1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Demonstrates Graphics Processing Power of Llano Fusion APUs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,855 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD demonstrated its first Fusion APU (accelerated processing unit), which is a "fusion" between a processor and a graphics processor. The first such processor in the works is based on the 32 nm silicon fabrication technology, codenamed Llano, and fuses a quad-core processor with a DirectX 11 compliant GPU. AMD's Rick Bergman showed off a wafer of the Llano APUs, but it didn't stop there. Rick surprised the press when he went on to claim that the APU can power Aliens vs. Predator in DirectX 11 mode, with a reasonable level of detail, which was demonstrated. Find a video of the same at the source.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TweakTown
     
  2. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    exceeded my expectations!
     
  3. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    586
    Awesome sweetness! :rockout:
     
  4. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    I expect theese will rock the world of notebooks! god i can't wait now!
    Want specs specs specs, if it got 320 shaders its gonna be very very good!
     
  5. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Name is very "original". The first thing that popped into my mind was Arithmetic Processing Unit
     
  6. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,611 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    wow very nice
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,855 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That component is called ALU, not APU. ALU stands for Arithmetic and Logic Unit.
     
  8. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Yep it is.
     
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,202 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    1. AM3?
    2. all in one or in the style of I5 661?
    3. How much?
    4. Crossfire?
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,855 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Not AM3.
    Yes.
    An entire range, up to high-end.
    Dunno.
     
    robn and Fourstaff say thanks.
  11. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    161 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    I like this. :D

    me like this long time
     
  12. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Add : built on K10.5 and not bulldozer.
     
  13. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    388 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Wow, that's a lot more than I expected. Will definately revolutionize the notebook market. Let's hope that Bulldozer exceeds our expectations too ;)
     
  14. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ok, I'm confused...a "fusion" between a GPU and a CPU...results in a APU...and what exactly is that?

    The i5 have the CPU core physically divided from the GPU core...does this one have it too?
    I've got to look into this.

    And HA!, I knew it! New socket!
     
  15. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Bulldozer will come on AM3. if rumors are true.

    OFC they have to dump AM3, NB will be built in. and a gpu, chipsets are incompatible with handling those things.


    All is one DIE. not like I5, Intel will also be ready, alltho most likely a tad later and alot slower(we all know intel on the gpu performance side)
     
  16. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,117 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    US
    INTELS cpu core sits next to the GPU core on. With AMD there both combined as one piece of silicon.
     
  17. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    Finally, they should have come up with new socket when they started supporting DDR3.
     
  18. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,611 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    They did, it was called AM3
     
  19. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    The AM3 socket isn't any different than the AM2/AM2+ socket, it's got a new designation to indicate it supports DDR3.
     
  20. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Yeah, it only has 2 more pins than 939 and one more than AM2/AM2+.

    That is good news! The fact that it's only one die is good for cooling purposes and price.
     
  21. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,887 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    AMD keeping it's sockets around is a great thing.
     
  22. TVman

    TVman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    so its like cell cpu ?
     
  23. Atom_Anti

    Atom_Anti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Captiva Isaland, Florida USA
    Awesome, I just canceled buying my new laptop, I will wait for it!
     
  24. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Actually no.
    The AM3 socket have 938 pins that is 2 less pins than AM2(+) that have 940.
     
  25. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    wew, i hope mobo maker can use hydra on one of this babys so tis great power never gonna get waste (if we wanna get a more powerful GPU)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page