1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Details Bulldozer Processor Architecture

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 24, 2010.

  1. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    WHat! you mean i can't use my NEW 1055T in the new chipset MB's built for these processors?.. j/k don't ban me mussels! hehehe

    Wow this has been the best news of the day! I can't wait to own the newness! (Maybe Intel will be pushed to bring out Core24veinticuatro!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Well you guys that crying about the bulldozer cores being on a different platform, thats what you get just buying without being responsible and thinking about it.

    I would not go purchase something unless its out already- or all details- road maps- and even sites pre-listing the hardware at a certain price pop up.

    You guys went and purchased 890fx boards expecting 8 core on them- when there were barley quad cores and thuban dies were barley expected 3-4 months later.

    w00t on the epic purchases some of you guys made- I say live with your 890fx platform because it could still be a while before bulldozer comes out, because if you THINK about it,
    AMD wants money right now- so there not just going to completely dis own the 6 core and 4 core chips which are out right now. So if they do release it even later then the say- thats good.

    Because there just trying to get the brilliant quad cores and thuban cores sold- till they displace them with 200-300 dollar bulldozer chips.

    You DO NOT WANT them to release bulldozer anytime soon or i smell a 500 dollar AMD cpu

    even the thought of a 400 dollar amd cpu scares me :eek:

    Let them sell the chips right now- get some profit- stop production on some deneb chips- lower the prices of the thuban dies and 890fx motherboards- and then release a whole new platform at previous thuban die prices

    and ill be happy there staying cheap with such epic 8 core designs.
    Mindweaver says thanks.
  3. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Sounds completely awesome. Can't wait to see some numbers on these when they come out, whenever that will be.
  4. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,139 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,646
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    They will have to beat i7 to price a chip over 300 bucks. I see them putting out a feeler chip to show the new chip can beat an i7 before they just put out a 500 chip. But that being said I CAN'T WAIT! hehehe These are great days we are living in my friends! :toast:
    naram-sin says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Valdez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    293 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    If it won't be am3 compatible, i'm sure AMD will release new, 32nm steppings for am3 platform based on the current generation.
  6. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Finally a new socket.
    I was kinda worried since it appeared until today that Bulldozer landed on AM3.
    Now the quad channel RAM claim also makes sense.

    PS.
    Laughing at that one silly kid who's pissed at AMD.
  7. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,100 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    562
    1866mhz is suppose to be support from the get go with Llano so I suspect Bulldozer to support it too. Also dual channel has been known to only be supported. That quad channel thing is for high end desktop Sandy Bridge.
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,054 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I guess that this 'BullDozer' is mainly aimed at the server market where they have lost almost all of its market share. Where ever I go I see Intel dominated servers as against Opty dominated servers few years back. This is the place where both these companies make most money.

    New Socket = better, in my opinion as they don't need to form a bubble and work within it. Would have been nice to get a proc for AM3 socket, but as such I am tired of existing AM2...AM3 sockets.

    If this processor really shines (without the lapping :laugh:), AMD will be back on money making on their CPUs.

    Go AMD Go :rockout:
  9. Valdez New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    293 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    well, amd can have quad channel too, it's not intel only tech :)
  10. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Good thing I read this, I was about to pull the trigger on a 890fx mobo, 1055 and some ram.
    I guess my trusty old frankensteined system can live for another few months until we get some performance numbers on Bulldozer.

    If it lives up to the hype, then maybe it will force Intel to cut prices and we all win.
  11. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    if just nvdia allow for proper coding of physix and allow more cores to be utilized and not use that ancient X87 code w will be surely seeing superb physix effect WITHOUT needed any of GPU power so GPU can concentrate to flex its muscle in graphic department and our hexacore CPU won't be waste of silicon


    bring on bullet phisyx and please intel optimize that havoc engine so it will be use all 6 six core
    D4S4 says thanks.
  12. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    843 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    I want it!!

    HD 6870 = I want it!!
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    i STILL cant see why ppl are bitching about 890fx for Im mean for fucking goodness sake bulldozer wont be here for another full god damn year get over it. 890fx will have nearly a 2 year life span by then as well so everyone needs to stop bitching 2 years in the tech world is a long god damn time. I look at it this way by the Time bulldozer comes out i will have fully enjoyed and used my hardware to its fullest and gotten my moneys worth from it. seriously... 2007- 2011 my machines base configuration will be 4 years old by the time Bulldozer hits.. ppl are seriously going to complain about socket longevity? i went from athlon x2 to 940be then jumped to 965 and grabbed a used mobo. Seriously 4 years on a machine in terms of being an enthusiast is a long ass time. The tech world constantly moves forwards just as the sun rises and sets and the world spins. IF you dont like those facts of life go play russian roulette with all the chambers filled.'

    More on topic i dont mind a new socket either will be a nice change hopefully they fix the cpu HSF mounting issues currently seen on 939 AM2 AM2+ AM3 would be nice to have more freedom of heatsink choice without it crippling my ram selection due to tall heatspreaders
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Who's complaining? The current socket has had a good and long life, I see no reason to complain. :ohwell:

    It's funny how one person can ruin a thread. Ignore the trolls.
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
    cadaveca says thanks.
  15. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    But the whole point of Physx is so the GPU does the physics processing instead of the CPU. whether or not a CPU can utilize all of it's cores is a matter of software taking advantage of those cores. How is physx holding the CPU back?, even if physx is poorly coded, how would that effect the CPU?. I don't understand how in anyway physx could be holding back a part that it has nothing to do with.

    But of course, everything has to be Nvidia's fault right.:shadedshu
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    im talking about the guy who bitched for nearly half the thread about 890fx... when if he used his brain he would realize that when bulldozer does come out 890fx will be nearly 2 years old
  17. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    AMD needs a socket change to compete. I have no problems with it. They've done a great job keeping their processors backward compatible to this point. Who says that future processors won't be backward compatible with whatever socket that Bulldozer gets?
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    AMD said it lol ^ but yea seriously AM2 to AM2+ to AM3 we had by the time bulldozer gets here nearly 5 years of same socket it was indeed time for a change :toast:
  19. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Don't see what the big deal is with them changing sockets. Sockets get old and eventually needs to be replaced with a newer one with better tech on board. I don't see why someone would get mad at that.
  20. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,541 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    remember that if you still have an AM2+ or AM3 socket you wil still get whatever new processors AMD release until bulldozer, I doubt they are going to stop in their tracks from now until it and its new platform are released.

    I for one am looking forward to plopping a 6 core into my 785G in about 9-12 months.
  21. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I agree.

    I also hope the 980x or i7 970 drop down in price eventually so i can go 6 core to.:)
    wolf says thanks.
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,747 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    So, new socket? that makes me VERY happy.
  23. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,741 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    IMO, 50% increase in throughput over Phenom II does not necessarily mean 50% more performance increase, w/ yes 33% more cores.
    It sounds like AMD choose their wording very intelligently.
  24. cavemanthreeonesix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    54 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Glad to here some concrete news about the bulldozer, new platform is definitely a positive move forward imho, K10 has definitely peaked so hopefully they can move forward from that.

    Only downside is i'm split on whether the crosshair IV extreme is going to worth getting anymore, if it ever comes out...
  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    you got a 1 year + so it might be might not up to you

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page