1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz - "Piledriver" for AMD Socket AM3+

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by cadaveca, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    Same compiler different benchmarks one is testing single IPC the other is testing true multithreading. You wear your blue ones like a champ.
  2. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    There has to be some balance to the force bubba... I really feel, the green team, at the slightest smell of blue, sure does get their hackles up in a hurry and most of the time for little reason. Seems like beaten wife syndrome... flinching all the time for little reason, LOL!

    And BULLSHIT do I wear blue glasses...Im just trying to get to the bottom of this but its tough with the incessant pissing contests some people present, ya know? Im looking for knowledge and explanation, and right now, all I see due to lack of knowledge (on my end), are two different benchmarks using two different options and I have no idea why... Do you? Can you explain it please instead of leaving a cliff hanger for those that dont know? What if you used option a on bench B and option b on bench a?

    Thanks.
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
  3. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    I honestly don't wear green ones. As we post away I am finishing up my Intel box. It does play games better so I am bringing it with me on this deployment. Most games are still heavily single IPC. AMD does perform better in encoding as I said before it lacks in games, but is still able to produce more than 60FPS at normal resolutions. So that makes it your choice. Do you want more FPS that you cannot see on the vast majority of monitors or do you want higher performance when you do encoding?
  4. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    That didnt answer the questions I had above... at all. LOL!
    os2wiz says thanks.
  5. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    Skimmed the post and missed it. They use different options to force single core usage vs multithreading.
  6. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Keep going... that doesnt explain why it matters within this context...please dont make me extract the information. If you dont know what it does, you dont know... :confused:

    I mean single threaded bench, single threaded option.. multi = multi... where is the problem????????????????????????
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (7.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,980
    Location:
    some AF base
    There is no problem. I was simply pointing out he introduced no new information everyone reading this thread knows that Intel exceeds in single IPC while AMD exceeds in multithreading so why bother posting yet another benchmark that shows the same thing. May as well go back to the review from [H] and look at hyperpi.
  8. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    Huh, my english must be getting rusty(native speaker, LOL!)... seemed like you thought it was a problem.....

    NOt knowing most of what that was, further explanation was warranted to clarify your meaning. ;)
  9. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,263 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    Some people might want both. And as for true multithreading for encode:
    [​IMG]
    I'd also note that the newer build of x264 actually improves IB in relation to PD... by 7% on the first pass and 0.5% on the second pass...so much for progress, eh!
    ...and H.264 just for a comparison
  10. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Once again it shows the FX-8350 does very well.
  11. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Correctamon, Gaston.

    I decided I'm canceling the preorder I put in with BLT. They cxhanged the expected arrival date of the processors in their warehouse from 11/02/12 to 11/24/12. That means I would not get it until just before December 1. That was just to much. It also means , not only are they near the bottom of the supply chain, but the processor is selling out very fast from the preferred large vendors like Newegg (not available now), Amazon ( not available now), and Tiger Direct. Earlier in the Day Tiger Direct had the price at 229.00 up $10. I checked a couple of hours ago it was available again and the price was back to $219.00. I broke down and ordered it, even though that price rubs me the wrong way. From what I can read the market , the supply chain will not be saturated for at least 3-4 more weeks. That means pricing will not drop for another month. Couldn't wait that long. I paid as few extra to get it second day. Should have it by next Wednesday. Hopefully bios 1703 for Crosshairs V will be stable. I had some blue screens with it when I first installed it. I adjusted some memory timings and I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
  12. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    What I would do is keep your setup at its default speed such as your ram until you get your FX-8350. I know for a fact the Crosshair V Fornula setz your ram speed wrong when yu leave it on auto for some reason.
    os2wiz says thanks.
  13. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I relaxed the second, third, and fourth values in my docp profile. it seems a lot better now.
    I did run a bunch of benchmarks and it didn't crash.


    By the way I have a Gigabyte Radeon 6950 2 gigabyte graphics card. About 6 months ago I decided to load a program that said it would unlock unused shaders and essentially convert the card to a 6970. Of course this was done with modding the bios. They asked me to save the old bios and I opted to save it. I never noticed any real gain from the modding but I had some issues with crashes in games I used.. But now of course I have a generic AMD bios . Giagabyte has a utility to flash the bios with any updates, but of course now it does not recognize my card. I used that modding utility to restore it back to 6950 and it used a generic 6950 bios instead of restoring the original bios I thought I had saved. Do you think there is any way Gigabyte would help me restore my Gigabyte bios?
  14. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Personally, no and the reason is I had mobo issues with them such as a bad bios chip and there customer support along with the tech support sucked big time. That was a while back.

    What I would do is create a new thread on this Site and ask for assistance. There's many here that are very experienced in this sort of thing. :)
  15. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Well it appears the Korean got all 8 cores up to over 8 GHZ. That is unheard of. Had over 1.8 volts on the cpu core. BD could never do that. This chip is much better than people are aware of. It needs to improve architecturally for the next release and I believe it will. Early sales of this cpu are very good. That is why the price has not really come down near MSRP. Both Amazon and Newegg are sold out as of yesterday. The various areas which AMD is branching out to will bring in revenue and stop the financial hemorrhaging. I see a better future for cpu enthisiasts who want real competition, lower prices , better product, and BETTER software as well that leverages the true capabilites of all these multicore cpus whether Intel or AMD.
  16. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Well that beaten wife has reason to flinch she never knows when that drunken sot husband will inflict bodily harm or death upon her. That is not paranoia but healthy reflexive caution.
  17. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,920 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    812
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    What is with this domestic abuse talk. You guys beat your wives or something.

    I just had a friend have to leave her husband for that so try to keep in mind it is a horrible act and may be distasteful to trivialize it in a public forum.

    AMD is looking a little better but still behind in many ways. I don't think they will stay in the race long enough to catch up. It' sad but it looks like it's true.
    os2wiz says thanks.
  18. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Thanks I'll survive with the generic bios on this website that I flashed. By the way I believe I mentioned that I've had afair number of blue screens. With about 3 different reasons and some with no reason given. I read a post somewhere on this site that somebody had an issue with my model Corsair psu that caused them to get blips or spikes and they went and bought a Kingwin. Si I ordered one from outletpc.com . A Kingwin LSP 650w psu with platinum certification. It has great reviews on many web sites and was well worth the extra money over a Corsair. it is extremel;y efficient , uses a lot less power, and is whisper quiet. I believe this will solve many of the bluescreen problems I have experienced.The current psu is about 2 1/2 years old and may be seeing a slow march downward to end of life. My power should be spike free and save juice as well. Cost $169.99 and free slow shipping. Man I am getting very excited by Wednersday I will have my rejuvenated rig up with H100 Corsair liquid cooler and the new CPU. The Kingwin psu probably will arrive the following week. But that is ok with me.
    The more news we hear day by day brings greater reassurance that thFX-8350 will be the beginning of AMD's transformation and an end of the hemorrhaging in the desktop cpu market. I beleive their CEO in spite of these brutal layoffs will position AMD to be able to start rehiring people in another year.
  19. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Not at all. My wife is a tough cookie with a heart of gold. I just was showing that the beaten wife syndrome was incorrectly described by our friend. I understood his intent , but he expressed it somewhat incongruously. I am just nit picking. Just showing the old man's mind is a lot sharper than some people think.
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,582 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Please use the "multi-quote" button when you want to quote multiple people.

    Thanks! :)
    os2wiz says thanks.
  21. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Yes , now I know why you have that there!! You learn something new every day!
  22. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    BD could do that the same way, FYI. (Speaking of volages).

    I think only a few boards can disable these modules, unlike BD where most can. So that is part of the reason why you see scaling with as many cores its pssible they dont have a board that can disable it in the first place. If one disables them, I would bet you can see upper 8Ghz range like you did with BD when it had modules disabled. BD, good chips, can bench in to upper 7Ghz with all modules enabled I believe (of course this is under LN2 or greater).
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
    os2wiz says thanks.
  23. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Most if not all Socket AM3+ boards can disable modules. What I am looking for is the ability to disables individual cores within modules. I want to bench 4 cores via 4 modules versus 2 modules w/ 4 cores. The problem is so far beta bioses have this ability, but are not 100% optimised or stable.

    I believe the 4 cores via 4 modules would outperform 4 cores via 2 modules especially with Piledriver CPU's.
    os2wiz says thanks.
  24. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    This is certainly true. Said solution would provide the floating-point performance of at least an FX8, with the performance elsewhere of at least an FX4.

    I see no reason to suspect why this is especially true of Piledriver.

    I would be intrigued as to the power consumption of such an endeavour.
    os2wiz says thanks.
  25. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,165 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    631
    For BD (like I specifically mentioned).

    I believe (someone correct me if I am wrong), not all boards with Vishera/PD in them can do that yet??? BIOS updates are needed on some boards. I read that in one of the 8GHz articles IIRC.
    os2wiz says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page