1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX Cooling Recommendations

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Roph, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    380 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    So I just recently built an AMD FX system, FX-8320, 970-DS3 board, Antec 300 v2 case.

    [​IMG]

    The stock cooler does its job ok, though when pushing the CPU it quickly sounds a little too close to a jet engine for my comfort :laugh:

    I have to admit that before building this system I didn't keep up much with stuff like cooling, so I'm quite surprised to see how popular closed loop watercooling setups are. Are any of you guys running similar systems to me and have any advice for quieter cooling?

    I'm guessing a lowly Corsair H40 isn't beefy enough to dump the 100W+ potential coming off the FX. What are you guys using?

    I'm also a little confused that wherever I look, I can't find specs for closed loop systems that tell the average/expected wattage of heat disspiation.
     
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    depends what you going to do. Looks like your good with stock cause you did not specify
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,117 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,315
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I would look into the H80i. Do you want to overclock? Or do you just want quieter cooling, while also keeping the temperatures in check?
     
  4. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    380 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    I'd like to do both ;)

    Only had the CPU a few days, but I've got it up to 4.5ghz stable (from 3.5ghz stock) without upping voltage. The stock cooler screams like a mother though when pushing it that fast, and it gets close to 65C. For now I'm sticking to 4Ghz.
     
  5. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,643 (3.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,831
    Whats your budget? If its low get a hyper 212 evo. It will do a pretty darn good job. If you want something more an h80i would be a great choice.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    380 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    What do you guys think about the Antec Kuhler 620? That and the Corsair H55/H60 seem alright. I'd prefer not to be spending more than £50. The H80i seems a little overkill.
     
  7. ZetZet

    ZetZet

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    185 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lithuania
    I wouldn't buy little water cooling loops, big chunky air cooler is better on budget imo.
    I'm also thinking about building fx rig too, since haswell disappointed me. :D
     
  8. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    If you plan to OC I would look into a heatsink for you VRM's

    Also, the CM Hyper 212 is a great Air Cooler if you don't want to drop too much $
     
  9. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If you like something mid-way, the Silverstone Argon AR03(TechpowerUp review) might be for you. Its an air cooler, not really as expensive as most closed loop coolers, fairly quiet and the performance is exceptional for an air cooler for that money.

    Its a bit like the cooler master evo 2.0, a bit more expensive, but also just as quiet, and has more cooling capacity.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2013
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,117 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,315
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I would definitely have to agree with this. That Antec 620 unit would do the job, but you should really put money towards a board for decent VRM cooling, or if you can find heatsinks to throw on the VRMs, but a better board with better power delivery, and board cooling would be better.
     
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,742 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,851
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
  12. pigulici

    pigulici

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    442 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Romania
    At my Fx I use Noctua NH-D14, but it have a premium price, so you must tell us the amount of money you want to spend on cooling...
     
  13. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    My FX-8350 is happily cooled by my Cooler Master 212 EVO :)
     
  14. sttubs

    sttubs

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    I'm using an H70 with my 1090t & love it. The newer H60 (WW model) should be good enough for stock to a mild overclock. But if you're looking to get the most out of your cpu then H80i is the way to go. Which ever cooler you decide on I strongly suggest using two fans in a push/pull configuration. And you definitely need VRM cooling, I'm quite surprised that there is no heatsink on that board.
     
  15. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    There is no need to cool the VRM's if your pulling 4.5GHz on stock voltage
     
  16. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293




    that's a gig overclock on stock volts? on top of that a stock cooler? with a motherboard that doesn't have heatsinked vrms and 4+1vrm phase design....

    I think youre mobos throttling your voltage so to give a false positive.....


    https://spreadsheets.google.com/spr...D79Joo7tdE9xMUFlMEVWeFhuckJEVF9aMmtpUFE&gid=3


    im getting a h100 probably and that's the least it needs to keep temps reasonable at 1.5vcore and above....
     
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Yes, I agree. Run prime 95 and see if it is throttling down. FX processors does this. Good call.
     
  18. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    and run hwinfo64 at the same time.... watch core frequencies.

    i got a feeling @4.6 itll be jumping between 4.6 and 3.3

    your volts will also be jumping..


    if im wrong, your cpu can do a 1000mhz @ 1.3** vcore, and probably oc to infinite and beyond..
     
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Correctamundo Fonzerelli
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  20. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    I tried to OC yesterday... 4.5GHz at stock voltage of my FX-8350 (usually a 4.0GHz CPU)... it worked until I opened Prime95 then the computer crashed.
    I guess that chpiset just can't handle the overclocking. My motherboard is ASRock 970 Extreme3.
    After going back to stock clocks it's working perfectly :)
     
  21. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,761 (5.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293

    or lack of core voltage, if you bumped it up one or two then maybe prime wouldnt of crashed. (but make sure you know what youre doing first)
     
  22. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Mmmk, I'm just suggesting the OP not try to overclock on that 970 motherboard. I think a 990FX would be a good improvement.
     
    d1nky says thanks.
  23. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    You can overclock 970 motherboards. They will not overclock as high as 990FX boards. For example, on a Phenom II when they came out, I reached 4.679GHz on Asus 970 board and 4.719GHz on 990 Asus board. Please note: these were high overclocks not stressed plus under water...... Where FX chip plays in, I don't know but 970 boards are very overclockable.... On air, I got 4.4GHz easily.Another note, Asus uses 6+2 power phase so his board may not be as good but I would place $ I could hit 4.4Ghz on air with a PII with his board. FX may be a tad different.... but they overclock better than P II's


    http://www.pureoverclock.com/Review-detail/asus-m5a97-evo-and-m5a99x-evo/13/
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2013
  24. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    I have my FX 6300 OC'd from 3.5 to 4.2 on air.

    The chip is @ 1.3 volts and passes Prime95 and OCCT with zero errors.

    I am doing this on an ASrock 970 Extreme 4

    Yes, you can OC on a 970 board :)
     
  25. TheTechWard

    TheTechWard New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hellbourne, Australia
    I Run a Coolermaster V8 fan.. it performs excellent and looks damn cooL!!
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page