1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX-8350 4.0 GHz - "Piledriver" for AMD Socket AM3+

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by cadaveca, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Most of what you're talking about is Opteron/enterprise/MCMs. Sure, there was a bulldozer>piledriver>steamroller roadmap, but that related to micro-architecture, not necessarily how AMD implemented it.
     
  2. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Vishera, Vishera 2.0, Viperfish, Trinity, Trinity 2.0, Kaveri say otherwise.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  3. darkangel0504

    darkangel0504

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    94 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    will steamroller support AM3+ ?
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,959 (11.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Trinity, Trinity 2.0, Kaveri are not CPUs, they're APUs. My original assertion was that I don't see AMD client CPUs in the future, I only see APUs and enterprise CPUs. Never heard of Vishera 2.0. The only client product roadmaps we're seeing relate to APUs.
     
  5. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    Steamroller will support AM3+ in form of Orochi Rev E. much like Thuban in the Phenom II era. The true Steamroller CPU Viperfish won't be shown till 2014. The reasons I believe it was delayed is that it is going to use 22-nm node/28-nm interconnect FinFETs much like how 14-XM uses the 14-nm node/20-nm interconnect.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  6. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,739 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,949
    Fixed the link. I would not consider side/upgrading right now. My 2500k is plenty right now. I just am... I don't know... Just curious as to what amd has compared to what I got. I do the same comparisons to higher up intel cpus to.

    Thats because this base architecture was primarily designed for servers right? The way you put it, it sounds like an easy fix.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  8. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,892 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Its nice to finally see what PD can do.
     
  9. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    The fix was to get rid of the L3 all together and simply use the L2.

    Trinity: 4MB of L2(2 * 2)
    Kaveri: 8MB of L2(4 * 2)
    Orochi: 8MB of L2 + 8MB of L3 = 16 MB of total cache(2 * 4 + 2 * 4)
    Viperfish: 20 MB of L2(4 * 5)

    So, far there is two modes based on the slides for Kaveri and Viperfish:
    High Performance mode
    Low Performance mode

    HPM -> Full 20/8 MB of L2 @ 32 - 40 cycles of latency
    LPM -> Half 10/4 MB of L2 @ 16 - 20 cycles of latency

    This way it can appease both server workloads and mainstream workloads. The cache is completely unified as well so all cores can access the L2.
     
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    You go on with the speculation about processors 2 and 3 years away Seronx. I am going to turn off my FX-8350 and go to sleep.
     
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,125 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    This is not on topic. PLease feel free to start a new thread for your discussion outside of the FX-8350. Thanks.
     
  12. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    FX-8350 does a good job it continues the trend.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  13. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Ta, yea i wouldn't either if i was in your shoes. I just did a number count using guru3d's review with the 2600K vs the FX-8350 (minus the gaming results) and it was a tie, so in my books that's a win, or should i say what Bulldozer should of been in the first place.
     
    WarEagleAU and Lionheart say thanks.
  14. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,077 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Aaaww hells yeah bro:toast: looks like we both know what our new platform is going to be:rockout:

    Btw I was hoping you would be on steam so I could spam you with AMD news :roll:
     
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    2500K is a dead ship and won't be sold for much longer so that's not a very good comparison you should compare with the 3570K.
     
  16. HumanSmoke

    HumanSmoke

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,536 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    The load power consumption figures seem all over the place.

    PC Perspective: 15.3% worse than FX-8150
    eTeknix: 5.9% worse than FX-8150
    X-bit : 3.9% worse than FX-8150
    TechSpot: 0.8% worse than FX-8150
    Tech Report and Extreme Tech: 0% difference
    Hardware Heaven: 0.4% better than FX-8150
    Hexus: 1.6% better than FX-8150
    Anandtech: 2% better than FX-8150
    Hardware Canucks: 3.2% better than FX-8150
    Hot Hardware: 4.7% better than FX-8150
    [H]OCP: 4.8% better than FX-8150
    Tom's Hardware: 5.8% better than FX-8150
    Legit Reviews: 7.4% better than FX-8150
    TechPowerUp: 20.9% better than FX-8150

    The median/mean seem ballpark near enough the same for both SKU's, but the range is pretty damn loose.
     
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    In the summary it says 3770K costs almost twice as much. 8350 is pitted against the 3570K FYI not the 3770K.
     
  18. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    2600K is old news and going buh bye.
     
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,125 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Explained above. But...meh.

    are the scores for all sites relatively the same?
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Should I continue or do you get the picture? System power consumption is done at the wall so any variation in the system can give wildly different power consumption.
     
  21. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I'm not sure how they managed to get the power consumption up that much, to that means their is a flaw in their capacitors making they draw too much.
     
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,125 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure, but if all you are doing is swapping the CPU...

    interesing, to say teh least.. I wonder how people are doing OC-wise and such too...

    THe difference is probably in how those numbers were TESTED, not the CONFIGURATIONS.
     
  23. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    :laugh: ive already got most of mine here, just waiting for the dam CPU :p

    :roll: Yea i knew you would do that if i was on steam, to busy working to be able to play games today :ohwell:
     
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Even within each CPU power consumption varies wildly. Look at your own Intel chips in comparison to anyone elses. A high volt 8350 will make a low volt 8150 look way better than two low volt chips.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,125 (4.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,327
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure, and again, I seem to be doing far better, I think. :p

    :roll:

    Anyway, I just got one board here tested 8350, then tested the 8150, waited for BIOS, got BIOS, retested 8150, then retested 8350.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page