1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,274 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    with case side open

    [​IMG]
     
  2. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,774 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,300
    id recommend an xspc raystorm kit if youre up for it and wishing to overclock like mad.

    theres a thread of a couple noobs trying it out and well we was amazed lol
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2013
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    8,726 (8.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,959
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    This.
    H100 or similarly performing AIO's like the collermaster seidon, NZXT Kraken. Or one of the top end tower coolers, like the Phanteks PH14, Thermalright and noctua offerings.
    I managed to safely cool a 8350 at 1.475v full loaded. That netted me an OC of 4.8, but all chips will be different, so just use the voltage as a baseline.
     
  4. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,274 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    NB freq is at default 2200 Mhz and Ram is at 1333. Ram is Kingston HyperX blue 1333, going to try 1600. What is the best timings for Ram for FX?

    NB freq - don't know how far my board will allow, but what freq will give better performance, I will try it out.

    I am happy @ 4 Ghz on the CPU with low volts, so won't go higher than that as it sucks more watts if I increase freq and volts. If I increase the NB freq do I still need to increase the CPU volts or try the CPU NB volts?

    Sorry new to FX and need some help in getting the best out of it.
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,264 (12.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,849
    If you can get cas 6 out of 1333mhz, try that.
     
    suraswami says thanks.
  6. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Just increase the CPU NB volts for the NB. It's separate from CPU voltage.

    for NB speed just try to go as high as possible, probably 2500-2700. I don't think there is a specific speed for best performance.
    Mine just decided to no longer run higher than 2500 today, I've had it almost 2800 before and now it'll only do 2500 stable
     
  7. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,774 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,300
    @irony, have you ever applied 1.6v to ya chip?

    and does it lock up when at 1.6v and above? PLL lowest setting!
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,274 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    This is what I have

    Kingston HyperX Blu 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDR...

    running @ CAS 6 will be a dream.

    I thought running at 1600 will give higher bandwidth?

    And I have 4 of those sticks for 16GB total (is 4 x sticks still ok for OCing?).
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    Just push them up like any other ram. I doubt they wont do 1800mhz.
     
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,690 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    665
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Anybody else here with the same board as me
     
  11. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,774 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,300
    havent seen anyone with an evo for a while.

    i usually look back through pages to see system specs of people on here.

    hardware perv :laugh:
     
  12. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,659 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23,741
    I have that board as well as an M5A99X Evo ;)
     
    Durvelle27 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,774 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,300
    damn nortons got a bunch of evo's lol

    any crunching/folding comps coming up i can prepare for?
     
  14. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9,659 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23,741
    You just missed a crunching one- 7/5 thru 7/8... ends in about 2 hrs

    You can join up anytime but if you want to wait on a competition in order to join then you need to keep a watch out on our WCG threads ;)
     
    d1nky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Ya I've been up to 1.65 trying to get 5ghz+ stable. It doesn't lock up from the high voltage i don't think. It's been a few months since I've tried it, don't remember any details. It would boot even with lower volts at 5.0-5.2 but can't get it stable for anything in any sort of stress. Might give it another go, now you got me wondering lol. Time to turn the A/C up and get the ambient down, lolz It's over 100 outside right now...

    Edit, maybe this is a noobish question, but what is PLL?
     
  16. Pipson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    41 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i got a m5a99x evo r2.0
     
  17. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,774 (4.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,300
    im not too sure, read a few things today.

    what i know is phase locked loop, means the internal clocks have more volts to draw upon, and is better for higher FSB's.

    on our boards its called CPU VDDA.

    tbh i havent seen any impact on overclocking/stability.


    well my chip locks up when 1.6v or more is applied. i cant get pass 4.9 stable, im trying different things but its a lengthy process and the heat doesnt help! and it wants plenty of volts!
     
  18. Pipson New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    41 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I cant get 4.8 stable on mine, i gave up and left it at 4.5ghz on 1.4V so just above 0.2 core V
     
  19. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Oh ok. Well I have my FSB at 250 so maybe that will be of some help. I normally just disable most everything including that, cuz I didn't really know for sure what it was.

    How hot have you gotten your CPU with that loop? My max stable clock so far has been 4.875, and it gets to around 50c pretty quick with IBT.


    I got some new memory, it's Kingston hyper x 2666, and then suddenly I couldn't get my NB to OC high enough to use it at that speed. Apparently it has to be faster than memory speed? I never had any memory faster than 1600 so it never came up. So It's at 2400.

    @pipson: 4.5 is the sweet spot on mine too. It's perfectly stable there with 1.33v
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,170 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,047
    run ram at intended speeds
     
  21. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Deneb and Thuban benefits most from NB overclocking, push it around 2.7-2.8ghz. Beyond that the performance increase will be less significant in relation to the voltage needed to make it stable.
     
  22. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,274 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I was talking about FX-8320 OCing.
     
  23. Sempron Guy

    Sempron Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    274 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    lol what am I thinking :laugh:, anyhow, you should be able to push it up 2.6ghz on stock volts. Piledriver and Bulldozer is not as beneficial to nb overclocking as the previous gen. Though you might see a difference mostly in benchmarks from stock to around 2.6-2.8ghz. They are sensitive to nb changes though and may require higher voltage above 2.6 based on my experience.
     
  24. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,746 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    It has two XMP profiles, 2400 and 2666, I'm running it at 2400.
     
  25. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,274 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    FX 8320 @ 4.8 Ghz with 1.42v, Stable so far.

    [​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page