1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Details Bulldozer Processor Architecture

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,149 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    582
    Ok yea I see what you were saying. Man, I was failing pretty hard last night at reading comprehension.

    If anything maybe that last post adds something I missed in the other one. :laugh:
     
  2. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    What about Quad-Channel DDR3-1866 for Bulldozer. What all the talk about Dual-Channel.
     
  3. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    From what i have read the desktop bulldozer cores will be dual channel and only the socket G34 server bulldozer cores will have quad channel memory.
     
  4. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    G34 is quad channel 1600.
     
    bear jesus says thanks.
  5. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Thanks for pointing that out, i admit i did not have a clue what speed it was.

    I don't know what that equates to in gb/s but I'm sure quad channel at 1600mhz will give plenty of bandwidth, i just hope the desktop and server bulldozer cores do well against what intel will be offering in at least price/performance ratio.
     
  6. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    That defeats Bulldozer's purpose to excell in Memory performance. I heard it was Quad-Channel to feed those 8 cores.
     
  7. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    It has plenty of band-width for desktop use.

    ( according to JF anyways)
     
  8. TAViX Guest

    What about the DDR3 Hex(a)-channel thingy AMD was keep telling about?
     
  9. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    JF said Quad Channel was going to me implemented on the server side of things. Desktop users will probably still be on Dual Channel but with a reworked IMC for better bandwidth.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page