1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Details Bulldozer Processor Architecture

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. naram-sin

    naram-sin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Most of things that can be found on the net are readers' guesses. At one point, AMD did mention am3r2, but hadn't claimed that there will be any backward compatibility. Or at least I can't find any.

    But, we should keep in mind that this is not exactly what AMD initially intended. This is a result of going back to the drawing board and coming up with something (almost) completely new... or at least upgraded... and better (judging by these info)! And I say: good for them! And for most of us! If they came up with an idea that is great (superior, even, at least compared to previous one) but requires certain changes in other areas, then do it.

    Otherwise, it would be like cramming a jet-engine inside a trailer...
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,673 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,505
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    PaNic, you have made your point.... thank you, let's move back on topic now and talk about Bulldozer and try and get over obselete chipsets (or not) as the case may be...... :D I appreciate sockets are relative, lets just not harp on about rip off previous socket support.
     
    AlienIsGOD and wolf say thanks.
  3. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    That's fairly dated but fair enough :toast:
     
  4. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    [​IMG]
     
    wolf says thanks.
  5. Atom_Anti

    Atom_Anti New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Captiva Isaland, Florida USA
    Ok guys, we got two important information:
    -not backwards compatible with AM3,
    -50% higher performance-per-watt compared to Shanghai and Istanbul.

    Anyone can tell me a Corei7 or a Phenom2 how much faster than Shanghai or Istanbul?
     
  6. the_wolf88

    the_wolf88 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Bahrain
    At least AMD motherboards are compatible with all their processors so I can upgrade the CPU anytime I want ! Not like Intel core ix which force you to upgrade to one generation only !
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I am glad they are going with a new chipset and socket. Bless them for being backwards compatible for so long. I don't mind spending more money for this new architecture. Also, according to that link for circuits?? it was saying that the new processor chipset and socket would be backwards compatible with AM3 procs, at least that is how I took it, I Could be wrong.

    Cant wait to see this come out. IF it gets closer to the i7 I will be more than happy.
     
  8. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,825 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    I understand that this was initially planned to run on AM3, but as technology advances, changes have to be made. Look at LGA1366 from Intel, it is EOL next year to make way for LGA2011. AM2+ and AM3 have had a very long run, but it is time to be replaced.

    Lets face it though. If you are worried about upgrade costs, a 1090t on a CHIV will last a few more years without the need for an upgrade. And if you are one who needs the "latest and greatest" changing sockets is just a way of life. It happens, and we should be thankful it happens, or we would all still be stuck on DDR with single cores. SKT754 & SKT939 had a very short life span, and AMD rectified that (IMO) with the AM2+/AM3 socket (And the PHII with dual memory controllers). I am hopeful that their next socket will have an equally impressive life span.
     
  9. Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    424 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hà Nội, Viet Nam
    Can't wait for this one to shoots out :rockout: AMD FTW !!!! :D
     
  10. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    They not comparing it to shanghai and istanbul, but magny-cours which is a 8 or 12 core processor. (which is based on deneb core, like phenom II)

    More details: http://products.amd.com/en-us/OpteronCPUResult.aspx?f1=AMD Opteron™ 6100 Series Processor
     
    Faith[ROG].Anarchy says thanks.
  11. link2009 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    38 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Toronto
    I'm sorry admins but allowing "PaNiC"'s posts in this thread was a mistake and it has slightly reduced my respect for the site. Every other member except him are trying to contribute to the topic at hand while he is trolling everyone and insulting left and right.

    There are mature people here and respect should be given to everyone.

    Now to be on topic... I really hope that Bulldozer pans out to be what everyone is making it out to be, a real-world competitor to the i7 and (possibly) Sandy bridge.
     
    AlienIsGOD, Batou1986, Roph and 2 others say thanks.
  12. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
  13. Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Faith[ROG].Anarchy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    424 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Hà Nội, Viet Nam
    Btw no backward compatible to AM3 ??? C'mon :D
     
  14. naram-sin

    naram-sin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Best point regarding the backward compatibility of Bulldozer, so far. :respect:
    ...can't make a scene if you don't have the green... :rolleyes:
     
  15. PaNiC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    trolling would mean i'm an intel fan boy or something, im just making my point that there was no need for the 890fx and to mislead people. like AMD did.
    fact: people call me an emo first and i own a amd. im not a fanboy
     
  16. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    infact we have a lot of chipset we don't need... and a lot of processors, gpu-s... this market is just like this, face it.

    Anyway it's your job (if you are interested) to choose the best to your needs. If you have chosen wrong, it's only your fault.
     
  17. Bloodcrazz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I dont think that "PaNiC" insulted anyone at all.
    Im pretty sure that he was having a go at AMD not at any person.
    Its called freedom of speech hence this being a FORUM.
     
  18. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    899 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    +1!!
    I really don't want to have to change from my Prolimatech Mega Shadow! Although I'm sure they'll just release a fresh retention kit for the new socket.

    Can you just quit it, we're not interested in your rant!:shadedshu
    I can't believe people like you that complain about AMD's new CPU not being backward compatible, when they've been making all their others backward compatible for so long! Get over it, the world can't be on hold forever, the only way to make significant changes is to make things radically different and not backwards compatible.:nutkick:
    “Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore.” -Andre Gide


    This CPU sounds like it's gonna be great and I really looking forward to it!
     
  19. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    this thread has been going downhill since page 1.
     
    AlienIsGOD says thanks.
  20. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,825 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Just to be clear. AMD 890FX was added to included SATA 6GBs and USB 3...IIRC, those are the only real changes, and they were needed for some people running these devices.
     
  21. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,825 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    You could always send it to me :D
     
    ebolamonkey3 and naram-sin say thanks.
  22. PaNiC New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    usb 3 isnt native
     
  23. naram-sin

    naram-sin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    That is completely untrue. Many needed 8xx chipsets, and in many cases it is these chipsests that have made way for better results of AM3 processors. Google some comparative reviews of 7xx and 8xx chipsets. And 8xx chipsets are more advanced (new tech) and have better peripheral performance than than 7xx chipsets. Especially, since 7xx are here almost since AM2 socket...

    Btw, there was an "issue" with core unlocking. :D

    With all of that and, as previously said, this wasn't misleading, this was just a change of plans...

    Now, I'll stop MY ranting. OaO

    EDIT:
    SATAIII is.
     
    Roph and JATownes say thanks.
  24. Bloodcrazz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If u read the earlier posts he was talking about AMD saying there releasing the AM3 socket on the bulldozer and AMD changed there minds.
    After Millions of ppl bought AM3 socketed cpus believing they would be compatible.
    And now they have changed the socket on the Bulldozer.
    AMD by law have given false and misleading information regarding the Bulldozer.
     
  25. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    I doesn't make any difference... oh maybe it costs 1 $ more...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page