, & faster memory than my CENATEK Solid-State drive currently uses...

    APK

    P.S.=> What I need to get out & grab is BETTER, more "overclocker-ready" RAM... apk
     
  17. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Opteron. The cores are made to a higher standard, so will undoubtedly clock better as well, quite a bit better ;)
     
  18. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Hmm well Alec let me know how it goes when and if you get the opteron.
    Also let me know if you are selling your X2.
    If I have the money and want to spend it (instead of saving), I would be possibly interested, if it is from the 939 pinset.
     
  19. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Sure, will do... I am getting thru a very LARGE bill (for repairing my car, had problems & needed engine work BIGTIME to fix it) currently, but will be looking into OPTERON CPU's & BETTER RAM here, shortly enough (by Spring 2007).

    Right... no problem, but it may be awhile for reasons noted above.

    It's 939... but, again - next Spring 2007 is when I'll most likely get around to it!

    APK

    P.S.=> By then, if prices keep dropping on them? The HIGHEST END OPTERON 939 CPU should drop even more... apk
     
  20. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    From what I read AMD will stop producing Socket 939 chips end of this year, So I wouldn't wait to long if I were you.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page