1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX Sets Guinness Record for Clock Speed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    So when will it be logged into the book of records ?
     
  2. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,346 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    Everyone knows that it will be officially recorded the same day as its official launch day:rolleyes:
     
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    LOL ! :slap:
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    I for one think this is a nice stepping stone if this proves true with the overall clocking of these chips and we can get some stable 5-6ghz water clocks i will be quite happy. AMD has already announced these will take a step up in IPC which means these should perform better clock for clock than phenom II does. If that rings true and we get chips with similar performance, similar overclockability and a good price point i see nothing but win for the consumer. That kind of competition is why I can get a 6970 for under $400 anyone remember X8X00 days and dropping $500+ on a good card? 6950s run well under $300 I know for a fact the X800 vanilla cards didn't. This could be a game changer I for one will be quite happy to get one of these chips and a CHV to play with. I for one hope this knocks Intel on its ass and we have another core 2 style release. More performance for less money is always awesomesauce :laugh:

    when revving it makes more power i would do it. I have personally clocked individual cores attempting to make records. It works and it does accomplish things. Previous records have all been on netburst based chips. No other manufacturer has come close to this speed in a while. AMD has been slowly building since Phenom II hit in the 7ghz range with each batch leading to high max clocks and higher stable everyday overclocks. Back when they first came out 4ghz on an AMD chip was HUGE on air now you have guys hitting 4.6ghz+ on the same generation of chips. If all these new chips do is give a solid 5ghz+ air stable clockspeed with a the smidge more performance promised AMD will have done good.


    Me either no one flames when a celeron pops a couple more mhz. I however do base my purchases on benching done on above water cooling :nutkick:

    Why? AMD did something good they set a good solid record and did so with a board that will go retail and chips that very well could have been sold publicly. Chew* has proven time and time again that retail chips do just as well as cherry picked ones with a little luck and a whole bunch of skill.
     
  5. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,410 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    wanna see how it overclocks with 4 modules enabled >8D, 5-6Ghz perhaps?
     
  6. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,410 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    421
    meh, wish the FX series can go head to head or even surpass Intel tho, so that prices will go down and i can grab sandy chips cheaper XD
     
  7. linoliveira

    linoliveira

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    126 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Portugal
    trickson, [H]@RD5TUFF and Damn_Smooth say thanks.
  8. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    Way to thread crap everyone. I don't see how your Intel/AMD bitchfest is relevant to this topic.

    Let me help out.

    1. AMD holds the record for highest overclock. Intel doesn't.
    2. We still don't know a damn thing about Bulldozer's performance.
    3. It doesn't matter what you guys are whining about because of #2.

    If AMD holding the record bothers you, tough, because they hold it.
    If not knowing about Bulldozer bothers you, tough, because nobody is going to tell you.

    Now can we please get this thread back on track?
     
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    If AMD holds the record when will it be posted on the books of the Guinness world record ? Were there officials there from Guinness ?
     
  10. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    It will be there soon. They don't pass out these certificates for nothing.

    [​IMG]
     
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  12. ensabrenoir

    ensabrenoir

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,346 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    259
    U gotta admit that this is one of the most fun/exciting times in recent history of the tech world. When sb-e comes out everybody will b making jokes abount selling lungs and kidneys to afford one and bd wll be pushed back to the 2nd quater of 2013 :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  13. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Seeing as how my last post was removed due to lack of humor I will say this.

    Good for AMD you got a record that means nothing, now hurry up and give me a processor, I can't overclock a world record . . ..
     
  14. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    The record means something they have a faster highest clock. Just like Intel has some worthless records such as superpi. They mean nothing, but it is a competition nonetheless and a fun one at that. If you don't like competing in these then why post in a thread entirely about that. Seems stupid and counter productive IMO.
     
    Zubasa, Neuromancer and Damn_Smooth say thanks.
  15. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Um oh yeah cuz Intel world records are done on retail chips right? (minus the cedar mills)

    Pshaw.

    Poopooing AMD for using an ES is like claiming that all 980X results over 6 GHz do not count. (cuz they are all ES)
     
  16. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Worthless records indeed. Intel excels at 16 bit app computing. Dunno why but it is true, superpi. wprime, pifast, all 16 bit apps. If I want to run a decade old software, I will spend $50 on a p4 computer. (seriously, thinking like a bang for buck here... $50 for a PC to run software that is a decade old.. intel absolutely is the way to go, why spend $3 grand on a cutting edge machine when for 50 bucks you can calculate in 20 times the time).
     
  17. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I do not think this is worthless . I think this is great . I just want MORE . I guess . Man this is great news indeed !
     
  18. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    Not all of the 980X of 6ghz are ES chips go spend ten minutes on XS there are plenty of high clock retail chips floating around. Same goes on AMD, both companies have standards it just so happens certain vid chips clock higher. It has always been that way hell there are people who argue certain spots on the wafer will clock higher due to location and manufacturing process. :rolleyes:
     
    SystemViper and Neuromancer say thanks.
  19. red-die New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well i can see majority here dont deal in big business well
    i too aw not

    but what i can see is that
    this is a PR stunt, it is a stunt to satiate not the user
    but the higher-upper level
    I would assume that BD still need time for refinement
    but in a big corp such as AMD, there are various dept other than the engineering
    what is time required by engineer to refine their stuff may not necessary time given by the marketing

    For me
    i will wait for proper launch with proper review
    the talk of "no importance" "not indicative to RL usage" for me is also blowing hot air
     
  20. Disruptor4

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    229 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Pretty good feat but we just need to know real world performance on stock clocks etc. Sure they can OC well with all but 1 core disabled, but how do they hold up performance wise stock and OC in real world environments?
    Good marketing though imo.
     
  21. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Vantage stable 6+ GHz. I am not doubting there are some like to see the receipt of those guys that claim they bought it though in the store :). By and large they are all ES. sorry if my exclusionary comments offended you, I meant 90% of not all :) It is a known issue, please do not try and minimize it to disclaim the AMD results posted here.

    I find it odd you are calling me out for claiming that ES samples are okay when so many exist in our world. HWbot allows it, so its all good.

    PS: XS might be great place to read, but filled with too much animosity, no thank you.
    PSS: Should be pointed out that ln2 only resulted in less than 8GHz
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,691 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    not against them :laugh: was just saying they do in fact exist in the wild more than people think since so few people clock with LN2 or LHe. That being said with the correct retail chip ES chips can be beat.
     
  23. Neuromancer

    Neuromancer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    379 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    South Jersey
    roger that kemosabe.

    they do exist, just rare :)

    AMD ES chips are usually easy to beat, so I am hopeful without LHe :)

    EDIT: I need LN2 and 8150 FX chip!!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011
  24. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,138 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,103
    How about merging instead of stealth closing. ;)

    PS - XS has GREAT information, its just to Sloooooooooooooooow to looooooooooooooooooad.
     
  25. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    760 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    Hyderabad
    wayy to go!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page