1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    make your own club lol.
     
  2. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,544 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    But me like this one

    :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    get an FX then :p
     
  4. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    323 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brĨko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    [​IMG]

    http://valid.x86.fr/cvjjt8
    this is what i can get right now!! i tried same oc with 1,375v and hardly get to windows!!now its on 1,4v and it seams stable!! didnt do any benchmarks..but played some game and till now no death screens or random restarts or something!!
     
  5. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,445 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Ack.
    Well, you may be able to push a bit further with some more voltage, however you'll need to keep a keen eye out for throttling. Gigabyte dropped the ball on the 3.0s and they throttle back unnecessarily as a result. I thought this one was stable at 4.6 for a while, but noticed throttling that was not due to heat. Had to drop back to 4.4 to keep all cores from throttling.
    1.4V for 4.5 is pretty damn good. 1.425ish will probably see you to 4.6. ;)
    ^This. I have mine running 2400 with 1.33V(iirc) set in BIOS. Could probably lower it a little, but meh, it's stable and in the safe zones for both heat and voltage.
     
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,544 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I do
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    You're also running a boatload of 2400 ram so I really don't think you're out of line. At first I thought it was high till I checked your ram.

    Alright I take that back, I saw the wrong rig, that looks like a killer rig by the way.
    For the FX though you could probably get away with 1.2v CPU_NB or less IMO
     
    Random Murderer says thanks.
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Question: I am running 4 x 4GB Kingston HyperX 1333 ram. For some reason my HTT clocking is not stable even at 210. I want to increase ram performance, same with NB freq. Can't get a stable one. Will 2 x 8GB solve this issue?

    Yes increased voltage on Ram, CPUNB and NB (not a whole lot, up by .25v). pump more volts?
     
  9. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,445 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    See?
    Well, thanks for the tip Johan. I'll tinker with it some more this weekend when my dad is out of the hospital. The RAM does 2133 C9 happily, just have to clock it back up.

    Thanks! It does everything I need and then some(gaming, compiling, audio editing/processing, transcoding, etc.), and the AMD rig is definitely no slouch either. Could use an upgrade in the GPU department, but considering the most GPU load that rig sees is WoW at 1680x1050, they're more than adequate.
     
  10. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    It's hard to say swami without a bit more info. 4 sticks is harder for the IMC than 2 but that's some low speed ram. What timings and volts does the ram use at stock. Also you won't need to add voltage to the NB just the CPU_NB.
    @Random Murderer
    Pushing the ram may require a few more volts to the CPU_NB but I wouldn't say over 1.25v. That 1.33v will run most of my FX CPU's close to 3000NB. Or more in the case of my 9370. One thing for sure it'll lower your temps a bit. Or alternately you could bump the nb up one more multi and see if it's stable.
     
    suraswami and Random Murderer say thanks.
  11. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,445 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    So it's within the realm of reason that I could leave it at 1.33, bump the NB to 2600(from 2400), AND set the RAM to 2133? That would net a good bit of performance considering this board has me limited to 4.4GHz. I'm not complaining, it's already zippy, but any bit helps, right?
    Temps are fine, the Xig Aegir has fans in push/pull, and there's plenty of airflow over the VRM heatsink as well as through the case.
     
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    when i took my ram from 1600 to 1866 i needed to put more volts in 1.6V instead of the stock 1.5V.
    didnt need to change anything in NB or CPUNB.

    basically i can run full stock with overclocked RAM if i want to. timings had to be tweaked too ofcourse
     
  13. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    well that's a bummer, I went for the UD7 in the first place since it supports the 9570 so I thought that running an OCed 8350 would be a walk in the park. :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    i remember digging alot into VRMs of different boards wghen i got my extreme 4 and saw that its the best.
     
  15. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,544 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i'm good with me little 6+2 board lol
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Most definately,that should be plenty of voltage for that and most all the FX can run 26-2700 NB fairly easily. Some just stiop there though without excessive voltage. Sometimes it'll need a bit of a V_Core bump as well since the CPU is working harder now.
    @de.das.dude
    I wouldn't go that far but it's at least suitable for the FX
     
  17. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,445 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Maybe the UD7 is different, all I remember when reading about it is that the UD5 and UD3 had this issue, I don't recall if the UD7 was mentioned...
    Just push it, ymmv. Make sure HPC mode is enabled(it's supposed to address this exact issue. works for some, others not as lucky). All it can do is clock like it's supposed to or hit a throttle wall. Even if you do have a throttle wall, yours may be higher, again ymmv.
     
  18. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    GPU installed:

    [​IMG]

    Waiting for the RAM, fan controller (Sentry 2 Mix) and the LCDMODKIT 4x20. I'm considering cutting a side window, what do you think?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,445 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Looking damn good. Great choice on GPU;)
    Definitely, that's a clean system, go for the window. Personally, though, I'd keep a 120/140mm fan where that one is now after converting to a window.
     
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,492 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,048
    Location:
    Mexico
    I would make an inverted L shape to keep the fan there. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    best for for what was available in india. we dont have a lot of gigabyte and i aint going for biostart or asus.

    this board is really great. havent seen the v core even flicker a bit under load when stressing. and me doing 4.5 with 1.375V with overclocked ram without any fuss goes to show how good it really is.

    only problem i have with this board is some of the connectors are in weird places. well one actually, the front panel audio lol. crazy.
     
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    please turn that side panel fan clockwise 180degree lol.
     
  23. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,445 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Erm... 180 degrees clockwise is the same as 180 degrees anti-clockwise.
    But yeah, I noticed it, too. :roll:
     
  24. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    @de.das.dude As long as you're happy with it that's all that matters.
    Personally I'll take my ASUS boards.
     
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    its not that only i am happy look at what this board can do.

    system in my specs.


    [​IMG]



    yes i got it to 5Ghz on air.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    id take asus too but too bad they die every 6months and all their products are made with the same crap.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page