1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD ditches sysmark 2012

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by twilyth, Jun 25, 2011.

  1. twilyth Guest

    Add them to nvidia and Via.

    Here is the follow up article which seems to present a dim view of things from inside AMD.

    I don't know how objective bright side of the news is, but if these are legit comments from insiders, I'm a little worried.
     
  2. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Fair enough i think.
     
  3. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,207 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah its pretty obvious they dont like that the benchmark says they're slower lol... GPU accelarated "widely used" in business... that's just misleading. Are businesses using nvidia tesla? yes. Are they using AMD's gpus to crunch? probably not. And any workload that is crunched like that is very very specific, one would think this would be a custom written and highly developmental application, usually in it self representing a very small overall piece of the computing system even within the organization (i.e. R&D, finance etc). The company would still need run-of-the-mill servers to power its daily operations, and they would massively outnumber any GPU cluster.
     
  4. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Enterprise A pays Bapco for 1 license for Sysmark 2012: $10,000

    Intel IGP, good enough pays $500k to upgrade to intel igp platform

    THEN! they realized they have been had!

    When most applications to run at high productivity with high-end gpus

    • ABBYY® FineReader pro 10.0
    • Adobe® Acrobat® Pro 9
    • Adobe® After Effects® CS5
    • Adobe® Dreamweaver® CS5
    • Adobe® Photoshop® CS5 Extended
    • Adobe® Premiere® Pro CS5
    • Adobe® Flash® player 10.1
    • AutoDesk® 3DS Max® 2011
    • AutoDesk® AutoCAD® 2011
    • Google Sketchup™ Pro 8
    • Microsoft® Internet Explorer® 8
    • Microsoft® Office® 2010
    • Mozilla® Firefox® Installer
    • Mozilla® Firefox® 3.6.8
    • Winzip® Pro 14.5

    [​IMG]

    Nvidia left first, mainly gpu
    AMD left second, apu and amd gpus
    VIA left third, chipset gpu is more powerful than intel igp

    ----
    CPU performance had no relation to this event
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  5. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    753 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    Bad bulldozer performance to blame
     
  6. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    False

    Ya, VIA and Nvidia left because of Bad Bulldozer performance
     
  7. twilyth Guest

    I tend to agree. In the article they said they were testing ES's that they knew were crippled and were B0/1 silicon. That and the fact that they jumped on these quotes from presumed "insiders" so gleefully made wonder if this was really a genuine news piece or an attempt to make some of those people sitting on the fence waiting for this chip say screw it an just go with what Intel has to offer.
     
  8. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Silicon wasn't crippled

    BIOs are the only thing crippling Bulldozer

    Unless you have the AMD AM3+ Test Bench Motherboard with the correct BIOs

    You are doing it wrong...

    So far only beta BIOs from Gigabyte and Asus make Bulldozer work but these test BIOs still have the FPU clock bug which will be fixed when the CPUs come out <-- someone else has said this
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2011
  9. twilyth Guest

    from the second article

    Not exactly an identified and credible source, but I assumed they were telling the truth about this much. Who know though.
     
  10. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    It is the truth...

    But it's not hard to figure out.....since the FPU is only half clocked

    [​IMG]

    Real numbers are 14.029 to 15.029 but I am predicting 15 seconds
    getting 15~ Seconds in SuperPI 1M @ 4.5GHz isn't that bad for a crippled Bulldozer

    [​IMG]

    FPU should operate and work the same as Phenom IIs

    but it can do double the rate of Phenom II but because the FPUs are half-clocked, you get weird leaks that don't match the Architecture
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2011
  11. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    does disabling 5 cores help yield higher scores in sPi?
     
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    No, SuperPi is single threaded

    and it uses the x87 instruction set
     
  13. MightyMission

    MightyMission

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    137
    i thought it was single threaded,so the core down is to get the highest oc possible right?
     
  14. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Yes, if you can drop 3(X4)-5(X6) cores and get a higher OC yes
     
    MightyMission says thanks.
  15. twilyth Guest

    Another more even handed article

     
  16. twilyth Guest

    Here's an article from ZDNet questioning the Brightside article

     
  17. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.

    I think that the whole article is nonsense. Any AMD engineer is not going to go and publicly denounce the company, anonymously or not.

    It makes more sense that a little known tech website would like to draw hits to it's site by starting controversy. If this so called engineer wanted to talk to someone, I doubt that he would do it to a website that is not that well known.

    Even though it's already been said, I really don't think that Nvidia and VIA give a rat's ass about Bulldozers performance.

    And one last thing, this "team" put together by AMD to discredit Sysmarck, is doing a horrible job. The only comments I have heard from AMD about it came from Nigel Dessau. He hardly constitutes a team, with one blog post explaining the situation. If AMD is employing the forces to do nothing, than hire me. I'm great at that.
     
  18. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I still do not 100% believe any of the articles I have read about Bulldozer performance.

    At the moment the articles pretty much say these CPUs suck.

    I mean who in their right minds hands out an engineering sample when they know the processor has bad performance and nothing is optimized for any significant scores?

    That's like shooting yourself in the foot.

    At the moment it's like saying hey this is the future of things to come from AMD CPUs.
    Poor performance!
    But it doesn't matter because it's cool to have 8 cores!
     
  19. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Do you buy Engineer Samples?

    No, you buy Production samples....

    To answer that^

    Engineer samples should be considered defective goods

    What we know/I heard around the web: AMD Bulldozer ES have:
    Half-clocked FPU/Phenom II FPU(CPU/BIOs)
    Locked Multiplier(CPU)
    Higher Voltage(CPU/BIOs)
    Higher Wattage(CPU)
    Broken TurboCore(BIOs)
    Lower Quality Silicon/Pilot silicon(FAB process)
    more stuff just ask if you want more...
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
  20. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Then what are these engineer samples supposed to represent?

    It's the closest the general public has in terms of whats in store when it comes to the production model.

    The results of the engineer samples are well....not great.
    And what's the purpose of handing out "defective" CPUs to let people take look at the progress of whats to come unless you are aiming for bad press?

    What else is the general public inclined to think?

    I personally would want these new CPUs to be really good.
    I would like to see AMD take the lead again.
    But with the current articles and the engineering samples handed out by AMD, it's pretty hard not to see the future production model to be that much better.

    One can only hope.
     
  21. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,611 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Yield not performance
     
  22. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    These Eng Samples aren't for the public...but for Mobos Manufactures to get their BIOses up to date

    The other Eng Samples that show how good Bulldozer are locked away in a tight vault under the protection

    You leak, we are putting you out


    --------------
    http://www.amdzone.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=532&t=138660

    fun to read the fights

    http://www.vanshardware.com/reviews.../SYSmark 2002 Analysis Presentation FINAL.pdf

    -----

    This isn't related to back then....

    AMD, Nvidia, VIA are simply mad that the GPU Acceleration has no impact on the test score

    Mad enough to leave

    CPU performance has no coincidence to this

    Rumor:
    (AMD Bulldozer is heavily mirrored on to the Intel Compiler thus it would perform better)
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
    enaher says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page