1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    They didnt update the Asus Sabertooth yet either, atleast, the rev1.0

    Edit:

    Ha awesome, just a minute before writing this post, nothing was on the site, 5 minutes after: Kapow! new bios!
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012
    Super XP and Norton say thanks.
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,687 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,874
    thats good.
     
  3. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,170 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,674
    The M5A99X Evo and M5A97 Evo are posted too :toast:.... no need to rant on it anymore [/end rant] :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    the crosshair v formula has a new bios to 1703
     
  5. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Very nice, this is the Piledriver bios. :toast:
     
  6. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Just popped into share some pointless information!

    Anyone still got their Tin case that the processor came in? The lid of it is actually a separate tin if anyone didn't know.

    AMD definitely used recycled materials by the by, unpainted side of the seems to be an off cut from the SMINT mint factory ( can see the letters in certain light)

    Pointless information! You're welcome.
     
    nt300 and Super XP say thanks.
  7. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    OFFICIAL AMD FX-83xx Vishera Owners Club

    I guess this Site is correct all FX owners. Good Stuff.:toast:
     
  8. nemesis.ie

    nemesis.ie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    200 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Looks like the new BIOSes (1605 and 1703) while they now unlock the 960T, I have to power the machine off with the PSU switch for around 10+ minutes or the PC will not power on.

    Anyone else seeing that?

    I've ordered an 8350 too, but it looks like stock is about 2 to 3 weeks away.
     
  9. qu4k3r

    qu4k3r

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Valencia, Venezuela
    Hi there, sorry if offtopic but...

    I'm planning to buy an fx-6300 cpu to use it with an asrock 970 extreme 4 motherboard which I own since a year ago but I've been using it with a sempron cpu as secondary rig. According to some reviews I've seen, fx-6300 performs like i3-32xx, my budget is 130-150$.

    My main rig is Q6600@3.2ghz but I don't know if this upgrade will perform better than the old q6600? Many people told me to buy an i3 cpu + new intel mobo, but I don't want to spend more money becuase I want to use my 970 mobo as main rig.

    What do you say? thanks in advance ;)
     
  10. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    nt300 and qu4k3r say thanks.
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,330 (2.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    if you can afford it get the octacore version. make it last ;)
     
    Super XP and qu4k3r say thanks.
  12. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    So I got my 8350 yesterday, Was quite happy with it. Ran prime95 at stock speeds for about 15 minutes, looked good. So I OC'ed it a bit to 4.5, running prime for a while after each 100mhz. And then at 4.6, 2 cores stop with errors. so I went to 4.7, now 5 cores are stopping with errors. Three of them say "ILLEGAL SUMOUT" and the other 2 with a rounding error, expecting 1.4 or something similar. Anyone have any ideas as to what the dealio could be?

    Edit: With 4 cores enabled, 1 per module, it seems to be stable tho. Which seems odd; also, I'm starting to wonder now if its a windows issue, cuz every other time I boot up, its in windows 7 basic, and the fonts are all screwy as well; a little bit randomly. Like the browser has tiny letters and windows aero fonts are massive.

    Edit: It also seems stable with 6 cores. I'm blaming windows now
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  13. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    What are your temperatures like? Bulldozer doesnt like temperatures over 55-61C on the cores. Getting errors like that are really just a consequence of instability(I can speak from experience). Another part of advice you might find handy: The 83xx series can, will, and sometimes need more voltage in order to reach comparable clockspeeds, but their temperatures will generally be lower on the same voltages.
     
  14. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Heard most FX 8350s OC very well but many of the FX 8320s do not depending on tha batch number :confused: Anybody heard of this:eek: Read on a newegg review.
     
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Got my 8350 to 4.7 stable on a lower voltage and 4.8 stable with higher voltage but the occasional error after a few hours, though a few friends bought the 8320's (cheap bastards) and most of them struggle to go too far above 4ghz. Dont expect any miracles to happen below 1.4v.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  16. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,170 (8.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21,674
    I set my 8350 to 4.4 Ghz (22x multi), turned off Turbo, and left everything else in Auto and it's running great! :cool:

    I'm using it for WCG crunching and its been running 100% load 24/7 since I got it. The Xig Night Hawk cooler keeps the temps at 38-40C on the cores/48-50C on the die.

    Vishera compared to Zambezi is nearly the same as Thuban compared to Deneb (feels smoother/quicker and cooler running at the same time). Would definitely buy another one. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I also had a lot of trouble getting past 4,5GHz on the 8320 I used to have, no matter what voltage i threw at it(tested up till 1,54V). One data point isnt really enough to confirm it, but atleast my sample seems to support it :p
     
  18. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    It is a little warm, after a few minutes (at 4.6) it gets to 55c; that was also with only 1.34v.

    I got fed up with windows changing colors randomly every bootup and reinstalled wondows. I had been needing to anyway, there was so much old crap that I had filled up my drive with; its easier to reinstall. It does seem to have helped a little bit with the CPU stability tho.

    Edit: I can't really find anything about it, is there a safe maximum voltage for these chips? Or should we just stick to Tubans guidelines to be safe?
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
  19. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I'd say uptill 1,45 is still considered "normal", but there is no actual basis for this. There are those that run it at over 1,53 24/7, however. I guess it depends more on your cooling than anything else, as in the end these chips are always bottlenecked by heat.
     
    Irony says thanks.
  20. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i get my 8350 tomorrow i hope i have some good luck overclocking it
     
    Super XP says thanks.
  21. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,784 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    This concerns me that the FX 8350 is the better choice.
    The one thing that is a must is the 8320 should clock to a 8350 with absolutely no voltage increase.
    My FX 8120 clocked to 8150 speeds with no added voltage. It was only when I found the sweet spot 4.40GHz running 8-Cores were that I had to bump the volts to 1.375v.
     
  22. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Mine 8350 is quite happy now at 4.6 with 1.34v. Took 1.5v to boot at 5ghz, just stable enough for superpi. (Which, btw Its taking like 18 seconds on 1M. :wtf:) Temps in open hardware monitor are 6-7c tho, lol. CPUID hardware monitor reads fine.
     
  23. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    ran a quick test, my 8350 BSOD when i try to run 4.7 at a mere 1.382v. It begs for more voltage above 1.4, seems the only way i can keep it running that high, and thankful for my H80.
     
  24. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    644 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i got my 8350 today cant get it pass 4.5ghz i wonder if it the video cards being a bottleneck to the cpu
     
  25. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,003 (8.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,121
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Have you tried it at 4.7ghz with a vcore of 1.45v? That's what mine is on stable
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page