1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Introduces Phenom II X4 965 BE RB-C3 Revision 125W

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    I think im going to buy 1 of these tomorrow since my 965 C2 has a faulty core and will not overclock past 3.6Ghz on Core #3
     
  2. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    it is newsworthy...

    not everyone has a 955/965 or comparable intel CPU. not everyone has a mobo that could support 140w
     
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Wow, very nice. I don;t hate myself for getting the 125W 955BE because I am humming along at 4Ghz nicely, and have gotten it up to 4200 before. Id love the new proc but eh, Im happy with finally getting a quad.
     
  4. Fx

    Fx

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    504 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I am too. I have really enjoyed my 955 for a couple months now. I had a 9500 before and it was a huge leap in performance
     
  5. springs113

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    666 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    i have my 955 at 3.8...however typing this on my q6600 sys(htpc) and man performing an oc from stock to 3 did me a huge improvement...at first i thought maybe its the system but then i remember it had a raptor has a hdd w/ 4gb ram... but then i realized that oc on my 955be @ 3.8 really is something.

    long story short AMDs pIIs are really something....side note my 955 can hit 4.1 (roughly) but i don't wanna run it at the insane voltage of 1.5...
    my 720be feels faster than my q6600 but then again thats 3.6 vs 2.4....just need a 5970 for my gaming rig. transfer my 4850s to my 720be rig, and a 5770 to my htpc....nothing like being able to do dts true hd like with AMD...
    there i go ranting again but as of late its been real fun to be a builder/gamer/enthusiast
     
  6. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,177 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    wow. looks like a 4ghz + for a 24/7 gaming rig on PIIs will now be mainstream. sweet
     
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I heard ya, you 955 is still better than my 810 which does not exist on the markey anymore. :p
    I am trading in my 810 for one of these babies. :rockout:
     
  8. Judas

    Judas

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,032 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    I ordered mine.... AMD here we come :p need MB too, hmm I think the Crosshair III will do nicely
     
  9. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Not on Newegg yet...
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,460 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,479
    Only Problem is Most E-tailers and retailers wont tell you which stepping version they have, because the want to get rid of their excess first. When I got my AXP 3200+ it was a guess at what date code it was made, as they were locking CPUs at the time for the A64 to take over, Lucky it was unlocked but many years later i crushed the core, so I wound up putting in a AXP-M in which is unlocked and runs at 3200+ speed.
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    If you don't have any of those things, it's a possible upgrade for you. If you already have a 955 or 965, it isn't worth it at all.

    Regardless, a new stepping isn't a news worthy item to me unless the difference is very drastic, which this isn't.
     
  12. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,562 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    There are more people without a 955/965, than with.:)

    It is drastic, as the 965 becomes compatible with more motherboards. Only a small minority support 140W CPUs. Techsites published entire reviews on the new stepping, what's the harm in a ~100 word news post. I could scout the web for a picture of some azn hottie holding the chip, if it makes you feel better.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2009
  13. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,156 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    993
    it doesn't matter, look at the specs and see whether the TDP is 140W or 125W. :D
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,460 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,479
    this makes the CPU available to a wider array of Motherboards.
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yes, that would make me feel much better about it. :D
     
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,562 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    There, she's holding a Phenom II 965 BE RB-C3:

    [​IMG]

    It's normal if you don't see the processor. It's not normal of you to look for one though.
     
    phanbuey and Wile E say thanks.
  17. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    I looked for the processor.

    Its just a woman I see loads of them,their quite common!

    Now if it was a naked woman and someone was looking for the processor, that be odd lol.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,460 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,479
    Cute Petite Girl. A++
     
  19. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,840 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,534
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I still have a pre-Week 39, 2003 Athlon XP 2500+ that is factory unlocked. It was a great CPU, and originally my dad's (because I was about 12 at the time) :)

    Anyways, I'd love to have a new stepping to tinker with, but I bought my 125w 955BE in August and I just messed around with its frequency and voltage today (currently at 2.8GHz/1.125v core, 2200MHz NB + HT). Great chip.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,460 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,479
    Well with my Current setup, I can only reach 2.2GHz Stabily, CPU remains Cool under pressure but the motherboard doesn't when pushed beyond 200x11, it was my dream to get at least 2.5GHz out of this machine for gaming.
     
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,562 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Let's try the alternate catchphrase I had in mind:

    "it's in that bag".
     
  22. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Yes I gathered that.
     
  23. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Very much considering a Phenom II X4 for my lan rig to really let the GTX260 fly, the Athlon 240 aint so hot....

    And damn the price is great on these chips compared to i7's, there's a reason for that but if you like or own AMD, this seems like a kickass buy.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page