1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by pantherx12, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    When ever I oc PC turns on then back off
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    What is being OC'ed exactly? CPU, NB, memory? And what speeds and so on?


    @Pacman, I only have personal experience with AMD, but I've never had an issue in anything I play. I'm sure a decent intel chip could do better, but for me just about everything I have is around 60fps and ultra.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,163 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    822
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I recently went from Phenom II X6 to FX 8320 @ 4.2 and happy about the performance. Only gripe for me is heat, if you know to tame this animal then its a good buy.

    my build

    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=187335
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Depending on the wattage the chip is eating it could be the OCP kicking in.
     
  5. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    302 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Good job, looks like a nice build :rockout: I can't wait to get back to gaming. I have been without a rig now for a few months and its killing me :banghead::D
     
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    CPU and CPU nb and 4.5GHz
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I have no idea on how many watts its sucking.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,712 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    YOO pacman ya back! hope things are all well and good for ya over there!

    typical brits here still moaning about the weather, even when its nice. (which it isnt nice because the heat)

    ive been using this 8350 for a while and it plays all the games. but the one thing AMD has over intel is price... if you have the budget then intel is probably the better option.

    steamroller is end of year or early next year (literally god knows) the new Fx9*** just look like overclocked 8350s. cadawall shall be testing one soon :D

    im even planning on an intel rig next year to see if what the hype is all about, and to experience different platforms.
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  9. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Could be unstable CPUnb, if I clock mine to high it will do what you described. 4.5 on the CPU I wouldn't think would be a problem. unless it's wayyy undervolted on nb or cpu.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    NB is at 2400MHz

    and when i try 4.5GHz i raise volts to 1.4
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    doesn't look like it should cause a problem at all.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    do you guys mess with the LLC
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,962 (7.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,197
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    On Asus boards I always set mine to High, or whatever was second from the highest when doing large OC's. Some manufacturers have LLC labelled backwards though.
     
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I have an ASUS board and i do have it set to high
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,712 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    not enough volts maybe??
     
  16. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    i don't think that's the issue
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    I might be with dinky on the voltage. If it just crashes under load that is. Your description of the problem is pretty vague.
    I have my LLC set to ultra high for the CPU and high for the NB.
    For my CPU to be rock stable ( Chimp Challenge F@H for nearly 2 weeks straight) I'm at 4.64G with 1.476v and CPU_NB @ 2500 1.35v. I find the IMC on some of these piledrivers to be a bit weak and needing a bit more volts to keep them happy.
     
  18. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I can't see how my description is vague. Its simple PC turns on then back off.


    CPU Ratio - 22.5
    CPU Bus - 200
    CPU/NB - 2400MHz
    HT Link - 2400MHz
    CPU Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    PCIe Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    EPU Power saving Mode - Disabled
    CPU VDDA Voltage - 2.5v
    DRAM Voltage - 1.5v
    NB voltage - 1.15v
    NB HT Voltage - 1.20v
    SB Voltage - 1.15v
    CPU LLC - Ultra High
    CPU/NB LLC - High
    CPU Current - 120%
    CPU/NB Current - 120%
    CPU PowerPhase Control - Optimal
    VRM Spread Spectrum - enabled
    CPU Power Duty Control - T-Probe
    DRAM Power Phase Control - Optimal
    Cool'n'Quiet - Disabled by CPU
    C1E - Disabled
    SVM - Disabled
    Core C6 State - Disabled
    HPC Mode - Disabled
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    You didn't include the CPU and CPU_NB volts. So it just randomly shuts down or shutsdown immediately ? Under load. Either way that sounds like NB to me as well. Try leaving everything the same and dropping the NB freq only and see if you have the same problem.
     
  20. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    CPU Voltage 1.39 and it shutdown immediately. Tried that dropped it to 2200MHz no change but dropping CPU to 4.4GHz and volts to 1.3875 booted right up and no shutdown
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,712 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    i think its lack of volts, remember booting up and loading OS is near full load, if it hasnt got the volts itll crash.

    same for cpunb!

    no harm in trying, everything else looks ok.


    @johan i cant get my cpunb/IMC pretty good with this chip. it can handle the ram fully stable up to 2600mhz and cpunb 2.7. but i cant get the cpu over 4.8 with higher ram.
     
  22. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,557 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    so should i try 1.42v
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    @ Dinky

    You'll need to drop the timings abit. Especially with the higher NB freq. Try raising th CL by one from say 10 to 11 or whatever. That's where I'd start. What volts are you putting into the ram. When I'm pushing my ram in the 24-2500 range it's at 1.75v
     
  24. Johan45

    Johan45

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    816 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    285
    Yes have you done any type of stability testing after your OC's EG P95 blend
     
  25. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,712 (6.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,281
    i always so do whats required but stay within temps. (62*c max and ive been up to 1.62v trying to get 5ghz stable)

    damn my VID is 1.3875v

    youll be ok im sure.

    edit @ johan: 1.7v for 2600mhz 11-13-13-31 and its faster than 2100mhz 10-10-10-31. also allows me to bench with hard!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page