1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,054 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Thats not bad, you gained about 14C advantage in load temps. Time for moar Mhz! :rockout:

    I found my 8320 to run stable @ 4 Ghz with just 1.26v and showing 46C on core under full load. Going to find how low I can go on the volts!
  2. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,775 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,304
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am running right around 45c under load. I am also on air with a Hyper 212+ in push pull.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,054 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I thought u got ur water cooler!
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  4. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    919 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    Crosshair V is EOL (End of Live) so it might be the last anyway
  5. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Gay and the ch4 seemed to get more updates its a few years old max damn it.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    My 5ghz run is a chvf you don't need a new bios for 9 series chip.
  7. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,775 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,304
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Not yet but I may have something in the works:toast::toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,382 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,121
    I'll be interested to see what you can coax out of the UD3. It'll at least give me an idea of what to expect from this UD5 when I finally have time to sit and clock it.
  9. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,775 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,304
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    4.4 seemed to easy for it. So we will see. I may have to up the cooling on the vrm's. Mine is the 1.1 rev. The 4.0 rev and Ud5/Ud7 boards would be a better candidate for extreme oc'ing. But I have a ideal on mosfet cooling and may do something better for the northbridge.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,054 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    The stupid Northbridge heatsink is a cheap ass wiggly one same as my 970-UD3, I changed the hs to small vga cooler with a fan on it, its much better, runs cool. I also put a small fan on the VRM sink.
    ThE_MaD_ShOt and Random Murderer say thanks.
  11. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    I just want a new bios dude im not getting a 9 anyway but I feel there is still room for improvement and I told asus rep so btw he at no point mentioned eol to me or anyone but hey its no biggie its working after all.
  12. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    749 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    No worries D1nky wnjoy it while it lasts. I've got this thing straightened out finally so in time they will be mine again :nutkick:
    Just have to get my benching OS's all straightened out. I've been kicking my buddy around over at OCF in the monthly challenge, UCBench all CPU got a 1827.2 and still have a fall back:cool:
  13. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    190 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    If they even added the latest errata/AGESA that would be something.
  14. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    ive never done UCbench, will do tomorrow or tonight.

    theres a few you've got from me wprime1024 and superpi32m I want back!

    I managed to bench at the weaker tests with 5.6ghz 1.72v but I had to drop my cpunb volts low to allow the vcore to go higher.

    http://hwbot.org/submission/2425522_d1nky_superpi___1m_fx_8350_13sec_400ms

    I don't think many have pushed the boundaries of h20 lol
  15. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,382 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,121
    Damn nice run!
    Did you use the piledriver fix? It'll shave some time off.
  16. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,054 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    This issue is still there, after resuming from S3 sleep if I run IBT test I see the board throttles the CPU frequency. But after a restart no issue.

    Anybody has similar issue?
  17. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    749 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Nice you really smoked me on that one. I'm patient though D1nky and a man of my word.:D
  18. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    yea that was with the patch, the amount of time it takes off :D

    you have to be patient, I haven't benched for a bit properly. life is starting to get back on track as been laid off work for a bit. so hopefully I can up my game soon ;)

    I could of done better on that run tbh, but was trying to hit both 1M and 32M with the same config and couldn't get a full 32m :(

    so johan apart from 6350 what else you bench?
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,382 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,121
    Alright guys, I found the perfect fan for my UD5's VRM heatsink. The twin fan unit(two 70mm fans in a single, oval shroud) from the original "fat" Xbox 360 fits perfectly between the backs of the I/O ports and the back of the Xig Aegir. Once it's properly wired with a cable that's long enough, I'll put it over the heatsink and hopefully find the time to clock this beast.
    For those unfamiliar with the internals of the fat 360, you can see the fans clearly in the back of this pic from PCPer. I would have taken a pic of the one I had lying around, but I can't be arsed to, lol.
  20. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    I found the high speed AMD fan to work well and the screw fits right inside the metal fins

    [​IMG]
  21. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    id use some sort of fan control on it as ive got one in the roof of my kandalf and at full tilt its sounds like a soddin turbo, works well at mid revs though:D

    my pc is lookin a bit too geto these days..
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  22. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,407 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    595
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    d1nky says thanks.
  23. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    doesn't FTW mean 'for the win'?

    fits well with that lil mod I think..
  24. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    i thought your mobo was waterblocked d1nky , your 5.5 at 1.6+ volts is highly surpriseing:eek:, have you got your base out the window;) and how many phases does the fatality mobo have pls?:)
  25. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,557 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,210
    lol no its just the same in that pic and my rigs 8-10 foot away from a window, but with the window open can get around 10*c ambients at night. sometimes I even bench with the side on :eek:

    the loop is pretty amazing tbh!

    the fatlady has 12 phases on cpu, but as johan has shown that doesn't count at all!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page