1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FM2 (Trinity)

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by intan_pesek, Dec 1, 2012.

  1. intan_pesek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm going to build a system for HTPC


    - AMD A4-5300
    - Asrock FM2A75M-DGS
    - 2 GB RAM

    Will it support and run with Windows XP properly? Asrock provides the driver for this motherboard on site and the Windows XP driver is available

    has anyone ever tried to Install Windows XP on AMD FM2 based System?
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,099 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    AMD and ASRock both provide drivers for XP, so I don't see how it wouldn't work with XP. Though I don't know why anyone would want to use XP on a new system...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Don't know how good media player would be with XP for a HTPC.
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,651 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,319
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    There are a lot of low-power options that the GPU could provide having better D3D support so you really might not want to consider XP for a HTPC. If upgrading isn't an option, I've had very good experiences with Ubuntu + XBMC which is what I'm going to be doing myself in the near future on a better machine.
     
  5. intan_pesek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I don't care with the performance, I just want to make sure, cause I have some problems when trying to Install XP on APU system, Anyway, does the Motherboard BIOS support the IDE Mode instead of AHCI? I've tried Install windows XP with slipstreamed AHCI Driver in APU Laptop (E-350) and it works
     
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,727 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If you can afford it, get 5800K. here in the US they are 120$ and from reviews they are well worth the money for a HTPC.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    You should get more ram since its dirt cheap now.
     
  8. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Why? It is HTPC.
     
    Aquinus and Jstn7477 say thanks.
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    The board should support IDE.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2012
  10. intan_pesek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Since the latest edition of Windows XP is 32 bit only, I consider using 4 GB RAM which will 3.5 GB usable, anyway, I'll use the cheapest trinity instead the 5800k, it's overbudget I'll use it for my dailly computing, better than sempron
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Umm XP has an x64 bit version as well...Why you wouldn't use windows 7 or ubuntu over XP I do not know...
     
    Aquinus says thanks.
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,651 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,319
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If you don't mind me asking, what is your motivation to go with XP? Anything newer will be easier and better than XP so It's a little odd unless you're aiming with compatibility with a particular application. Honestly if it's going to be a HTCP and you don't have a Windows 7 key you should consider jumping on the Ubuntu boat. XBMC was able to decode just about everything in my library without a problem and will run fast even with slower hardware. I also have BOINC loaded on my new HTPC (thanks for Norton,) and even though the processor is maxed out at 100%, XBMC doesn't skip a beat with steady frame rate and no problems.
     
  13. intan_pesek New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, My problem is compatibility, I have some old programs that work only on Windows XP, I Still consider about Windows XP, and I've tried the 32 bit version of windows althought it'll use only 3.5 GB of RAM, I installed the general HTPC application and also XBMC too, and it works well, but can AMD APU optimized in Windows XP? I mean the video performance especially for playing HD-DVD?
     
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,430 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,252
    Vlc
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,727 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a copy of windows that is a mere 153MB that I use for HTPCs. I also use a codec pack and XBMC
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Best recommendations:
    Really it doesn't matter what OS to use for your HTPC, just tweak it around your codecs and you will be fine. Unless you find that a certain codec only works with a certain OS that you want.

    Here's the real kicker,I find that handbrake works best with Windows 7 at this point in time, if you wish to encode. What do i do then due to having single core? I transcode on my main machine.

    Regarding your question about XP comatibility and optimization, that's what drivers are for. :)
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,727 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The reason I have that small OS is that I can use a small Thumbdrive to run windows on :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page