1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,836 (8.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20,247
    This is my 8350 crunching at full load at 4.4Ghz:

    Using an Asus M5A99X Evo and a Xig Nighthawk w/2 Scythe 1,500rpm fans (forgot which model)
    [​IMG]

    Maybe your board is holding you back- not really sure???
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt and suraswami say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    You CPU vCore is from 1.33 to 1.39, that's probably the reason it might be running cool. If I keep it at default 1.35v then temps seems to be much better.

    Also I am suspecting my 8320 is not a good clocker and 8350 are for a reason sold as 8350 (higher clocks at lower voltage and cooler temps)!

    May be the board is dumb too.

    Too many 'may be' nothing for sure.

    Hey you want to buy the cpu + board, I will blame it on you to buy a new set ha ha!!
     
  3. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Got the mobo today, see you all on Thursday/Friday here - i'll have screens of slightly OC'd FX-8350 on air (TR's VenomousX with AS5) here; before that - will see how high i can OC 965BE on that board.

    P.S. Crosshair V Formula-Z is the motherboard in question.
     
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    nah, just jump on to the 8350, 965 is history.
     
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,957 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,562
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yea I have heard or read that all the revisions except the 1.2 and 4 where not good for ocing. Still good boards for stock clocks.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. YautjaLord

    YautjaLord

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    660 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    lol'd

    But seriously: CVF-Z doesn't support 8350 from a go, you need to update it's BIOS 1st, eh? 965BE comes in handy. Besides, i promised the people @ Phenom II OC'ers Club to post pics of this CPU in CVF-Z OC'd, so you lost it. lol jk

    Thanx for laughs, anyway. Keep headbangin'. :rockout:
     
  7. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    862 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    One suggestion would be to try some paste other than AS5, it works but it's a bit dated and has a long curing time. I use Phobya HE grease Extreme it's a reasonable price, works well and cleans off easily which is important for me since I swap things around quite a bit.

    We've all been there Random, there's a reason I buy the parts I do ASUS, NVidia, Gskill we've all had some duds.

    Looks good Norton
     
  8. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,038 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    I am interested to see how high your 965 goes. I got to 4.1 but not fully stable on a Asrock 970 Extreme 4 with wimpy 4+1 power phase so maybe you will get north of 4.2 stable. For me, 4.0 was stable.
     
    YautjaLord says thanks.
  9. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    862 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Before you get all flash crazy with the CHV-z, I typically trey a few different older BIOS versions on my boards since newer ones typically fix certain issues or allow more compatibility which in the end hit performance in most cases. I'm Using ver.508 Beta and it rocks on my CHV-z. Works great for 965/6350/8350 and 9370.

    @Vario I managed this on the CHV-z with my 965 not stable mind you and under "good" water http://valid.canardpc.com/mfvunh
    I have a shot of Cinebench11 at 4441MHz as well http://hwbot.org/submission/2499576_johan45_cinebench_r11.5_phenom_ii_x4_965_be_5.3_points
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2014
    YautjaLord and Vario say thanks.
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    After trying Xigmatek S1283 I went back to the SilenX 4 pipe cooler. This time I took bit more time to carefully apply a very thin layer of AS5 (credit card spread method, almost like very thin film), seat the cooler properly, stick the Cougar fan for Push and the SilenX fan for pull, left the stock Aerocool 140mm rear fan and CM 120mm fan for top vent. Gaming for more than a hour - this time CPU core didn't go more than 47C (45C to 47C), 4.2Ghz with 1.41v. I will test more this evening to see if it stays the same. But great improvement so far. Hopefully after AS5 settles in I might see 2C better temps? Later in the weekend I might just replace the rear weak Aerocool fan with 140mm Cougar fan.
     
  11. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,360 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Yea! I finally retired my ddr2 rig after 4 solid years of use. I am now in the modern age with my ddr3/FX setup. I am pretty happy with my FX 6300 and Trident X bling. Info is pretty much non existent on AMD site for the FX cpu's, like volt range, temp range.
     
  12. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    862 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    You're right on the money with that one. AMD hasn't put out any "solid" info that I'm aware of. Generally 1.55v and 62c on the core is what I would recommend. I have seen many setups that go over that but ... It's your equiptment.

    @suraswami sounds like a decent improvent you got taking your time.
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Yeah I got about 10C improvement and temps seems to be steady not like before jumping all around. Hopefully it stays like that.
     
  14. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    862 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Maybe you can squeeze it for a few more Hz now that it's cooler??
     
  15. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,038 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    987
    Had no idea you could overvolt the 965 so far, I never went over 1.4v, but my temps were fine too, just an invisible wall I hit. I don't have the chip anymore (sold to my friend) so I can't really experiment further. 4.8Ghz on a Deneb is pretty awesome.
     
    Johan45 says thanks.
  16. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Sure, I can try.
     
  17. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    862 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    10° is pretty substantial. That's more power just waiting to be had.

    Well over the winter my loop does very well, I can put it outside and cool the water. Gives you a lot more freedom to play around.
     
  18. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,865 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Curently rocking my ud3 rev 4 at 4.5ghz using voltage offset to jump up to 1.36v got it stable using a mix of multi and bclk. Temps with a dk 2 nighthawk while gaming tops around 56-58c and its summer here :-( I got cnq and other saving features on so idle relaxes at 18 to 23c :-D

    stil debating on getting h100i or leave it as is at 4.5
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014
    suraswami says thanks.
  19. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    862 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Well the AIO will get you a bit more speed but I really don't think it would be worth it. One thing you can do which I have done is create a profile for gaming. I had a profile in bios that was only four cores and jacked up to almost 5.0. The majority of games can't take advantage of all the cores you have available so this will give you a bit more oomph in games that need a bit more CPU horsepower.
     
    suraswami and psyko12 say thanks.
  20. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,865 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Gonna try and play with that over the weekend. Currently have the xiggy fan only for the dk2 prolly will just add a scythe gt ap 15 on it as push and have the xiggy as pull. Or should I just get 2 scythes? Is the sniper series from g.skill ok? Planning on getting 16 gb pairs but theres a wide range of choices. Jaws (x,z's), Aries et al.
    Heard that x's and z's are more tailored for Intel and the snipers are for all around. How bout them aries' ?
     
  21. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Well played BF4 MP in the evening for few hours, temps were in the 48C range with spike to 51C, video card temp is at 69C to 71C max. So I think stronger exhaust fan will help better, I will try to work on it in the next few days.
     
  22. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    make sure both fans have similar cfm, better is matching fans.
     
    psyko12 says thanks.
  23. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    862 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    I have some G.Skill sniper 2133 which are very flexible the ares are good a well. I also have som ripjaws 1866 CL9 which work very well. Unless you're doing heavy video or other work that requires a lot of ram a 2x4 kit is plenty and a lot cheaper.



    The more air flow the better suraswami, when I still had mine in a case I had over 300 CFM moving through it.
     
    psyko12 says thanks.
  24. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,865 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Thats quite a nice range for temps. My gpu also goes around the same temp you have. But I only have the stock fan cfg of the corsair 400r. 2 front fans and 1 back exhaust all are 120 mm, dunno if I'll add 2 intakes at the side and 2 exhaust at the top... But I'll just experiment 1st so that I can still maintain positive case airflow
     
  25. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,957 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,562
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am using the Snipers in my 8350 rig. No problems so far. I am running at 4.4 with just upping the multi. I run 44c under full load. Actually right now it running 42c and it been running full load all day well it runs full load everyday 24/7.
     
    psyko12 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)

Share This Page