1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX 4100 -Unlocked to 8-Cores?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Super XP, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Is this possible? Somebody on newegg posted that he managed to unlock all 8 cores in the FX 4100. Some other site claims that you are more likely to unlock these into 6 cores vs. 8 cores due to the large 8MB of L3 cache. Can anybody varify this? Or do we have a hidden GEM :eek:

    LINKS:
    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103996&Tpk=AMD%20FX-4100
    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=690548
    http://www.techjamaica.com/forums/showthread.php?103987-Unlocking-the-AMD-FX-4100-CPU-to-8-Cores


     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
    nt300 says thanks.
  2. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    I have no idea if that's true or not but I have to say that I admire your faith in Bulldozer's ability to be a good chip. I don't share it, but I admire it.
     
    Riotpump, qubit, Daimus and 2 others say thanks.
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Uhm the person who claims to have unlocked it isn't a verified owner...
    I call BS on this...and this thread...Sorry it's getting Pathetic.
     
  4. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    What's getting pathetic?

    Do you mean talking about bulldozer is pathetic? Just curious what you mean exactly
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I have FX-4100. Wil ltry a few boards and see. So far though, no such luck.
     
  6. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I wonder if we can find detailed design schematic of the FX 4100, it may very well be an 8-core Bulldozer but either 2 full modules are turned off or fused off.
     
  7. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,559 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,128
    Location:
    Mexico
    It is a good chip. Not as good as people wanted it to be, though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    In comparison to what?
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Phenom II X4...:roll:
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  10. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    nt300 says thanks.
  11. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    So you think your 4100 can take the old trusty Phenom II do ya?

    Price/performance is horrible in comparison to what's out there. Even at MSRP.
     
  12. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    I don't think it could. 2 Modules < 4 Dedicated Cores.
     
  13. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    True. And you can find cheaper Phenom II x4s.
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Um, no. My A8-3850 is by far faster than my FX-4100, and both chips cost the same. It's a farce, as the A8-3850 ALSO has a GPU...But the 8150 from a 955BE, say, is a worthy upgrade, for sure.


    FX-4100 is a complete waste of silicon with PhenomII chips still on the market. Like, I dunno what to do, review-wise...I am frantically exploring options, TBH.

    That said, it's not all that bad..it's just that there is better for the same $$$.
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  15. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    It's sad. Llano should not be outperforming their high end chips. I still don't understand why they bothered releasing it.

    I'm also looking at this strictly for gaming, and an 8150 wouldn't be much of an upgrade for me.
     
  16. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Now that I don't think so. I agree they are overpriced right now, but at MSRP for the FX 4100 at $119, you can't beat that, add a good affordable AM3+ mobo and some nice $99 of 8GB Ram and you got yourself a nice gaming rig on the cheap that will gain you great OC'ing and above average gaming performance within a Real World Environment. Oh and include budget graphics card, perhaps a HD 6870.
    Anyhow, what do you guys think about my previous post? 8MB of L3 cache feeding off 4 cores/2 modules?
     
    nt300 says thanks.
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    They had to do something with the chips that failed as 8150, 8120, and FX-6100, so it seems that yeilds on these chips are not too great since FX-4100 is so bad.


    Gaming, we have one user on the TS daily who went from 955 to 8150, got 10 FPS in BF3. that's nice.

    You clearly do not have one of these chips.

    I'm glad I do not base my purchasing decisions on info you give, otherwise, I'd be pretty pissed at you, and hunting you down for revenge. Please do not make such false claims, because that's exactly what they are, false. I can post up the benchmarks to prove it, if you like.:roll:
     
    driver66 says thanks.
  18. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    That's nice, but it doesn't compare with the jump I'll get from Ivy if Piledriver is more of the same. I'm not upgrading until then.

    The 955be is only $5 more than that and the 830 is $25 less.

    AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 ...
    AMD Phenom II X4 830 Deneb 2.8GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cac...
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure. Point remains though.

    I do not think it has a place in the upgrade market, but in a new PC, no worries. If you like to OC, for hte fun, then it's good.


    BD isn't bad..just overhyped, and poorly marketed. We already know this as fact.
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  20. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Holding onto hope that these chips will be more than they are....I understand Super Xp's hope but these just aren't what they could've or should've been...Like Erocker said These chips aren't an upgrade they are a sidegrade.

    Are they garbage? no
    Are they worth upgrading from the previous generation? NO
    Is another thread about these turds that could give false hope to some unsuspecting person based on a rumor from an unverified owner of a Newegg review worth it? Hell Effing NO! :shadedshu

    Get one shred of evidence and then the thread is worth having...Until then what's the point? other than being a Pathetic waste of time.

    Sorry but people know that Some AMD chips can unlock and People respect TPU and crap like this finds it's way into Google searches and then someone makes a decision based on some undying Fanboi boys hope that his brand didn't just release a turd...Pathetic is what this thread is and it should be closed and Super XP should be Banned if he starts one more of these stupid BD thread...nuff said


    and look what comes up in a Google search Look at the first find
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
  21. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    You bet I don't, though I plan on getting either the 6-core or the 8-core when the price is right. Also I really don't need to have this chip to give info about it out. All I need to do is browse the internet and find sites like newegg/amazon and read real "Positive Reviews" from people. These positive reviews "Greatly" outmatch any negativity about these chips. So by you telling people that this chip sucks is complete rubbish despite the fact you own the chip or not. What you are doing is expressing your own opinion and that is fine.

    Also there's is a place for synthetic benchmarks, but they are not perfect.

    Anyway this is suppose to be a thread about AMD FX 4100 -Unlocked to 8-Cores? :laugh:
     
    nt300 says thanks.
  22. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    6 cores maybe but all 8 cores, I doubt, just because there is a reason they are locked.
     
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Gosh they're cute...
     
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, and the post of your that I responded to had nothing do do with that, now did it. ;)

    I'm not just expressing my personal opinion, but also my professional one. ;) I didn't pay for the chip, the site you are posting on here did, so really, cost doesn't matter to me..performance does, and the FX-4100 lacks performance in a large way. There's not a single point where there is any real reason to buy one of these chips, as there are better, cheaper, and faster options, even from AMD themselves.

    Now, if these chips DID unlock, or some board out there supported it...then maybe...maybe, it might be a good deal, but...no such luck. These chips, suck, whether you want to admit that or not. Personally, doesn't matter to me one bit if they are good or not, especially when I'm not paying for them.
     
  25. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Agreed, BD was a spectacular fail bear.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page