1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD G34 Motherboards Spotted

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 4, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,240 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,583
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Some of the first AMD socket G34 motherboards were caught on camera, at the ongoing Computex event, by Inpai. The new socket succeeds the G3MX, which was discontinued in its development process itself. It facilitates upcoming six-core, and twelve-core "Magny-Corus" processors by AMD, which will use HyperTransport 3.0 system interface (for the first time on the enterprise AMD platform), and support the quad-channel (per socket) memory interface. One of the first processors in line for this socket is the based on the "Istanbul" six-core silicon.

    The Inventec G34 HPC motherboard (left, below) will be targeted at the server and HPC markets. The two sockets are wired to twelve DDR3 DIMM slots per socket, each array supporting a 256-bit wide (quad-channel) memory interface. The Quanta G34 looks to be more workstation oriented, featuring several PCI-Express slots, and eight DIMM slots per socket. Like Socket F, the new socket physically will be a land-grid array, with pins on the socket, and contact points on the processor package. Its pin-count is known to be 1974.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: INPAI
  2. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    SICK!!! Woohoo Are these AM3 sockets?? Eight Dimms Quad Channel Dual PCIe16???? JATownes likes ALOT!!!

    Edit: Just noticed G34...Definately want to try these
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
  3. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    G34, it's for servers
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    who comes up with these crazy ass names?

    im waiting for the new chutney core cpus. 13core FTMFW
  5. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,240 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,583
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    "Magny-Corus" = many cores.
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yeah i figured but still....
  7. Baleful

    Baleful New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    112 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Ooooohhhhh can't wait to see what these things do to WCG! :rockout:
  8. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    Freaky Tomatoes Mightily Fire Walnuts?
  9. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,201 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    I dont think the one on the left has enough ram slots.
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,715 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    Holy crap, as a hardware junkie, I need to change my pants after seeing these bad boys.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,240 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,583
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    It's two slots per channel, typically enough for workstations.
  12. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Wow, now that's a real workhorse.
  13. alentor New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    does someone know anytinng about the new BULLDOZER CPUs from AMD, like if they will use a new architecture? or anything else, im just really curious about the new CPUs
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    I read "Miley-Cyrus" :laugh: :laugh: :roll:
    dustyshiv says thanks.
  15. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,651 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    odd phase designs on both boards doesn't seem like its enough to power these chips....
  16. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    and that stops it from being cool how now?? lol i think he knew that. Parade rain delay canceled :)
  17. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,020 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN

    Tee Hee..:laugh: thanks for the laugh
  18. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,738 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    yep, new architecture from the ground up. thats what 12-core will be based off
  19. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Quad channel, a good sign, wonder when this will roll over to the FX/GX series.
  20. alentor New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    and what about the new desktop CPUS? will they use the new architecture as well?
  21. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,738 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    US
    they aren't designing just server CPU's :laugh: desktop CPU's should be the same
    but i wouldn't hope for much at this point, that way you will never be disappointed :) will just have to wait and see

    EDIT: i take that back, just saw slides that show that consumer side will not see more than 4 cores even in 2011.
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
    alentor says thanks.
  22. alentor New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    okay, thank u ; o <3
  23. Beowulf New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Err, no.
    The name "Magny-Cours" comes from a racetrack because of AMD sponsoring F1 racing.
    Just like Shanhai, Barcelona and Istanbul are race tracks.

    Brightsideofnews went through the complete naming scheme of AMD recently, Here.

    Magny-Cours is perhaps a many core processor, but that fact has nothing to do with the name. A common mistake I just had to clarify :)
    btarunr and a111087 say thanks.
  24. AlCabone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Europe
    You beat me to it :)
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Circuit_de_Nevers_Magny-Cours
  25. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    You mean Ferrari :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page