1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Well my little HX 850 psu is holding up. :D


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2011
    Super XP, nt300, Daimus and 1 other person say thanks.
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Now lets try this balls to the wall... gpu 1000MHz-1500MHz 1.25v
     
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Not really familiar with 3DMark11 scores. But that seems kinda low, but maybe I'm just not used to it, I've never even ran it so don't take this personal. :laugh:
     
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    And here Erocker says his 1000w psu wouldnt handle the same run..

    Here's mine on a 850w psu...

    [​IMG]

    beat my record :D
     
    Super XP, Irony, Daimus and 1 other person say thanks.
  5. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,199 (2.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    939
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Man that is sweet. Curse you and your water cooling!
     
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Brad, what loop you running now?
     
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    let me find a pic and i'll show ya just hang tight.
     
    Chicken Patty and cadaveca say thanks.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Waiting!
     
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    here ya go.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This rad look familiar David? :D

    [​IMG]
     
    Super XP, nt300, cadaveca and 5 others say thanks.
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That just looks effiin great man! That's my old Koolance Rad?
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Yup it is. Im thinking of placing the single 120 rad you gave me as well on the back of the case as an added boost of cooling. My 1st run the cpu hit 63c I believe. That was with the foam filter in place during that run. With the filter off It pegged out @ 53C
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Make sure Windows didn't install it's 100mb system folder on one of the drives.

    and that's my old CPU block! Looks great with the red tubing man! :toast:
     
    Super XP and fullinfusion say thanks.
  13. Aetherius New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Ky, USA
    Hi guys! new on Techpowerup forum! wanted to see what people were saying bout the FX procs so came here check it out! love the site, visited it for years,but just now finally registered! cool stuff here!:D
     
  14. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Nice. What pump you running now?
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,356
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    MCP355 with res-top..you can see it in the 2nd pic above. ;)
     
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  16. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Swiftech MCP350.

    Hey whats going on with this cpu. Cpu-z dont show HT Link, its just a greyed out reading rated FSB and under the memory tab Im showing NB but this is where it gets weird....
    I thought the HT cant be higher then the NB
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2011
  17. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That pump flows good, I'd throw the other rad in there as well. :)
     
  18. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    It can, it just doesn't provide any kind of performance increase.
     
    fullinfusion, Aetherius and cadaveca say thanks.
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,152 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,356
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'm pretty sure that was the case with Thuban chips as well.
     
  20. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I checked and it's not. I also re-formated them (RAID 0), reinstalled Steam and Skyrim along with a few benchmarks on that drive. I don't think it's my Bulldozer OC because even at stock speeds I get this error checking message. :confused:
    Will have to investigate tonight what's really gonig on.
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Southbridge and RAID/AHCI drivers installed?
     
  22. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Yes they are installed. Anyhow once again Steam just updated some files because it once again failed validation and/or file integrity or something :laugh: this is driving me nuts and I want to play SKYRIM :cry:
     
  23. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Im not sure where some of you ppl are getting your Wattage consumption numbers from?

    I just ran 3dMark 11 with everything wide open and had a MAX Wattage draw of 799 watts and that was in test #1 of the benchmark and then bounced around from 640-711 Watts... Some reviews I been reading say its drawing 400W at 4.5GHz at idle.... well now I know thats Bullshit! I have every single power saver turned off in the bios and I ran this....

    -Gpu is maxed on volts running 1000MHz/1500MHz
    -cpu is running 5.05GHz on all cores all the time
    -case fans are all maxed out to keep cool
    -got my x-box controller pluged in haha
    -sound card is on...


    You know truthfully I'm enjoying this cpu but Im still having a hard time grasping where some ppl get there dam numbers....

    [​IMG]

    In this picture you can see the MAX DRAW


    [​IMG]



    @ Erocker you were saying you were drawing 700W at idle @ 5ghz? I think you need to get your meter checked :cool:
     
    Daimus, DrunkenMafia and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  24. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Did you install this bios?
    CVF beta UEFI 9921 bios
    Latest AGESA update for Bulldozer from AMD in this build:
    More enhancements for Steam games etc.

    I highly recommend any time you ppl flash the Crosshair V bios to load default settings first... reboot till the logo screen, flash the bios and do a restart when prompted to then shut down. power off the psu and Remove the cmos battery and move the jumper over for 5min then you'll never have any conflict.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,974 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,400
    Absolutely not. There's no way I ever claimed 700W at idle, that is ridiculous. I had about the same results as you. Refer to post #60 in this thread.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2011
    fullinfusion says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page