1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Infuses Corporate Brand with the Power of ''Fusion''

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Sep 18, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD today launched a new corporate brand campaign under a new tagline, "The Future is Fusion." The campaign is intended to focus on how the unique AMD combination of technologies, coupled with close relationships with computer manufacturers and a deep understanding of customer needs, results in exciting next-generation capabilities and experiences at work, at home, and at play.

    “Fusion is AMD’s way to express how we blend our customers’ needs, dreams and desires with our unique passion for enabling innovation,” said Nigel Dessau, AMD senior vice president and chief marketing officer. “While this unique approach has always been our practice, ‘Fusion’ is the most focused articulation yet of how AMD marries innovation with collaboration in ways that can yield benefits to the marketplace greater than the sum of its parts.”

    The adoption of the “Fusion” brand and the accompanying global campaign, which is expected to run through the end of the year, are among several steps AMD is taking as part of a broader transformation designed to sharpen its focus around its core microprocessor and graphics technology businesses. AMD recently signed an agreement to sell its Digital TV business to Broadcom as part of its efforts to better focus resources on its core computing and graphics businesses.

    The new company brand and the campaign were designed to address marketplace directions that AMD identified through internal research, and by working closely with its strategic customers and partners who depend on AMD’s microprocessors to offer choice to consumers worldwide.

    “We anticipate that AMD’s new ‘Fusion’ campaign will spark new opportunities in the market,” said Michael Mendenhall, senior vice president and chief marketing officer for Hewlett Packard. “For some time, we’ve enjoyed a successful collaborative relationship with AMD that’s helped our business offer differentiated solutions that address our customers’ most pressing challenges.”

    At the heart of the campaign is the “Fusion” brand concept: a unique energy created by connecting AMD people and technology with those of its partners. Fusion is the AMD working philosophy that marries innovation with collaboration, and is the process by which AMD and its partners can enable next-generation technologies that change the way we live, work and play.

    An example of ”Fusion” in the AMD product roadmap is its Fusion Architecture – the stated intent to combine the photo-realistic imagery made possible by its graphics processing units with the processing power of its central processing units. The company believes its new “Fusion” brand concept captures the benefits of this same collaborative initiative across a range of technology platforms, partner relationships, employee teams, and market segments.

    “At work, Fusion means delivering leading server performance against real-world workloads with best-in-class performance-per-Watt and powerful virtualization capabilities,” Dessau said. “At home, Fusion means enabling people to share the full range of digital content on any screen they choose. At play, Fusion builds on the AMD and ATI record of leadership in providing the first 3-D graphics processing unit and driving the graphics for both the Microsoft Xbox 360 and Wii by Nintendo game systems.”

    AMD has a history of technology breakthroughs in the work, home and play segments. For example:
    • In the workplace, the company was the first to demonstrate both the world’s first x86 dual-core processor and the first native quad-core x86 processor.
    • In the home, AMD invented 3DNOW! Technology, the first x86 innovation to significantly enhance 3D graphics and multimedia for PCs. It was also the first to break the 1GHz (one billion clock cycles per second) barrier with its AMD Athlon processor.
    • At play, industry-leading ATI Radeon graphics cards, AMD 7-Series chipsets and AMD Phenom multi core processors combine for balanced, high-performance gaming platforms. Fused with unique software utilities such as AMD OverDrive and ATI Catalyst Control Center, AMD platforms empower gamers everywhere to push the boundaries of performance.

    Consumers, especially PC gaming fans, can see and experience the power of Fusion on their PC desktop in a new and exciting way. Available today for download, the AMD Fusion for Gaming utility beta2 is designed to allow gamers to experience greater performance on AMD processor-based PCs with a simple click of a button. It works by temporarily reducing resource-consuming background services while boosting compute performance with advanced acceleration technologies, including:
    • Auto-Tune for AMD processors and chipsets, which is designed to optimize platform performance while maintaining system stability;
    • Clock Multiplier Control and Advanced Clock Calibration from within the AMD Overdrive utility allows gaming enthusiasts to customize the performance level of their processor and platform.
    • AMD Overdrive is able to monitor the temperature, frequency and stability of the processor and platform to allow users to find the optimal settings for the task at hand;
    • Auto-Tune for ATI graphics from within the award-winning Catalyst Control Center software, providing complete control of the performance and visual quality of your ATI Radeon graphics for a personalized visual experience on the PC; and
    • Hard Drive Acceleration to decrease data seek time and increase hard drive performance.

    This tool is currently being released in a beta form and is designed to help gamers experience the power of AMD Fusion by creating an easily attained performance optimization previously reserved for a highly technical PC enthusiast community. Advanced users may then customize profiles by selecting specific processes for temporary disablement and degrees of hardware tuning depending on usage scenarios.

    For more details about the new advertising campaign, visit http://fusion.amd.com and to download the AMD Fusion for Gaming utility beta version for AMD processor-based PCs, visit http://game.amd.com/us-en/drivers_fusion.aspx.

    Source: AMD
     
  2. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    beta...

    beta dont work on vista x64 with sp1
     
  3. Abu Assar

    Abu Assar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Egypt
    I'd like to see the AMD logo updated as well
     
  4. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Okay so what this basically does with AMD processors is that it shuts down some processes, jacks up CPU priority to the game's process, and uses some "AMD Boost" (that red dot in the green circle for AOD) to increase CPU performance so games are playable run faster.

    I didn't find more than 1~2% increase with Everest Ultimate CPU tests with the boost mode enabled (under AOD). Instead, my 42-ish °C Phenom scorched at 55 °C.
     
  5. blueskynis

    blueskynis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    I thing boost mode only disables CnQ, so you don't hit the Phenom's CnQ culprit with single threaded games/apps.
     
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, boost doesn't play with CnQ. With CnQ disabled (in the BIOS), the CPU still idles at ~42 °C for me. The bus speeds/multipliers HT Link / CPU-NB voltage, all are the same. Including vCore (according to Everest Ultimate). It's still a mystery what this boost mode does that the CPU reaches 55 °C.
     
  7. Baam New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Trucker..so all over
    Bah no Vista 64. Anyone tested this with a spider setup?
     
  8. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    A lot of stuff doesn't work on Vista x64, let's be honest here.
     
  9. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    What does it idle at? My friend says his phenom gets stuck if it goes over 32 °C.
    Did you check the clock speed while running it?Check with Cpu-z rather than everest(though you don't need telling).
    Does CnQ even work for you in XP?
    I'll test with my x2 soon. 20 Mb will take some time.
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    [​IMG]

    5 minutes of idling in boost mode (red box in the tray shows CPU pin-1, green shows NB).

    Boost is the secret of my energy™ [consumption]
     
    peach1971 says thanks.
  11. MadCow New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Messages:
    544 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    Wow, that program just completely locks up my system. Probably because my mobo is barely even half-working, but still.
     
  12. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Fusion on my sytem
    Wprime with basic mode no gain in performance+ temp jumps from 32 to 38(just jumps no intermediate) and goes higher
    with expert it went through the shutdow process
    Advanced- 2 sec advantage in wprime for a total of 15-18 temp increase.
    and for the lol
    [​IMG]
    Amd is kind enough to warn you that you will see the powerfull capabilities of their CPU :laugh:
     
  13. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Could it be doing something funky like disabling your fan? Could be something as simple as that -- no way to tell if it's actually consuming more power unless you've got a Kill-A-Watt measuring current draw.
     
  14. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    My fan always runs at 100% and no changes in voltages plus as Bta said there is not much gain.
     
  15. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Now this is what I'm talking about. True, honest demonstration on how powerful the Ohenom really are when it comes to all cores. Screw the game benchmarks, if they enable all four cores the Core 2 series will be left in the dust.
     
  16. evil bill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    370 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    lol I read the headline as "AMD Confuses Corporate Brand with the Power of "Fusion""

    :eek:
     
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I can see all my fans spinning. On a side note, yes, Windows XP does have all proper software for CnQ and C1E support enabled. Regarding power draw, the fact that the chip runs that much hotter, at the same CPU parameters (including vCore) shows something is fishy. It's logical to assume the power draw goes up (how else is the CPU heating up?).

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Abu Assar

    Abu Assar New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Egypt
    check out this blog post about fusion :
    http://blogs.amd.com/patmoorhead/archive/2008/09/17/fusion-for-gaming.aspx

    it is very impressive if these numbers can be easily done .
     
  19. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    man why does this come after i upgrade to vista 64 and it doesn't support vista 64. jesus amd why!!!!
     
  20. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Did you try the Basic,expert and advanced setting. The UI is pretty bad for this thing.
    If you don't find the Basic,expert and advanced setting just minimize it to tray(You'll find a small arrow pointing downward along with a x button on the right top corner). Now right click the tray icon and hover the mouse on turn fusion on and it'll give you the options.

    My processor is heating up more than what it did when I gave it a 200Mhz increase and just like then there was no gain in performance. Seriously something fishy. With the temps rising like that I'm definitely not going to be using it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2008
  21. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    so i have only amd 6000x2 cpu with nforce mobo and nvidia card . did this program useful for me
     
  22. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    Nope. Not at all.
    AMD needs to get better coders.
     
  23. Gyrxiur

    Gyrxiur

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    unofficial x64 release by me

    Some editing in setup file and it works, I edited x86 version to run on x64, working great. In installation click on "Rozbalit" other string are in english. http://tinyurl.com/AMDFusion-x64 Bye
     
  24. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    has anybody been able to figure out exactly why the processor seems to heat up, i mean i've got a nake 5000 be under an ultra120 extreme that is lapped super super smooth lol. my cpu went from 32 to 40 idle but the load doesn't seem to go any higher then i would without it installed. I did notice a significant increase in performance in games like WoW and a small performance in 3dmark and cod4. all and all a cool idea, saves me time not having to disable all of those services. the temp is a small issue, but i wish i had a better idea behind the curtains as to what is going on.
     
  25. xfire

    xfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    Hyderabad,India
    if any one has an option to disable Oc'ing in bios it might help.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page