1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Demonstrates Graphics Processing Power of Llano Fusion APUs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    I was thinking of buying a new CPU soon, but now that I've seen this, I might just wait another couple of months so the prices of the Phenom II's come down a little more :p

    Great to see AMD finally putting their backbone in something though :toast:
     
  2. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    Admittedly, I forgot about their having removed pins for the AM3 cpus. But in all honesty, when the AM3s were released having it use the same socket caused more problems than it solved, I recall tons of people having problems upgrading, as well, they should switch to something like the Land Grid Array from pins. Yeah, keeping it in the same socket makes for an inexpensive upgrade, but I don't think people's confusion and the related difficulties was worth it. Just my opinion.
     
  3. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    My suspicion is that this isn't going to be an enthusiast architecture, more of an almost integrated system.
     
  4. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,077 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Looks pretty awesome, hope it does well
     
  5. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
  6. nascasho

    nascasho New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    81 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Goldsboro, NC
    Yeah yeah... but will it run Cry... *gets shot*
     
  7. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    740
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well, actually no.
    The AM3 socket has 941 pins, it's the AM3 processors that have 938 pins.
    They made it like this due to compatibility.
    If you still don't believe me, go count them.
     
  8. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    JP is right the AM2 has 1 more pin than am3. This is pretty sweet news I cant wait for a few years to pass and see how this goes.
     
  9. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    kewl, i like seeing AMD beat Intel to it. bet intel was "SON OF A BITCH!!!! we should have been doing this instead of larrabee!!!"
     
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Just think about it for a minute, a world that no longer needs discrete graphics solutions. I think that may happen if both AMD and Intel both push for this as the only solution for OEMs. Here's an example:
    someone buys a Dell that has the same graphical power as your home built top of the line PC at 2/3's the cost (well I can only hope that those APUs or whatever they decide to call them doesn't cost that much). That would change most enthusiast opinions on how they decide to build their PCs. Who is going to pay (hopefully) more for a separate cpu and video card when they can get the combination of both in one package at a cheaper price? Heck, even if having both comes at a slightly slower performance.

    Now I'm not talking about 1st gen APUs either.
     
  11. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    true....but upgradability would the deciding factor in that and there's no telling how much a future ALU processor may cost so you can't depend on that, discrete graphic cards however are predictable on price.
     
  12. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Personally I think AMD have hit the nail on the head here, and we will see them surpass Intel in the coming year's, unless Intel simply build a better version.
     
  13. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    that's the big problem with intel thou. they have no great gpu experience or knowledge, not compared to what AMD got when merging with ATi. So the chances of intel taking a lead in ALU market....very slim imo
     
  14. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    But... this only mean's one thing... who has Intel got to "team up" with if they are going to compete with AMD on this road? I see the only option being nVidia which may lead to great thing's, I'm just hoping AMD keep trumps on this one :D
     
  15. koorosh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    39 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Iran
    Yeah AMD rocks! I knew it:p

    Of course we'll have the old classified market segments. After all, all of this is to sell us products:D
     
  16. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    this would be great for small PC and laptops
     
  17. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    They're probably not teaming up any time soon. Only if this puts financial pressure on both do I think they would lay down their arms and join forces.
     
  18. ArmoredCavalry

    ArmoredCavalry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    617 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Ohio
    Nice, I wouldn't be surprised to see combined gpu/cpu's take over the market eventually.

    Having a separate "video card" can't last forever. Just look at the Sound Card. :)

    Eventually, I think CPU's will just get much better at generalized tasks, including graphical processing.

    Then you will have a cpu processing video/sound, so what comes next? Maybe physics cards really is the business to be in.... maybe....
     
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    If they dont kick out too much heat,they might be ok for lappys.
     
  20. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    Fix'd!
    But to be honest that's true. You can't expect to have discrete video cards forever. Eventually that will be consolidated into a smaller and more efficient package of some kind. If AMD/Intel doesn't do it someone else will. If it was the future we would see something like this being more popular for laptops, for example, IMO.

    Look at the market now, we don't need these big discrete VCs for ipods, ipads, touch sensitive phones, etc. The market is moving away from that to something smaller and more efficient.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,253 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    One word - 'awesome' :rockout:
     
  22. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    the lowest bulldozer should end am3. along with "Phenom III" a shrunk down phenom II that we already know is coming.

    Even tho he said what it could power (game) im sure the intention is just to show its very capable im sure it wont be directly marketed to gaming. "Oh and it can even play ______ ".


    Here is video http://pc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/news/event/20100602_371640.html


    Also shows off there IE APU Acceleration


    EDIT EDIT EIDT AND A XGP!!!!
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
  23. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    so this is amd GRAB phisyx co-founder, so maybe we will se rapid development of stream SDK
     
  24. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    the problem was you stuck the cpu in the socket.
    You boot up the pc.
    maybe it discovers it as eng sample.
    mobo webpage.
    dl bios.
    Flash.

    Solved.
    This is the same if there is a new chip for a LGA1156 platform, doesnt matter, you still need the same update.
    So thats not a valid statement in my opinion, i stuff in AM3 cpu's in AM2 boards and they work, yes AM2, with AGP and nforce 3( good old asrock) worked as easy as any other cpu upgrade.
     
  25. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    If you watch the video I linked to, they talk about versions as low as 25 watts.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page