1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX, FM1 or X6 ???

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Krazy Owl, Jan 12, 2012.

  1. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I would like to buy a cheap rig with onboard videocard for an home computer and some games like Battlefield 2 multiplayer and even maybe Battlefield 3. I'm not often at home due to work so should I go with the FX+onboard for newer power, the x6+ onboard video or the FM1 for only one cpu+video crd on one chip?

    Why and what?

    Thx!
     
  2. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,015 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,264
    If you're not home often I would say get a good laptop, gaming on the go ftw?
     
  3. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Gaming at work near a mine in the north with satellite telecom sucks. Telephone, TV and internet by satellite...with snowstorms sucks. :p So I will build a home computer so I can enjoy for cheap when I go back home.
     
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    This what consoles are for . Get an Xbox or Wii .
     
    twicksisted says thanks.
  5. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,265 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    965
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Not unless you want all the goodness of a PC with the ability for an easy upgrade later.

    I think if you went either with the FX or X6 you would be fine, both do more than well for games.

    I'm not sure about the FM1 though, never really looked into it seriously.
     
  6. iKhan

    iKhan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    210 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    For BF3 an X6 + onboard video won't cut it...or any onboard for that matter.

    I would go with a X6 and a 990FX board. We all know the Phenom platform is better, I think AMD will get Piledriver right. If you go with a 990FX board and Piledriver is good, you'll be ready for it.


    You're gonna need a discrete GPU for BF3. You can choose that based on your budget. 560 Ti would be more than adequate.
     
  7. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,166 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    FM1 has stronger IGP than any other company, FM1 has a stronger Memory Controller than AM3/AM3+. AM3+ However leaves you room to upgrade your CPU, FM1 future is blurred compared to AM3+, You however will want atleast a 6770 to Play BF3, COD, MOH, GR pretty much. If you decide to get FM1 you can always test the IGP and see for yourself and then add the video card...

    HIS IceQ Turbo H677QNT1GD Radeon HD 6770 1GB 128-b...

    MSI R6770 Twin Frozr II/OC Radeon HD 6770 1GB 128-...

    SAPPHIRE Vapor-X 100328VXL Radeon HD 6770 1GB 128-...

    Computer Hardware, Video Cards & Video Devices, D...

    Computer Hardware, Video Cards & Video Devices, D...

    Computer Hardware, Video Cards & Video Devices, D...
     
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,514 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    as far as FM1 goes... i'd wait for trinity. (the next gen AMD APUs)

    otherwise, a 3.4ish+ AMD quad (phenom II or FX) and at least a 6770 for BF3.
     
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    This all depends on your expected upgrade path and what resolution/graphic settings you want from something like BF3.

    If you are going to game with on-board GPU then FM1 is really the only option. The IGP for the A8 APUs is the equivalent of a HD 6550. No and I mean no on-board or on-die IGP will come close. With the 6550D you could play BF3 on low settings maybe. Older games should run great.

    For future upgrades the A8-3870K is an unlocked chip that you can OC to at least 3.8 GHz. As a quad core with AMD's new memory controller, it should work well with any GPU up to a ATI HD 6950 or Nvidia GTX 570 without bottlenecking it one bit.

    Now, like everyone else said, if you are serious about an "AMD Gaming Rig" you need to plan on getting a 900 Series mobo with an FX-8000 chip. If need to game right now, you could get a cheap dedicated card around $65 for now to get by as any dedicated card would be better than a mobo's on-board IGP.
     
  10. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I like the HIS icy blue look and would buy that for Asus mobo with blue stuff on it but I will give a try to FM1. I've seen a black and white fm1 mobo so I would like to see for black and white design for videocard in case I upgrade the video. I wanna go classic black and white ..no neons and stuff. Thx :)
     
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,360 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,032
    All the above CPUs are plenty. Personally I would go for the FX Bulldozer 8 core as it's better equipped for upcoming games.

    But your main issue is GPU, onboard won't cut it for gaming. You want a minimum of the 6850 or GTX 560 for some titles (BF3) if you're planning on maxing out the visuals and resolution.
     
  12. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    737 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Get an AMD APU and later add a video card. For the money, nothing comes close if there will be gaming.
     
  13. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    For now I will only be building a small rig using onboard vid and a 42 inches 1080p tv to play Battlefield 2 at max resolution and settings. Later on i could buy Battlefield 3 and an add-on video card. It's my plan but for now im stuck with a 32" CRT so it need to move out ! Bang fr the buck is then a FM1. For video it supposed to be better than an AM3 bu the CPU is better on cache with AM3 I suppose. Its been a long time that ive now built my own rig (3years) so Im counting on your advices :)
     
  14. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,483 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    611
    Location:
    Manchester uk

    this guys actually read OP( he hints at value of it) so im with him get an 3870APU an FM1 and later add a 6770 which will hybrid xfire with the APU giving you a capable 800 shader gfx solution ,for cheap:)

    i think i may have 6770 wrong as you specificully have to gey a similar gpu to the apus, gpu part, so it may be a lower version in order to xfire it, thinkin 6570 but unsure
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
    More than 25k PPD
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,166 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    Ya its pretty much hybrid crossfire. However the Apus are pretty capable
     
  16. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    i would recommend an x6 with atleast a 6770 for mid range performance. 40-50 fps in Bf3. Or go for the Sleeper and get an x4 925. Easily OC to 3.6 on air if you get a C3 revision. i played bf3 on my HD5770 and it did a good job. 40-50 fps, higher in some areas. the PII x4 925 is a great little CPU and its only 95$ atm on Newegg. And you can find a 5770 or 6770 for about 100-120$ pair it up with a 770/rx780 AMD MoBo, 8 gigs of Corsair Vengeance, and you have yourself a nice midrange gaming rig. If you dont want the older tech (5770-6770) id wait for the 7 series (7770). it should put a hurt on the 6770's i believe they are rumored to have 140 more SPU's then the 57xx-67xx. and more head room for overclocking. Total cost 310$ (95$Cpu--120$V-card-45$RAM-50$MoBo)


    Also i ran my 5770/Quad core on an old 230 watt PSU for a while. my computer pulls around 150-200 watts at max load on GPU/CPU.
    So if your using an old PSU, 400 watts would probably be more then enough.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  17. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13


    the 3870k has AMD Radeon HD 6550D---you can xfire with a 65xx series only. a 6770 will not X-fire with a 3870k. Unless they changed something.
     
  18. Suhidu

    Suhidu

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    163 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    Actually, you can crossfire with up to a 6670 according to AMD.com.
     
  19. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    ahh yes. my bad
     
  20. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    I'm not a pro but I think that even with a x-fie 65XX you could whip some asses. The problem I think is that I'm gonna use the HDMI port on a new TV I wil buy so I wont be able to crossfire anyway. I'll gonna buy a kick ass vid card with hdmi port when ill feel the need for more demanding game.
     
  21. Horrux

    Horrux

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Messages:
    737 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    You can crossfire over HDMI, no problem. That option remains open to you for a future upgrade, if for some reason a kick ass card isn't in the cards when you need it... :)
     
  22. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,360 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,032
    If you are talking about the original BF2 the 65xx will be fine.

    But if you are talking about BF: Bad company 2, forget it.
     
  23. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    ohio
    i thought about the fm1 myself...but with the trinity apu around the corner and rumored to be fm2 i would hold off just a bit until the specs for trinity are known to ensure future motherboard compatability.....
     
  24. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I played BFBC2 with just the A6-3650 (the 6530D IGP) on medium settings at around 38 FPS average. It felt sluggish, but it was playable. Using the CrossfireX and an HD 6670 I was able to get a solid 45 to 50 FPS with no sluggishness on medium with 4x AF and 2x AA.

    You over estimate BFBC2.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  25. BeepBeep2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    236 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    AM3+ has the best IMC, BD breaking WRs for memory frequency.

    FM2 is right around the corner, Trinity will bring 30% GPU improvement and 15% CPU improvement so I suggest he waits 3 months for AMD's upcoming APUs.

    There is a lot of misinformation in this thread, like overclocking 3870K to 3.8 GHz,...Llano will only do about 3.4-3.5 24/7.
    If you really want to, I think your best choice is FM1 (2850?) + 6570/6670 as a cheap solution. CPU won't be all that strong but it will play most new games at medium settings 60FPS+ without any hassle as long as you keep down AA/AF to 2x.

    You can use HDMI with crossfire.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page