1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Desktop "Trinity" APUs Delayed to October, Clubbed with FX "Vishera" Launch

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD reportedly deferred the launch of its next-generation "Trinity" A-series accelerated processing units (APUs) for desktops, to October, 2012. The products were originally slated for August. The delay affects launches of most APUs in the socket FM2 package, including the A10-5800K, a top-performing part in the series.

    Launches of the A-Series "Trinity" APUs appear to have been clubbed with those of the FX-Series "Volan" (Vishera silicon, Piledriver micro-architecture) processors, including the FX-8350 and FX-6300. Meanwhile, AMD is in the process of phasing out its low-cost socket AM3 processors (such as Athlon II AM3, and Phenom II AM3), replacing them with Athlon II FM2, Phenom II AM3+, and mid-range FX-Series AM3+.

    [​IMG]

    Source: DigiTimes
    WarEagleAU, Ravenas, Norton and 3 others say thanks.
  2. Slacker

    Slacker

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Is the Phenom II Am3+ any better?

    If they re-release another series of Phenom II Am3+, it should be the same micro-architecture, in the same nm as the FX series and same controller. If that happens, then I'll jump right in and overclock it as hell while conserving power and less heat than the FX series.
  3. dezz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    No way, IMHO. The first&last Star series @ 32nm was Llano.
    They has only the name in common, like in case of Athlon II that was first a Deneb (alias Phenom II) with L3 disabled, and then a Llano with disabled IGP.
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,570
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Phenom II AM3+ is essentially FX "Zambezi" with locked multiplier.
    Kei and Slacker say thanks.
  5. Slacker

    Slacker

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Llano is exactly an Athlon II with IGP, weak clocks, and no L3 cache. Because of the fact that it is an IGP and the cpu cores in 1 die, it was hindered from high clocks.
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2012
  6. Slacker

    Slacker

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    That sucks then
  7. sergionography

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    264 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Wth is Phenom ii am3+ ?
    It has to be next Gen stuff, because there is no way amd is replacing old CPU inventory to fill up also on to be old Gen inventory , also there is no athlon ii fm2, nor Phenom ii am+ apart from the comparable am3 phenoms. Tho one might think they can at least call them Phenom III and athlon III if they are new
  8. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,167 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    I remember a few reports of some Llanos getting some real high clocks.

    Is disappointing about Trinity. For all AMD tried to do to get a good supply out after what happened with Llano...Trinity has sure been a terrible launch.
  9. dezz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Names are just names... Looking inside, as I wrote, at first Athlon II's was based on the 45nm Deneb die (with Family 10h cores), with L3 disabled. The Llano die, that later Athlon II's was based on, was a 32nm part, containing also somewhat newer (IIRC Family 12h) cores (while still Stars, basically). And of course, an IGP, that were disabled here (unlike in case of full featured Llanos).
  10. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    751 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    Too late.
  11. AvonX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    169 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    I know why they will be released together. Its because the fx series won't be that great so they are releasing them together to try and get more sales on the fx processors.
  12. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    They should just release all of them by now. Intel got the jump on them this generation
  13. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,354 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    392
    When has Intel NOT had the jump on AMD? Oh...right, 6 long years ago with Athlon :roll:
  14. dezz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    When you consider computation power, not just CPU power... The OpenCL capable IGP's of Llano and Trinity can bring a 2-50x speed-up (depending on the task), compared to an i7 Sandy Bridge (its IGP doesn't support OpenCL), and also faster than Ivy Bridge.
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It's a nice perk, unfortunately most software doesn't use OpenCL acceleration.
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Aye got a long way to go, fortunately a lot of editing suites are becoming opencl accelerated which is great.
  17. BeepBeep2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    236 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    This "rumor" that came from Jetway's website ("Phenom II X8") contained part numbers of AMD FX Engineering Samples, stepping B0. They were simply guesses on the part of Jetway marketing/engineering on the future part names of the Engineering Samples, before AMD decided to resurrect the "FX" moniker.

    Why you guys keep reporting false news is beyond me.
  18. dezz New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    At the moment. Although, users are in the need of more and more performance in many fields, but they can't expect significant performance increase in CPU performance these days (years, really)... No performance increase: decreasing software sales. So, GPGPU is the way to go.

    I don't think the source of this information was such an old news. It should be much more fresh news.
  19. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
  20. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    416
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Maybe in the CPU department but Intel has nothing in the APU department at all. That is where AMD has the jump on Intel ;)
  21. AvonX New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    169 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
  22. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Actually you are buying an APU that is cheaper and reviews higher benchmark than the Intel counter part. These processors are extremely important in order to compete with Intel.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page