1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,485 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,896
    O
    *Blah. It's going on the test bench now. Bad Windows install... I don't know.

    I've been having RAID issues. Instability can cause a RAID to go haywire and it did. First time surprisingly so I've been lucky. It took me a while to realize it was the RAID that was causing my issues, so that's what I've been doing all night. Hopefully, no more blue screens.

    Ambient is 23c. I'm not currently using the extra 4 pin connector, though I probably will try it eventually once I go for higher clocks. I might disable cores eventually and try OC'ing as well. I'm measuring power with the LED display on my UPS.
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011
  2. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Only 43 GFlops @ 5GHz??? That sounds terrible, am I missing something?
  3. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    660 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    NYC
    Memory/NB test with Gskill 2133 C8 and SS cooling

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011
    WarEagleAU, Super XP, xvi and 5 others say thanks.
  4. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,276 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    Shit that memory b/w is huge Dumo!!

    On another note, has anybody got a 8120? I got one coming from the states (thanks TIG :)) There were no 8150's in stock.
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,670 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    Location:
    US
    Hell of a temp difference too.
  6. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    erocker is the bd chip as bad as all the reviews say?
  7. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    One thing I'm seeing that is pretty common across the board is the voltages needed to hit certain frequencies. Looks to be similar to what dumo and erocker are reporting, compared to reviews and posts on xtremesystems.
    martthefart says thanks.
  8. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    think i will get 1 ,will there be much better than my 1090t ?????
  9. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,328 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    dosnt seem that bad to me with 2x 6950 in plus drives and fans etc id wager my ol rig uses way more, have you overclocked your memory alongside that lovely cpu oc Erocker? im interested in the effect all over ocin has on performance ,its nice to see ya pushing the bus not just the multis:) that works v well on ol core 2 quads




    must be that time of year im just putting stuff back on after a raid crash that didnt look like one(my pc got dissassembled a few times as it didnt look like raid issue) and how useless is ms's backup and recovery grrrr
  10. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    martthefart says thanks.
  11. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,328 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    from them charts id say if you dont expect to be buying any new soft then stick with ph2 but if you expect to buy software wrote this year you could poss net upto 40% better performance old shit runs about the same new soft works better on it
    martthefart says thanks.
  12. martthefart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    147 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok cheers will wait afew months see what happens martyn
  13. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,890 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I honestly don't think it will make you step back and go 'wow, this blows away my 1090t'.
    I had that feeling when I went to sandy bridge from my x58 setup and compared to my 1090t setup at 4.5 my sandy bridge setup at 4.5 or beyond makes that seem... well.... out of the same league.

    Bulldozer obviously isn't the performance jump that sandy bridge was from nehalem, we all know that. But if you want an '8' core that overclocks easy and may have a performance increase up its sleeve under windows 8, jump on it. But I guarantee in about a month or two we will see some price drops so if you can wait I would. I plan on waiting before buying, but I may end up getting a 2700k and skipping bulldozer altogether. My current 2500k is multiplier walled at 49 whereas my first one happily went over 50 as long as you kept it voltage happy. I want to love bulldozer, but everytime I see results from fellow enthusiasts, the bulldozer sparkle in my eye slowly dwindles. :[
    nt300 and martthefart say thanks.
  14. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well in and of themselves these clocks are noice to say the least. Certainly will keep an eye on this thread.
  15. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Unless your CPU is a few generations old or your are running at least 2 GPUs, its just not worth switching to a Zambezi chip. Those of us on 1 GPU with a Phenom II X4 970+ or X6, it will be a lateral move with the exception of a few things. If you are running 2 or more GPUs, then the memory bandwidth should breath some life into your AMD rig if the CPU was choking them. I say if because some duff will be Crossfiring two 6770 which are not being choked, they just suck....respectively. If you got two 6950s and running a Thuban, you should see a lot of improvement there.

    P.S. I call BS on those 7-Zip results.
    theoneandonlymrk and cadaveca say thanks.
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,767
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    So, any specific tips to get past a wall you've found when clocking?

    Good to hear BD mem speeds hel Crossfire, validates what I've been saying for months.
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    like i got 4ghz on stock cooling on my x4 :p ?
  18. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I am still trying to sort out what is the issue. I know it is not heat. The temperature readings seem to be accurate. Northbridge and HyperTransport voltage bumps help once you get to around 4.5 GHz. Around 4.7 GHz it becomes more about finesse as voltage bumps start to either not help or make things worse.

    There seems to be some kinda of voltage load fail safe. I got it up and testing at 4.9 GHz, but when I ran a OCCT it didn't crash. It instead started running at only about 58% load and the OC started reading 4.2 GHz.

    After I switch to water I am going to play with the bus since the multiplier is not giving me anything else.
  19. dumo

    dumo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    660 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    NYC
    I asked a friend that tested early BD sample and he said that....

    "BD has a massive trip point if the current raised too high. When the VDD is bumped to 1.51V the power consumption increases to 310W. In normal conditions this is not possible, but because the trip point for leakage current has been reached the power consumption simply gets out of hand. To get the leakage current back down the temperature must be lowered".
  20. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Exactly. And they are supposed to perform better as a quad, so higher clocks, more performance and less power draw is a win.
  21. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Or you can back the voltage down.
  22. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Can somebody switch off one core per module (1 Module = 1 Core on and 1 Core off) to make the 8150 a 4 core CPU then benchmark it.
  23. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,064 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,292
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    There is suppose to be a BIOS update for the ASUS Crosshair V that can do that. To me it sounds like AMD is using ASUS are trying to avoid sending new chips for 6 and 4 core to reviewers. So it is possible with that board, but I don't think that will be a universal thing.
  24. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    This isn't a benchmark thread. It is for overclocking only. I think there should be an official benchmark thread too though.
    Heavy_MG and Swamp Monster say thanks.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,485 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,896
    No it's for benching too. The last thing anyone needs is another damn Bulldozer thread.

    So, my FX is on the test bench now. Getting blue screens at stock and right now I don't know what the problem is. Possibly my SSD. Anyways no time until Sunday to work this crap out.

    All the reviewers are liars. This is the best chip evar!!!11!1
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page