1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Demonstrates Graphics Processing Power of Llano Fusion APUs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    25watts is quite a bit for a CPU, however if it can pull off performance of say a mobility HD 4670 or 5770 then that's dam good. the detail in that screenshot looks good, but can't tell how smooth it was running.
  2. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I wouldn't say it's a lot for a APU solution. How much power does it take to power an equivalent CPU and GPU solution?
  3. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    I didn't actually have problems with it myself, it's the number of others who couldn't seem to figure out how to get an am2 or am2+ cpu to work in an am3 mobo (since they already had a chip) Or didn't bother to flash, or flashed badly or whatever.
  4. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    I seem to recall my athlon x2 5000+ being about 89watts or similar? maybe it was 125 but I haven't used it in a while, I think 25 watts is easily something a Lithium Ion laptop battery could maintain, though I think that figure was targetted at netbooks, not so much laptops.

    They said they wanted four core x86 processing, but didn't say how many sp's on the die, so I'm not sure.
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2010
  5. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    let remind you.
    Quadcore. 15W
    GPU 5W
    Chipset 5W

    well, then we're down to a 8 pci-e lane chipset from AMD.
    A single core 1.6 ghz
    and no gpu got that TPD.

    its basicly impossible with dedicated gpu, 5770 is too high, 4670 is more the right direction, maybe slightly less due to memory performance.
    Rather excited, even though im not a huge laptop fan, but i would like to see better performance on laptops, intel have really improved, but amd gonna bring it to another level with gpu performance.
    Opencl may really kick off if intel manages to bring out "acceptable" performance atleast in terms of gpgpu, 100 gigaflops would be a huge improvement for a app when the part is needed anyways for video when required.
    The only looser is nvidia, GF9400 class and such may get really obsolute! (huge profits there!)

    and for high end pc's the gpu part could be used in opencl, so no matter what its usefull. physx on the gpu on the cpu in high end pc's :p alltho nvidia wudnt let us do that anyways :p
    manchesterutd81 says thanks.
  6. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    AMD that is just sweet news, dx11 on a chip especially if it can run the game like that at decent frames. I definitely would want a desktop version (HTPC) and a notebook to boot.
  7. manchesterutd81

    manchesterutd81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I wish i knew if this will support DDR3 OR DDR5?

    Im ready for DDR5..... and I hope AMD will jump to it for the next Gen of motherboards and processors...
  8. F1reFly

    F1reFly New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    227 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Indiana
    considering video cards get upgraded far more often and easier, i doubt AMD will ever want to completely kill off the discreat video card business. i suspect the graphical power of these will remain in the lower end for many years.
  9. kaneda

    kaneda

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    157 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    if you mean the Cell BroadBand Engine, no. not in the slightest.

    it should be thrown in with the high performance computing components though.


    maybe~
  10. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Am I getting this right: this only needs to connect RAM, vRAM and southbridge?
  11. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,319 (6.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,345
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Auxiliary Power Unit. ;)

    They need a better acronym like CPUWG (Central Processing Unit With Graphics).


    I imagine it uses the main system RAM just like every other IGP.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    204 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Belgium
    this is very interesting, even cheap laptops good get decent performance. My mate's nv7000M just sucks...He can barely run warcraft 3 with a mobile athlon X2 and that crap igp.
    if intel and nvidia would team up, we got a serious cpu/gpu war on our hands :D (hopefully with better prices for us costumers :p)
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,387 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,088
    I assume it's an Intel IGP. They do suck.
  14. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I'm really interested in the memory configuration of this. Will it have two memory controllers - one for the CPU part and one for the GPU part. Will the GPU have an on-board memory like AMD's current igps? So many questions come up to mind...
  15. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    be sweet/inovative if they shared the memory controller. def show real integration right there.
  16. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    It would be great if we could see a 265bit bus split 50/50 between the two, and as someone else said earlier maybe DDR5 - but i highly doubt that. The easiest thing to do is have dedicated GDDR5 sideport memory on the motherboard and then dual channel ddr3 fro the cpu.
  17. Trigger911

    Trigger911 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    600 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Under Columbus, Ohio
    I think he said it was a amd system so hes prob got an xpress 200 series igp
  18. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i dout it, probly more along the lines of an actual discrete card's gpu, like an HD 5550 or something along those lines. just a guess.
  19. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    I wonder what OCing would be like???
  20. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    That's actually the something no one questioned until now... and now you've really got me thinking... Would overclocking even be something we would be able to do on these chip's, lot's and lot's of question's and only time will tell :banghead:
  21. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    In the presentation, they talk about "Black" editions that would be unlocked for enthusiats. But I wonder about it myself. Two different clock speed sections on a die? How would that work?
  22. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,102 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    Talking about how many shaders this thing has, rumors are pretty consistant that max will about around 400. Basically, a 5570 on a cpu die (since it has the slower ddr3 instead of gddr5 like the 5670). Combine that with up to a quad phenom minus the L3 and you have Llano or what was just demoed.

    AM3+ (aka AM3r2) is coming probably when this thing debuts or with Bulldozer. There is a slide that has been posted on several sites that show it. This is probably what the 8 series chipsets have been designed for.

    Also, anyone remember the talk about quad channel AMD cpus? If they start pushing up the size of the gpu on the die with the cpu, your going to need a wider bus or else you will end up with a bandwidth limited APU. Although, the GPU is suppose to become more integrated like how the Interger processing unit was back 10+ years ago.
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    It'll work. They basically do it now with the CPU and the memory controller. :)
    theubersmurf says thanks.
  24. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,694 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,624
    Location:
    US
    Suck that depends on how you look at it. Laptops should be kept for none gaming and when they make them for gaming you have to expect them to blow up due to the crappy cooling a laptop can have. Just a way for them make money of people saying they can cope with such heat they produce.

    Now if ya had it in a PC that's a different matter.
  25. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    378
    Location:
    Singapore
    I guess you can always set the frequency of the GPU as multiple of the HT speed?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page