1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD HD 6000 Northern Islands Feature Slides Leaked

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD is close to unveiling its next-generation "Northern Islands" GPU family, which will be branded under the AMD Radeon HD 6000 series. These include two new performance-thru-extreme GPUs, namely Barts and Cayman. There's also a dual-Cayman implementation codenamed Antilles. While specifications are anyone's guess besides the little details we know about Barts and Cayman, the feature-set of the Northern Island family was communicated to AIB parts in a presentation which was leaked by the Chinese press.

    To begin with, the key feature additions in Northern Islands includes a much more evolved display logic that can drive five displays simultaneously over physical outputs that include two dual-link DVI-I, one HDMI 1.4 (full-size), and two mini DisplayPort 1.2 connectors. The logic also provides you to install up to six monitors over the two DisplayPort connectors by daisy-chaining them, making use of the MultiStream feature of DP 1.2, which supports two times the data-rate of DP 1.1, and can provide very high-resolution display, or HD display with stereoscopic 3D (120 Hz). HDMI 1.4 lets you make use of Blu-ray 3D. A new video processing engine, UVD 3.0, provides GPU acceleration for MPEG-2, DivX, MVC (multi video coding), for Blu-ray 3D.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    As far as performance incentives are concerned, Northern Islands does seek to add significant performance incentives over previous generations, its also comes up with a new naming scheme. Radeon HD 6800 series will be a gamer's sweet-spot performance SKU (competitive with the lower models of NVIDIA's GeForce GTX 400 series, such as GTX 460), while Radeon HD 6900 series is purely for the entusiast, competitive with the higher-end models of the GeForce GTX 400 series, such as GTX 470 and GTX 480. A new king-of-the-hill SKU that succeeds the Radeon HD 5970 is also planned.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Some micro-technical details of the Barts-based and Cayman-based SKUs were also revealed. Barts XT and Barts Pro are slated for later this month, Cayman XT and Cayman Pro for late November, just in time for the winter shopping season. New relevant details include:
    • Cayman XT and Pro SKUs will feature 1 GB of GDDR5 memory
    • Cayman XT will make use of new 6 Gb/s GDDR5 chips, likely to increase memory bandwidth by 20%; Cayman Pro will also see a 20% increase in memory bandwidth, over previous generation

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: ChipHell
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2010
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  2. Rebelstar

    Rebelstar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    71 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Minsk, Belarus
    Why only 1GB?? Can somebody give some logical reason? If ATI so pushing their eyefinity that means it's using high resolutions at least 5760x1080 or more and 1gb isn't enough, so why 1 gb again as in 58XX series?
     
  3. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    For fuk sake, 1GB of memory, lik my ballz AMD!
     
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,629 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,482
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    This is just the reference spec from AMD, board partners may well add to the memory if they feel there is a market for it, this way the reference spec price is kept lower to better compete, of course NVidia currently do it the opposite way with the 470 and 480, but NVidia is considered expensive at the top end by many enthusiasts and this may be just one reason why.
     
  5. Taskforce Guest

    This might sound like just another conspiracy theory, but after looking at the head to head chart with AMD and Nvidia i get a disgusting feeling the two corporations are teamed up to take advantage of consumers.
     
  6. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Just like the 5xxx cards there will be 2gb cards from various board partners but they will of corse cost more, i think this is one of the main reasons why AMD is sticking with 1gb for the reference models.
    Going up to the 6 Gb/s GDDR5 chips i would assume means higher cost per chip and AMD will want to keep the cost of the reference card down.

    If the cayman chips are good enough i will definatly be holding out untill the 2gb cards are out as if i go with AMD i will proberley be going for a 5760x1200 eyefinity setup.
     
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,610 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,229
    Why?
     
  8. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I think they are just trying to beat each other in each round of new hardware to make more money, they can't make massive gains over each other each time due to things like profit margins,power consumption, die size/yield so its just a constant game of beating each other by just enough each time.
     
  9. 983264

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    61 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Now this is something... Looks like this is the time to change my good old HIS 4670 IceQ Turbo to a 6670 or 6870...
     
  10. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Well they've done it before for a start.

    It makes them lots of money.

    Neither of them go out of business.


    It's like having a friend who owns a shop opposite yours selling the same things, so you alternate the days you have sales. So you both get a nice share of the pie.
     
  11. asaoifsa

    asaoifsa New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cairo, Egypt
    Anyone notice???

    a gtx 450.........
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,629 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,482
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    As opposed to a GTS 450 you mean? prolly just a typeen error :laugh:
     
  13. Semi-Lobster

    Semi-Lobster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    353 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    AMD keeps insisting the 6870 is faster than the 5870 but everything I've seen so far has indicated otherwise....
     
  14. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    366 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    FAKE!

    GTX 450 :wtf:
     
  15. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    366 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    AMD has said nothing about performance of the new cards, if they did stick a link to it up.
     
  16. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    you guys missed this line
    Cayman XT will make use of new 6 Gb/s GDDR5 chips, likely to increase memory bandwidth by 20%; Cayman Pro will also see a 20% increase in memory bandwidth, over previous generation




    look these are new 20% increase memory chips that is why the 1gig so go nvidia and change the kotex......
     
  17. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,784 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    uhm look at the pics it shows barts as gt460 and it is a little above the green one also the caymanxt is also above the gt480 and the dual well it is off the chart at the top......
     
  18. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,629 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,482
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    But thats just market placement surely, if their new generation mid range cards only perform on par with NVidia's current mid range then they are in trouble.
     
  19. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    366 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Yeah it's fake, and when was Northern islands named Northern island...:wtf:
     
  20. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    485
    Location:
    Australia
    SHH don't tell anyone it is AMD now :roll:
     
  21. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    740 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    106
    Um that is talking about memory bandwidth not capacity.

    It seems very odd that the 'enthusiast' level products (69xx) will only have 1GB of memory as standard. Whilst price is a factor it is still odd not to see 2GB as a standard for a card that will no doubt cost more than £350 (I don't know the USD prices).
     
  22. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    As far as i understood, bandwith means nothing if the program being used needs more memory than is provided.
     
  23. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    I have never played a game that uses more than 1gb memory (vram), ok GTA4, but that is also badly coded ported game. But otherwise I mostly never go over 500mb vram. I use 1920x1200 res, maybe you need more with eyefinity, but I dont care about eyefinity so it doesnt matter to me.
     
  24. crow1001

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    366 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    ^^ You mainly play Doom 3? or 800x600 res with no AA.:roll:
     
  25. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    Really i'm sure that many games on a single 1920x1200 monitor or below won't come close to 1gb thus why there is no need to increase the cost of the reference model but anyone wanting to play at higher res/across multiple monitors will just have to wait for the board partners to make something suitable for their needs.... only problem is we don't want to wait :p

    I would assume many games would find 1gb a limitation at 2560x1600 upto 7860x1600.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page