1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD FX Zambezi Processors Compatible with ASUS AM3 Motherboards Using BIOS Update

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 15, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD's upcoming FX series "Zambezi" desktop processors based on the "Bulldozer architecture are also expected to bring with them compatible motherboards, as AMD, on a number of occassions, stated that the chips will require a new socket (referred to as AM3+) and compatible chipset, and that the chips will be incompatible with existing AM3 socket and existing chipset. Information available with SweClockers points to the contrary.

    According to the source, motherboard major ASUS is planning to provide support to AM3+ processors to some of its existing AM3 motherboards using mere BIOS updates. That's right, Zambezi will indeed be backwards compatible with AM3 and existing chipset, only what remains to be seen is if the processors will perform to their full potential and overclock well on existing platform. Amongst ASUS' Schindler's list are top of the line AM3 models, such as ROG Crosshair IV Formula and Extreme, M4A89TD PRO/USB3, and even AMD 890GX-based motherboards such as M4A89GTD PRO. The list also shows certain AM3+ motherboards that use dated chipsets such as 760G, probably the entry-level of ASUS' M5A series of motherboards.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: SweClockers
     
  2. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Very awesome. I have a buddy with a Crosshair IV Formula mobo who will be delighted to hear this!
     
  3. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    That's good news!
     
  4. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,310 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    edit: mega-ninja'ed!
     
  5. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Does that mean ITX AM3 boards are compatible?

    Like the ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E ??? Its 140 watt CPU capable.
     
  6. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    Nice to hear that they are providing backwards compatibility, unlike some blue company which shall be left unnamed.
     
  7. Marv

    Marv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Maidstone, UK
    Fantastic news! Just hope the processors can deliver too!

    I do wonder though whether the AM3 motherboards will be compatible, but not as good as the AM3+ boards from a performance perspective despite both using DDR3 and so on.
     
  8. AMD'ers

    AMD'ers New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Garut, West Java
    its good news . not like intel . :rockout:
     
  9. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Wait, timeout. I though AM3+ socket had 942 pins which infers that AM3+ chips will have 942 pins. If that was true, the Zambezi will physically not fit into a AM3 socket motherboard. Updating your BIOS doesn't alter the laws of physics.

    Does ASUS plan to release some kind of adapter or were the pin count reports wrong?
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It means that every AM3 motherboard ever made is compatible provided the motherboard vendor decides to give a supportive BIOS update.

    To answer your question on ITX, that will also depend on the VRM of the ITX board, whether it supports 125W CPUs. Most ITX AMD motherboards support up to 95W CPUs, not 125W or 140W.
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,784 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    That's what I thought, but really we haven't seen the pinout on the CPU itself yet soo... woo hoo. I'm happy about it as I can just upgrade my CPU first if I would want to.
     
  12. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    ZOTAC 890GXITX-A-E

    Yes but if read the specs it supports up to 140-watt TDP CPU, might just put my BE processor in it and use a Bulldozer processor in my gaming rig, once they are released.
     
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,221 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    829
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    This is great news. Hopefully MSI releases update for my 790FX-GD70 board. I am going to hold on to it for some more time to see if luck favors.
     
  14. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Didn't TPU post a report from ASRock that they were going to release an board with the 890GX or FX chipset but an AM3b socket. According to them and their pre-release pics, the socket should look something like this:

    [​IMG]

    Anyone up for a count?
     
  15. ROad86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I dont know what excactly is happening with compatibility but gigabyte too has released am3+ motherboards http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3781#ov. More models are availabe claiming to be revision 3.1 if you visit the site.
    As it seems bulldozer will be backawards compatible but we have to see in what extent.
     
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Then sure, your VRM can support FX processors. All that's left is Zotac giving you that important BIOS update.

    Market reasons will restrict motherboard vendors. They would much rather see you buy a new board from them. However, ASUS is a huge company, and giving away a Bulldozer-supporting BIOS won't hurt them. If anything, it will make ASUS' existing AM3 boards sell well till June.
     
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,784 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    Yeah, we know what the socket looks like, we haven't seen the backside of a CPU yet. Maybe AM3 users will get a hole drill kit? :laugh:
     
    jmcslob and TheLaughingMan say thanks.
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    While I won't comment on a certain blue companies crappy strategy, doesn't this news kind of prove that AMD it really doing the same thing, just being more blatent about it? I mean AMD is saying that Bulldozer will not work at all with older chipsets and sockets, yet ASUS just proved AMD is full of it and is just saying that to get us all to buy new boards/chipsets...

    Personally, I was hoping that AMD would use this as an opertunity to switch to LGA sockets instead of ZIF, I'm tired of pins on the CPU, they bend/break easier.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  19. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Actually they just said it wouldn't work with the older socket. Also this is coming from a "source" of someone else's, so he could just be full of it.

    If AMD wanted you to buy a new board every time the released a new chip, they would just take Intel approach and come out with a completely new pin layout/socket each time. They have never done that, so why start now.

    If we are taking sides, I chose to believe this news report is full of crap and the old info. about the sockets were right. I mean its all up in the air until someone from AMD steps forward and says something or the NDA is lifted and BtaRunr can just tell us the truth.
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    WarEagleAU and TheLaughingMan say thanks.
  21. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    The lesser of the two evils is the angel ;)

    I wish AMD will use LGA too, but it makes sense to use ZIF if the processors are cheaper than the motherboards (which seems to be the case for lower end processors).
     
  22. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I agree that AMD's continued silence on the matter is discomforting. Although, to be fair, AMD has never stated that the current chipsets are incompatible with Zambezi.

    JF-AMD has stated that AMD's official stance is that a motherboard manufacturer making a Zambezi chip run in an AM3 board via BIOS update is not supported. He doesn't say it is impossible.
     
  23. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,691 (11.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,664
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The less smelly among two turds is still a turd.
     
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,784 (13.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,163
    I'm glad they didn't. For me, messing up a pin on a LGA socket seems all to easy. If you do happen to mess up a pin, it can be fixed, but a pin on the CPU itself seems easier to fix for me.
     
  25. $immond$ New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    394 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Edmonton
    agreed, much easier to fix on a CPU then on a board.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page