1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Introduces Industry's First Sub-$100 Quad-Core Processor

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    27,678 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,418
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    As part of the new desktop platform designed for mainstream consumers, AMD today announced the first ever quad-core processor for less than $100 Suggested System Builder Price (SSBP). By balancing the power of new AMD Athlon II X4 quad-core processors and the AMD 785G chipset featuring ATI Radeon HD 4200 graphics, AMD delivers smooth HD visuals and the foundation for a great Windows 7 experience.

    When matched against similarly priced competitive processors, the AMD Athlon II X4 620 processor delivers superior multitasking performance allowing mainstream users to do more in less time, for less money. The AMD Mainstream Desktop Platform leverages AMD software to help enhance the overall experience. ATI Stream technology, for example, enables hardware acceleration that can speed HD video conversion-time so content can be ready faster for use on-the-go.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Combining the efficiency of 45nm processors and this platform’s built-in power management technologies for a cool and quiet PC, an AMD Athlon II processor-based platform can serve-up an amazing Blu-ray movie experience using less energy than a standard 75 watt light bulb. This platform also can improve business users’ experience as part of AMD Business Class technology. With this second generation commercial platform, AMD industry partners can offer a variety of form factors with superior value, exceptional energy efficiency, advanced visual productivity. This platform also has support for essential manageability, security and virtualization features that today’s businesses demand.

    “Our goal is to deliver a great computing experience and maximize value for our customers,” said John Cook, vice president of marketing, global PC business, HP. “The new AMD quad-core processors offer the right balance between excellent performance and price, and allow HP to continue to be a best-in-class provider of consumer technology.”

    “Designed with customer needs in mind, Windows 7 simplifies and improves the computing experience,” said Mike Ybarra, general manager of Windows Product Management at Microsoft Corp. “The introduction of the new AMD Mainstream Desktop Platform coupled with Windows 7, allows end users to enjoy their digital entertainment with a faster, higher performing experience at an attractive price point.”
    Kei, Sihastru and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  2. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    823 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Nice, though in Latvia it would cost like 150+ dollars xD
  3. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    wow X4 less then $100 I'm going to pick one up if I can't find a 955 or 965 for cheap
  4. Chad Boga

    Chad Boga New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I've been a bit surprised AMD having been losing market share in recent Qtr's, perhaps there is a lag effect. If so, one would think with products like this they would soon start growing market share.
  5. adrianx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    324 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Bucharest ROMANIA
    any diference from Phenom II ?
  6. Noggrin New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    It's basically the same as the Deneb chip, but it has no L3 cache. ;)
  7. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    There was a review of this processor two days back I hadn't heard of it caught me off guard now I see.

    Performance seems alright especially considering a sub-$100 processor. Compared to Phenom II it's missing the L3 Cache, other than that not sure of the technical differences I can't quite read the review :p
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,686 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    sounds like a good chip for my media PC :D

    it'd be low wattage, and i'm sure it would undervolt well.


    am i blind, i cant see clock speed or cache mentioned anywhere?
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  9. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Exactly what I was thinking. I'm grabbing a 785G and throwing my old F2 Windsor 3800+ X2 in there for now, but this looks like what I'll upgrade to when funds permit.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,686 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    from that german review, it seems its 2.6GHz with 95W TDP
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    Only 6w more than the 3800+ X2, but with 600Mhz more speed, 2 extra cores, and higher IPC. Still sounds like a good upgrade to me. :D
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,686 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    true.

    cool and quiet also works well, so it wont use anywhere near that at idle, or when watching hardware accelerated movies.

    it really is a good pairing for 780G/785G
  13. rizla1

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    470 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    ireland
    that is gona be cheap around the price of 550 and bout £10 more than the athlon x2
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I wanna see how these OC. If most do 3.8+ I'll be grabbing one and a really nice 785G overclocking board :D
  15. AKlass New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Who knows? Maybe you can Unlock the hidden 4 cores and the L3 cache :laugh:
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,686 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    L3 cache is possible to unlock. thats been done before on athlon II models.
  17. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,160 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    any cpu-z screen shot
  18. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  19. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,698
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Already bought a intel quad core now XD what can you do ha ah damn technologies!
  20. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,009 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    I guess it overclocks very well. Tweaktown got it to 3.9
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  21. scheilinkin

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia
    Hello from Novi Sad, Serbia

    I have this (620) processor for 5 days, and the only reason for me to buy it was a chance to maybe unlock the L3 cache. Of course Ive got a Propus based processor and not the Deneb version, so i didnt have any luck in unlocking. peformance is the same as PhenomII X3 720.
    but my feeling is that this quad works better with games (crysis, farcry 2 ... )
  22. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It simply can't be propus based, because that will be mcm.
    You simply got one that couldn't unlock. :(
    But without that L3 I will say it wil OC well given that my PII 810 can easily do 3.7+.
  23. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Not that I'm aware of -- the Athlon II aren't crippled Phenom's. They're completely different chips without any L3 cache!
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,686 (11.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,213
    i take it you missed the link a few posts up, to a news post here on TPU where it was done?
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow, for the price that is damn awesome. Ive been wanting to build a media pc for some time now, because let's face it, you can never have enough pc hardware or pcs in your home. I love my PS3 and all, but Id love to watch movies on my 50" plasma in the living room than my 32" LCD in my bedroom. With the costs of 785G boards, this proc, and a nice Bluray burner (or combo dvd burner,bluray reader) this shouldnt be bad at all.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page