1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX Series and A Series First Performance Projections Surface

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 4, 2011.

  1. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    At the end of the day, we need benchmarks. Also, the characteristic of the cores. I have no doubt that in heavily multithreaded environments (like video converting etc.), AMD's 8core/4module/whatever will be better than the 1155's 4c8t processors, I have no doubt about that. However, if we judge by gaming performance (where load in CPU is relatively light), Intel's architecture resoundingly beats AMD's. We might just see a reversal of position here, where budget gamers go for Intel (well, its happening now), and AMD takes the crown in multithreaded environment, at least until LGA2011.
     
  2. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    more cores is useless if it not fast enough than its competitor..
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,526 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    *Schindler's List background score*

    Have you forgotten about LGA1366, and that 6c/12t Westmere LGA1366 chips are entering the $300-ish price range soon? Core i7 970 will be under $400 very soon.
     
    heky says thanks.
  4. rem82 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Τhis will depend from clocks and overclocking ability .
    But when we buying a platform for games we want many lanes for true crossfire & sli . 1155 platform cant deliver that ..... Sandy-bridge north-bridge has few lanes .
     
  5. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    886 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Its easier to add a chip for pci-ex lanes, than give more power to a processor that just cant deliver. Intel sandy bridge delivers, for even the best GPUs, AMD chips do not, atm.
     
  6. rem82 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    1366 is dead socket !!! Who cares about this socket ......

    Sandy beat Westmere.
    I believe bulldozer beat westmere.
     
  7. rem82 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    SANDY-BRIDGE has ΝΟRTHBRIDGE inside the cpu chip !!!! They cant change that !!! For that reason 1155 platform is bad for multi gpu !
     
  8. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    886 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    No way is the bulldozer beating a 6c/12t Westmere chip. Are you dreaming?
     
  9. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    886 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Are you serious? You can add a NF200 chip on a motherboard!!!
     
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Newegg still have the i7 970 at $600, and I don't believe that they are going to knock $250 off that value in one swipe. Depending on where AMD wants to position the 8 core Bulldozer, we can either see a clear victory in multithreaded for AMD (if positioned against the 2600K), or a "meh" reaction if AMD decides to be cocky and go against the 6c/12t. At this point, the success of Bulldozer is going to be down to pricing, and that fight is firmly in AMD's turf.
     
  11. rem82 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    And how NF 200 chip connected in cpu north-bridge ? sandy north has only 16 οr 20 (i cant remember) lanes for gpu !!

    How can CROSSFIRE with nf200?

    If you run multi gpu each pci-e x16 will run at x8 !!
    In AM3 you have 36lanes for SLI & CROSSFIRE and you can run 2 cards in both x16 speed or three cards (2x16 & 1x8) or for cards with 4x8 lanes.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2011
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,526 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    They knocked off $300 in one swipe. Core i7-970 was $899 on launch.

    Core i7-960 was $600 at one point, they knocked off $310 in one swipe, it's now $290.
     
  13. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    886 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    Show me one test where the AMD platform(anyone till today) that can beat a sandy bridge platform in SLI with two GTX580. Sandy 2x 8lanes, amd 2x16? Lanes dont matther if dont have the power to feed them!
     
  14. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/p67-gaming-3-way-sli-three-card-crossfire,2910.html

    Completely forgotten about that :eek: Lets hope Bulldozer will cause that reaction again, eh? The i7 960 is just a higher binned 930, but the 970 requires much more silicon, so I seriously doubt that we are going to see Intel taking another $300 off again in one go. Pure speculation at this point though.
     
    claylomax says thanks.
  15. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    344 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    well.. I just have to wait and see how bulldozer perform....
     
  16. rem82 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6

    We speaking for bulldozer, no for thuban or deneb! AM3 platform cant doing SLI but only crossfire !! If you want to consider this to platform you can do it only with crossfire + ATI cards.

    AM3+ platform will be able to do.
    http://vr-zone.com/articles/nvidia-to-unlock-sli-for-amd-990-series-chipsets/11778.html

    When you consider crossfire 2x16 & 2x8 you must do that with the same cpu !! If bulldozer has the same performance with sandy you can see that !:)
     
  17. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    yeah, all bloomfield's now priced under $300, except cheapest gulftown's still priced between $500-600
     
  18. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    344 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
    there are AMD AM3 mobo with nforce 980a that can be SLI I think
     
  19. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    886 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    My point exactly. Intels 2x 8 lanes is still faster than AMDs 2x 16 lanes at crossfire, becouse the amd proc doesnt have the power to feed it and also becouse 8x pciex 2.0 is not a bottleneck for any known card.
    Oh and btw, intels sandy bridge-E line will have pciex 3.0!
    I dont know, but it doesnt look that good for AMD!
     
  20. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    no, AMD had just announced it for the first time a few days ago..
     
  21. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    344 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia
  22. rem82 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    51 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Not with 2x16 & ddr3, i think

    In AM3+ platform 990 chipset will provide full 16X+16X or 3X16 solution with no extra chips needed. No LATENCY with intermedially chips (NF200) . Native crossfire & native sli !
     
  23. Nesters New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    That swipe won't happen again for 970, at least not that big, it just doesn't make sense if they're launching S2011 this year.
    They can maximize profits by keeping prices at the level they're now (It could drop to ~$450 around the S2011 launch).
     
  24. IceCreamBarr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    76 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    It's actually a 33% increase in core count. These cores must be underclocked from the X6 otherwise AMD would be going backward with bulldozer.
     
  25. legends84

    legends84

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    344 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Jitra, Kedah, Malaysia

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page