1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Hope to see a very nice jump from my 1090T ^^
     
  2. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,773 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    539
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I went from a Quad-Core Phenom II X4 OC'ed to a nice FX-8120 OC'ed to 4.4GHz right to a FX-8350 OC'ed to 4.70 GHz w/ high bus.

    Each upgrade gave me a nice boost in performance. You will enjoy your purchase. :)
     
    os2wiz says thanks.
  3. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I went from 1090T to 8350, I'm quite happy with it. Overclocks quite nicely, settled on 4.5 with stock volts for a 24/7 clock. Gained frames in CPU bound games, and it makes you feel happy inside to see 8 cores in hardware monitor. lol. only thing I have to complain is heat. These things make oodles of hot air, I finally built a water loop because of it. Right now I'm finally pretty much completely happy with my computer. :rockout:
     
    Mathragh says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  4. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    just looked at your system specs, is that a custom loop or kit?

    we got same mobo/cpu but I got the xigmatek aegir with corsairs on it! max temp at stock 45*c while im folding 24/7 which im happy about.

    but I do plan to go down the WC route, what are temps like now?
     
    Irony says thanks.
  5. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    More than 25k PPD
  6. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    getting stable clocks now I updated prime95 hahahahaha :laugh:
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2013
  7. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Oh man does this cpu fly. Absolutely love it. I can already see and feel huge improvements over my 1090T.

    Probably the biggest gains I've seen so far out of all the games i've tried is Crysis 3. When you turn everything up it just feels silky smooth. Can't wait for the thermal paste to set so I can see how far I can OC this bad boy.

    Anyone who has had any doubts, forget about it, shut up and BUY THIS FX-8350!

    Also what's the highest OC are most people getting before raising volts? Thanks!
     
  8. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    i got about 4.4 before needed volatge increase! you got a watercooler, i need one lol :D

    congrats on the new 8350 its a beast!
     
    Volkszorn88 says thanks.
  9. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I got 4.5 on stock volts, it's what I'm running 24/7 for now

    Edit: I just saw we three have the same board. Asrock ftw
     
    More than 25k PPD
  10. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    we should start a fatality vishera club :D

    4.5ghz stock voltage is pretty good, I need to jump from 1.3875 to 4.1 for 4.5ghz

    at the moment im stability testing 4.7ghz @ 1.513v but its got room for 4.8 if goes well, not sure why it wants vcore increases like this but im new to this board and cpu

    I definitely need a better cooler although with window wide open its cool @ 45*c!
     
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Mine decided to start sucking volts up around 4.7 too. Kinda annoying, I was hoping to get higher with lowish volts but its doing about the same volts at 4.7. Those are really great temps for air too
     
    More than 25k PPD
  12. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Guys I'm confused. I up'd the multiplier to 4.5ghz, but on CPU-Z, AMD Overdrive and AIDA64 all say i'm still at 4ghz

    Was like wtf?!?!? So I went back into the bios and it says 4.5ghz

    [​IMG]

    Also on another note, maybe it's because the thermal paste hasn't set yet, but when idle cpu hovers in the 20's but when I stress test with IBT or Prime95 it just automatically skyrockets to 65+

    With my 1090T it never went past 45c and it slowly/gradually increased in temps. It never skyrocketed like the fx-8350

    So is this just a temperature thing with my FX, maybe I need to reseat my H70, re-do thermal???
     
  13. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    925 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    404
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    i never seen that multi range description as shown in your cpu-z result (7-21) new feature ?

    EDIT: seems to be new since 1.64, compared it to 1.63
     
  14. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Does your motherboard have the turbo clocks turned on? If so, that is why you are stuck at 4ghz, because it's overriding your settings. No idea why your temps are spiking since my FX-6300 barely touches 40*C under full load at 4GHZ. Do you have your voltages set manually?
     
  15. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    disable amd overdrive straight away, that messes up readings when i tried overdrive it clashed with os and bios.

    my cpu done that temp thing when i first put this chillfactor3 on, its been a day now and temps are about half max. i even re sat the heatsink thinking i fucked up. i had to stop prime at 63*c but now max is 45*c been over a day of burn in :mad:

    and i found that upping cpu vdda, ht and nb voltage to about 1.25 (2.7 vdda) and cpunb to over 1.32 helped without adding more core voltage. LLc 25%
    whats your settings?

    and clear cmos a lot, it seems to help with weird bugs for some reason and half my boot time

    its my second day of testing so will let you know
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2013
  16. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Yeah turn off turbo if its on. That looks like whats happening. I've never had any good results from using overdrive for anything either, seems to screw things up sometimes.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  17. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    got my CPU to 4.5GHz with not volt increase which is 1.380v
     
  18. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Everybody seems to have a different stock voltage.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  19. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    yea i think mines was around 1.31v but i upped it to achieve stability at 4.4GHz
     
  20. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    cpu's generally come with different vids. something to do with electronics lol

    mines 1.3875 stock, and its ok up to 4.4, and then wants a power grid of electric
     
  21. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Ye I have everything that's supposed to be disabled for overclocking, but I got it now. I don't know why it wasn't reading properly before.

    I have at it 4.2 for now, going to see about temps before pushing it more. Maybe I should get 2x delta fans for my H70 lol

    Maybe the 2x deltas can freeze the blood that will most definitely be pouring out from my ears.

    I used Xigmatek paste, worked very well with my 1090T. Any specific paste that have shown to be good with Vishera?
     
  22. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,762 (5.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,293
    all top rated pastes have about 3*C difference and as long as theres good contact they all work well, however mx's have no cure time. and indigo extreme is rated the best i think.

    ive got chill factor3, used mx2 before this and i cant remember the differences apart from mx2 was basically plug n play.

    im planning on a closed loop, saw a few im interested in. £100 abouts double rads, nzxt, 100i

    on a side note i had 4.8ghz stable earlier max temp 46*c (windows open = nice breeze) and done something, loaded profile instead of save. and lost all settings and couldnt find the sweet oc again. only one i remember was 1.52 vcore. all other voltages, timings pfft its gone now! took effin ages to find that stability!! abso gutted!!

    these corsairs are quiet and powerful, i havent owned a huge array of fans but id recommend em to anyone! again isnt it ambient thats the determing factor in heat lol
     
  23. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Hate it when I do that, hours of OCing down the drain...

    I'm using the Gelid extreme I think it is that came with the EK block I have. It seems to work quite well, haven't tried any others with water. On air with my 1090t I used As5, some zalman stuff and noctua NT-H1. I didn't expect much from the zalman and it wasn't amazing but the noctua blew me away. It was significantly cooler than the as5 I used, and had no silly cure time.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  24. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,646 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i use XIGMATEK PTI-G4512 thermal grease with gold grade thermal matrix filler particles and it has no cure time and i like it better than AS5
     
  25. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Looked it up. sounds rather impressive; temps?
     
    More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page