1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,095 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,274
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No, Edmonton.


    :laugh:


    Note the outlook at the bottom:


    [​IMG]

    Couple more cold nights coming...will try 1100T next! :) Got some other pics too, but gotta rip them off the camera yet.
     
  2. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    And I thought it was cold here at 25f. (I think thats close to -3 to -5c)
     
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,095 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,274
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, it can get cold at times. So much so that the air here is pretty dry...not even any condensation on the board when I brought it back inside.


    Tomorrow I'll let it chill all day long, which will hopefully give me a -30c starting point. the system wouldn't even boot into windows @ 4.7 GHz before, so a 500 MHz jump overall stable, for an hour of waiting, is good for me!

    Wednesday I'll try the 1100T. It's so cold that thermal paste freezes, so swapping the CPUs isn't something that can be done easily.
     
    Irony says thanks.
  4. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Damn Dave, that's sick! Wish we could have those temps for a night or two here so I can do some serious overclocking. But I can only dream. :(
     
  6. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    nice clocks @ Santas House :p
     
  7. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    194 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Great thanks, it was smaller and a different socket to what I expected. :)

    Curiously email support when I was planning to get an FX were useless and told me to call the phone line regarding my concern with having too old a BIOS.

    So if there is an issue with a bad batch of chips, we should all presumably get replacements, if it's just "confusion" on the support line and only applies if you don't have another CPU to update the flash we should be OK?

    (I'm running a 960T (which as of BIOS 1003 will not unlock) so used it to update).
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2012
  8. daimonass New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Nice OC...

    I want to see beacmark.
     
  9. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    I'm waiting for my FX-6100, Hope it works perfectly on my rig tomorrow.

    Stay tuned.

    @dave

    What the Weather... And what a beautiful forecast...
     
  10. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    Modified Crosshair V Bios 1102

    ROG Forum

    Changes Made:

    1. Updated AMD Option ROM to 3.3.1540.14 (Source: MSI 990FXA-GD80)
    2. Updated AsMedia Option ROM to 0.951 (Source: MSI X79A-GD65)

    * - Includes Asus DOS Flash Tool


    1102 - Updated AMD Option ROMs Download


    a massive raid 0 performance boost shown with this modded bios version

    Raid 0 performance boost


    i´ll try it tonight......
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2012
    Super XP and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  11. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    hmmm,

    here are my results,

    2x 120GB Corsair Force GT Raid 0

    always clean reboot and after all stuff was loaded
    i started each test after the other

    Bios 1003:

    [​IMG]

    Bios 1102 (asus stock):

    [​IMG]

    Bios 1102 (modded version):

    [​IMG]


    updating to the modded 1102 Bios with ROM to 3.3.1540.14 doesn´t really seems to be a performance boost to me...... :mad:

    i think you might stick better with the stock 1002 or 1102 from asus
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2012
  12. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,548 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,662
    Not bad:)

    [​IMG]

    Last week I had my balcony door open and placed my tech station on the floor right in front of the door and got my i7 970 up to 4.8GHz on air. GPU's ran really cool as well (stock coolers). I am going to try again when I feel like freezing my ass off while benching.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'm really jealous of your temperatures. :(
     
    HammerON says thanks.
  14. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2012
  15. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    This is why I should of waited to buy one XD
     
  16. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    well there was a few cashback promo´s already ... and that short timeframe from 5th dec till 31th jan is more like a after XMAS merchandise
     
  17. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Finally reached something 100% stable using touch bios since normal bios likes to switch up voltages for no reason.
    Left everything on auto, 21xMulti power stuff off LLC on extreme temps are surprisingly good.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. [XC] Oj101

    [XC] Oj101

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    South Africa
    I know it's not quite what you guys have in mind, but I'll show it off anyway :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Super XP and n0tiert say thanks.
  19. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
  20. [XC] Oj101

    [XC] Oj101

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    South Africa
    I know :D That was done at about -40'c, I tested all the way down to -196'c (yes, coldbug FREE :D) which scored me a corrupt validation at 3,948 MHz. I was pretty miffed about that as I haven't had a chance to try again since (July 2008).
     
  21. trainergames New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Does any body know how to get it to show the right temps in windows i have tried 4 diff temp programs and they all say the same thing,and according to them my cpu cores are getting down to as low 7c in a room that is 65f,i know that is not right.
    Here is a screen of those 4 programs all running at the same time,and showing the temps i am getting.
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    Thank you so much for any/all help.
     
  22. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Holy Bulldozer.... After a Corsair RMA request for my defective H100, I finally got tbe new one today. That's right, a nice bloody 60 DAYS later :eek: Remind me never to send anything in within the Christmas Holiday Season :slap:

    After my night shift I will install the new H100. Dying to play Skyrim and L4D2 once again :D

    UPDATE:
    Installed the H100 and added 4 120mm fans for the Push/Pull effect. Running cool at 18C w/ No Load and 57C full 8-core load. This is with all 4 fans running on low via the H100's onboard fan speed controller.

    Both Skyrim and L4D2 is running great :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2012
    n0tiert and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,095 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,274
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    A few more pics:
    Standing in the doorway:

    [​IMG]

    Temps when testing:

    [​IMG]

    The rig:

    [​IMG]

    IT was so cold, eventually the batteries in the keyboard froze, and I got stuck in BIOS. Next time I go to the PC store, I'm buying a backup keyboard. :laugh:

    [​IMG]



    Now I'm eagerly awaiting another cold snap. :roll:
     

    Attached Files:

    • 005.jpg
      005.jpg
      File size:
      135.2 KB
      Views:
      520
    • 010.jpg
      010.jpg
      File size:
      88.9 KB
      Views:
      596
    • 007.jpg
      007.jpg
      File size:
      201.9 KB
      Views:
      643
    • 009.jpg
      009.jpg
      File size:
      196.5 KB
      Views:
      535
    Daimus says thanks.
  24. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Wow now i have two reasons never to buy an h100 that's a horrible turnaround time and it hits 57* :eek:
    I never got passed 52* on 1.6v at 4.8ghz i know you have 4 more cores to cool but that seems quite lack luster unless im confused.

    @cadaveca, mandatory pic of your tongue on the pci bracket is now required
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,728 (9.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,196
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Don't be! You live in a beautiful place were you can cruise that DSM around with the windows down and the sun roof open!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page