1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD gpu info on regedit

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Aleksander, Dec 5, 2012.

  1. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I wanted to know how to find the amd gpu on regedit,
    since it seems impossible with all the folders it has,
    even after searching and which key is the right one?
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    What exactly are you looking for in the registry?
  3. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    when you see the info in dxdiag, it shows only 6700 series
    I have to find the info from the regedit, without any other program used,
    to find which model of the 6700 is.
    In my case it's 6770HD

    but i need to find it, in all computers, not just mine because i know it from gpu-z

    or better saying, where is the key in regedit, of the graphic card models?
  4. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,096 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    558
    GPU-z reports from the driver. It's the driver saying 6700 series.
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    You may be able to get that information through the WMI interface, or directly from the drivers, but I don't know if that information is stored in the registry in that manner. If it is, it's not a reliable place to find the information as the registry can contain a whole lot of information that is not relevant if it's not removed when an application or driver is removed from the system.
  6. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,701 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    East TN
    WMI should give you the same results "Series" and not pin point card model. I was thinking of a way the other day... But it would take alot of time, is read the "Device Id". Perfect database would be the "VGA Database".

    So your code would be more like

    'Get DeviceID, in your case would be "1002 68BA".. or in my case "1002 6738" (6870)
    'Check through your database for match ID
    'Return Model Name

    Just a thought tho.. hope it helps
  7. Ghost

    Ghost

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    272 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Unknown
    Yeah, you can check device ID.

    Or specifications. HD 6770, for example, has 800 SP while HD 6750 has 720.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page