1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,390 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Nah itll be at least four years before its His creation , until then he will tweak what's in the pipeline but no more as they're on the right Modular path its not a scrap it and start again situation imho.
     
  2. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Actually I was going to go for an Asus z77 motherboard, but I got a killer deal on a 2500k+Z77a-Gd55 combo.

    Before that I had an Asus m3a32-mvp deluxe AM2+ mobo, an m4a785-g motherboard and an Asus motherboard for AMD Thouroughbred/Barton core, Asus Intel mobos for the Pentium series of CPUs, and on and on all the way back to the 486 DX2.

    Just sold the M5a97 rev 2.0 and upgraded to a Sabertooth 990FX. This new motherboard is a BEAST. Currently happy at 5.0 ghz, will try for higher speeds this weekend. I need to be liquid cooled along with my computer for this next round of overclocking.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2013
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  3. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    yea i feel the need for wc loop!

    well tonight its coldish. rigs being built. all ready for some serious overcooking!
     
  4. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Irony and d1nky say thanks.
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Count me in. FX 8350 4.8 GHz. Can't seem to get to 5.0 Ghz for some reason.
     
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Nice.

    Is that MSI board version 2.0?
     
  7. Volfram

    Volfram New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  8. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Yes my version 1 died so MSI replaced with version 2.
     
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    you mean MSI replaced it with version 2?
     
  10. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    5.0 GHz stable. Woot. Haven't tried higher yet.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Nice work Ravenas. My piece of silicon wasn't the pick of the litter. This is prime95 stable

    almost 4900.JPG

    Had it at 5.4 doing some benching today definitely not prime95 stable I was over 1.6v on the core

    tech.JPG

    Can someone tell me how to get normal pics on this site. Everytime I attach something it comes out like this requiring people to click on it to see it ??
     
  12. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Go to www.techpowerup.com and use the image uploader and copy/paste the tag it gives you.
     
  13. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    thats a hideuos amount of voltage for that overclock!!!


    youll find benching with something unstable leads to less points.
     
  14. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Just a little surprised you got to 5.0 GHZ stable without a better water cooling solution than the AMD cooler that came with bulldozer. You must have a golden chip. I don't see many 5 GHZ stable clocks without custom cooling.
     
  15. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I'm running at 40 degrees Celsius with full load.
     
  16. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I am guessing the chips are maturing!


    Did you note down the manufactured date and batch number on the chip IHS?
     
  17. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    387 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    That I don't believe. Where is your OCCT or IBT AVX screens confirming your results. I was skeptical before now I just don't believe you have credibility.
     
  18. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    To be honest, I could care less what you believe. :toast:

    [​IMG]
     
    os2wiz says thanks.
  19. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Ya this one is a real pig when it come to voltage. Ihave to hand it to the guys at thermaltake. That AIO works quite well. Unstable or not it was enough to bring me in second .I just kept my fingers crossed and hoped it wouldn't crash this time.
    This pig runs 24/7 at 4.64 with 1.47V_Core, ran ten days straight in the ChimpChallenge F@H competition. Once you hit the wall on these they need a sledge hammer for the next 100Mhz.

    I do think tho as time goes the chips will improve they always do. If I keep going I'll probably break this one. :rockout:
     
  20. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    im overclocking mine at the moment. i think my ram kills it pass 4.7ghz i could apply 2volts and wont be stable lol (kingston cheapo ram = long story)

    i notice if i oc fsb 220 to get 4.4ghz i can do it with stock voltage @ 1.3875 but if use multi it needs 1.4125 ??! wtf!


    ill be benching mine soon as temps drop. just put a heaven valley out, huge clocks on the 7950 (1225/1750) one artifact lol

    but tbh im too scared to break the 1.5v barrier with it on the aegir.

    what you guys stress test with?????
     
  21. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Prime
     
  22. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    ^^ nuff said.

    i always use prime but its a bitch to get stable pass 4.7 full nescafe gold blend, and for benches stable i use small ffts for 5-10 min
     
  23. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    I use prime and Unigine heaven to be stable if I'm going to be folding or something that'll use both the CPU and GPU 100%
    My system is like an easy bake oven when things are full out. You'd be surprised how much extra heat the CPU can pick up when you have 2 cards burning in the background.
    If you check my earlier post you'll see that I needed a boatload of V_core to get to 4.9 . For me I was just over 1.4 for 4.5 but to get 4.64 I'mup to 1.47V_Core. I'm not saying that all chips are equal. I know I have a serious leaker and i've been kicking the snot out of it lately.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2013
  24. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,707 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    mines similar but i havent got the best cooling, and apparently the better cooled it is the less voltage is required to get higher.

    yee i had mine folding for CC and wow what a stress test, i had it at 4.4 or 4.6 from when it was brandnew folding from the start :nutkick:
     
  25. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,643 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Running Prime and Super at the same time.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2013

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page