1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD future

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by WojtasRed, Jun 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    AMD smart profile? What`s this? How can I use it?
     
  2. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    plz tell me the use of clocking ur cpu to 800mhz and then again too 3.2 ghz...?my cpu is amd x2 6000+ ....:)
     
  3. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    its stays cooler, is more stable, and lives longer?

    They speak of Phenomenon 2.... err Phenom 2^^
    Your processor never goes under 1 ghz.... tried myself and got stuck at 1,2 or so... look my rig... have a little brother of your proc.
     
    subhendu says thanks.
  4. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    ya...thanks for that info...one doubt ur core voltage seems a little bit high...isn't it dangerous??
     
  5. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    3.6 or 3.8 is wat im expecting...:rockout: +overclocking will give amazing results..:respect:
     
  6. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    Your 5000 OCs to 3.3? ^_^ Wonder what mine can do when I get a good mobo.
     
  7. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    My 5000 isnt a black edition XD, you ever heard of such? they must be rare as hell, never saw a site vend one again
    it ocs to 3.4 but my PSU is degraded atm im at 2.4 but with new psu it should get at least 3.4 ROCKSTABLE (as it was before). Its bootable till 3.47 and gots a total blackout at 3.5

    Voltage is Fine, i had a 4400+ on 3.2ghz on AIR on 105c°(hot german summer) and it still survived 1,6, 10 hours daily, half a year, in the end i cutted hsf and used it with heatpipe-cooler, till destroying the die with a 500g copper-waterblock. These X2 were like Tanks since i got em... had them on 1.7 on air, but that got too hot after a time.

    Now i got Water, the Chip idles at nearly roomtemp and leaves 40c° only under linpack, 40-42c
    Its pretty cool and is the most reliable part in my rig.

    @kantastik
    every 790gx mobo will do its job... theyre perfect for this old little buggers.. got memory up to 1124... crucial ballistix, new revision 2.0V
     
  8. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    The 5000 was one of the first Black Editions after the 6000. It was then superseded by the 5200BE
     
  9. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I think once AMD recovers from it's purchance of ATI, we will see them pwn Intel again - on a side note, I though Intel licenced HyperThreading to AMD in extange for the x64 instrution set??? If so, why haven't they used it yet? Intel is not the only one with multitreading on a single core - I think IBM has it too on their POWER chips.
     
    Hitman.1stGame says thanks.
  10. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i think yoo misunderstood

    i got a 5000+ with locked multiplier. a 5000+ non BE^^
     
  11. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    They released a 5000+ Non-BE before the Black Edition, and judging by its G2 stepping it isn't too old for a Brisbane. Probably a few months after AMD did their die-shrink to the 65nm node.


    By the way, nice overclock on it.
     
  12. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    since i began to overclock i had the luck to nearly ever get better results as 90% the people that discuss in forums about it. Now im trying to beat everyone. but that takes Time, Knowledge and of course: Failure.

    thanks dude^^ look at the nice htt beyond 300 (was 24/7, PRime and Linpack stable)

    on my last biostar 790gx i could take the htt up to 380
     
  13. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    I had my F2 Stepping 5200+ Windsor at 3.2GHz, 1.4 Volts, 24/7 Stable with an Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro.

    On an ECS KA3 MVP. (Hopefully that inspires you to OC even higher)

    Back on topic, has anybody heard of the dual core Athlon Neo being released?
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  14. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    an a64 with uncrippled cache... how nice^^

    no never saw such proc in their roadmaps
     
  15. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Thats a lot of voltage your pumping through the 5000+ that 24/7? I always was scared to crack 1.5v, think I took mine to 1.424v and it ran great at 3,298mhz.
     
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i lost respect for this proc when i was able to play crysis with it for 2 hours until it locked up at more than 105c° (this is what bios read 3 unknowing resets later) i pumped insane 1.7 in it under crappy air cooling and it even survived a scratch with a razor showing slightly gold under the green pcb. i only know 1 person in this forum, reporting these things could degrade.... i dont believe him somehow... my chip was like meant for ages 3 and up i did everything wrong i could and it still wont die.

    these was my last proc. my actual never run under air.... not got cut and did not recieved more than 1.62

    edit: in fact the first proc died. for sure. trough massive physical forces breaking the edge of the die (i used the wrong retention brackets, on the day i received my brand new thermaltake bigwater 740... that was a fucked christmas.. ;-P)
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    29,324 (10.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,945
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    You mean AMD's ultra low voltage chip that competes with Atom DC / Core 2 Duo ULV? It should be officially out in Q3.
     
    From_Nowhere says thanks.
  18. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Ok

    It is part of the AMD OverDrive 3.0 system. The profiles allow you to pick programs and set values for the process based on that program. You can control its affinity, processor speed, etc. It even dynamically sets CPU usage if multiple profiles are active and using the same core.
     
  19. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,371 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,395
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Why loose respect, most people can't get 3.3ghz out of those chips, thats a lot, and a lot of voltage you are pushing through it on air cooling.
     
  20. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    below the 5000+ it gets nasty reaching 3,3 for sure... the usual overclock is 800 mhz from stock in these little buggers (at least for me,maybe its too cold here^^)

    EDIT: why loose respect? they let you do things that would kill a hkmg-proc in minutes^^
     
  21. subhendu

    subhendu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    488 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    NEW AMD PHENOM II PROCESSOR
    Phenom II X3 740 (3.0 GHz)
    phenom II X3 740 relate to the family black edition, and it will be equipped with free multiplier.New models will be aimed at the segment with cost up to $200.
    Phenom II X3 740 have 6 MB cache third level and TDP 95 W.
     
    Hitman.1stGame says thanks.
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Ooh if that 740BE OC's higher I might have to get one :D
     
  23. Hitman.1stGame

    Hitman.1stGame New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    47 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Tripoli/Libya
    Nice Post .
    i had read that Power PC CPU's use HyperThreading on wikipedia...but i don't know if it that the same of Intel or IBM used another technology .
    i have notice that HTT increase the performance up yo 20% in P4 HT edition in some application.
    so why AMD not use it if they can.:wtf:
     
  24. From_Nowhere New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    661 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Because AMD states that Real Men use Real Cores.


    Sounds stupid, but I'm just quoting them. Although it would be awesome to have a Phenom II w/ HyperThreading.
     
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,146 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    HT was discovered by accident, having longer stage pipes allows for it, Only Media encoding functions benefit from it, also alot of heat comes from them, look at Core i* and Pentium 4/ Pentium D
     
    phanbuey says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page