1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Introduces Phenom II X6 1100T BE, X2 565 BE, Athlon II X3 455

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,864 (11.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD rolled out three new processors today, the six-core Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition, Athlon II X3 455, and the Phenom II X2 565 Black Edition. The new flagship of AMD's processor lineup, the Phenom II X6 1100T, is based on the AM3 socket, supporting DDR3 and DDR2 memory on older AM2+ motherboards. It carries a nominal clock speed of 3.30 GHz, is based on the 45 nm "Thuban" silicon, features 512 KB of L2 cache per core, and 6 MB of L3 between all six cores. It features the TurboCore technology, which bumps clock speed by a few hundred MHz when it senses high load. As a Black Edition chip, it features an unlocked bus multiplier. Despite its increased clock speed, the 1100T has a TDP of 125W. This chip goes for US $265.

    Next up, is the Phenom II X2 565 Black Edition. Clocked at 3.40 GHz, the X2 565 is based on the Callisto silicon (which is Deneb with two cores locked), featuring 512 KB of cache per core, and 6 MB shared L3 cache. This one has a TDP of 80W, and is priced at US $115. Lastly, there's the Athlon II X3 455, a triple-core chip based on the "Rana" silicon (which is Propus with one core locked), it lacks an L3 cache, but features 512 KB L2 per core. With a TDP of 95W, this one goes for $87.


    [​IMG]
     
  2. meirb111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    more of the same

    what is missing is a cheap x6 phenom the other athlon and phenom list is already full
    no need for them.
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  3. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    usually low end models gets phased out by bigger brothers.
    the new high end models fills the previous top spot model, bringing prices down.

    works rather good, I love the X6's for vmware esxI whiteboxes!
     
  4. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    about the athelon x3 455, they are many fallers trays when unlocked the 4th core not like the 450 which about more than 80% guaranty to unlocked the 4th core.
     
  5. meirb111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    my point is there is no low clock x6 the lowest is 1055t 2.8 in amds cpu list there is the
    1035t but nobody is selling it
     
  6. bear jesus

    bear jesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,535 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Britland
    I'm pretty sure the 1035T is OEM only.
     
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Whats the point of having a low clock X6 if they drop the price and the faster x6?
    Unless you some how hate having a faster x6 for the same money. ;)
    Also it is usually better having a high clocked X4 than a low clock X6.
     
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    520
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Ya gotta figure they have the manufacturing process pretty much perfected now cause they've been making them for 2 years which means this batch of chips will be very unlockable.
     
  9. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,057 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Is there any point in releasing more x2s and x3s don't they saturate the market? Especially when Athlon x4s are so cheap.

    The price between an x6 1055T and a 1090T BE is stupid if only there was another option for a BE, possibly then the new 1100T will drop the prices of the other x6s then.
     
  10. meirb111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    if i use your logic then what is the point in low athlon and low clock phenoms
    but i am not using that logic .if there is such a big variety (to much) in athlons and phenoms
    people might expect bigger variety for x6 phenoms .
     
  11. DarthCyclonis New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    69 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Just wish they would come out with a new architecture that would complete with Intel instead of dropping a different Phenom and Athlon chip every couple of months. Sure..It's nice to have a 6 core chip but not if it gets spanked by an old intel socket 775 Q9550.
     
  12. meirb111 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    here is an idea: phenom x5 ,if amd has x3 why not x5 so we would unlock the sixth core in
    the bios and it will cost us less
     
  13. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Oh. Then lucky for your the Q9550 has been spanked by a variety of AMD Phenom II processors. And this one will also walk all over that particular chip as well, so you can turn that frown upside down. But you don't have to take my word, you can look for yourself:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Phenom_II_X6_1090T/3.html
     
  14. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I really don't see the need for these processors, well at least the athlon kinda makes sense, where as the 2 new Phenom II's with slightly faster clocks make no sense at all, just seems like the x4 970 all over again.:shadedshu
     
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,204 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,985
    Location:
    Home
    Not everybody overclocks their processor, so for them this speed bump is quite welcome. Also, I think it comes with a higher multi for the Athlon II which will help for overclockers. Its more about slow improvements while they iron out Bulldozer, and they will need every single Mhz they have when Sandy Bridge comes in in January, and their answer is about half a year away.
     
  16. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    SB is mostly just a tweak with what, 2-15% (15 being an app that likes HT) real world improvement? Intel just likes to blow smoke.

    The real battle is with intel's money throwing machine.
     
  17. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    Several review sites got this processor up to 4.1 Ghz, and 4.5 Ghz when TurboCore kicks in.
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Actually, the old Yorkfields stand no chance. It's the i7 quads with hyperthreading that are a match for the x6's


    But I agree these releases are far from exciting. 3.3Ghz does not impress me.
     
  19. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Interesting you already have preformance numbers before the rest of the world . .. . :rolleyes:
     
  20. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    That is why they aren't releaseing any lower clock x6 ;)
    The faster x4 out performs the slower x6 in many cases (especially gaming), that is why there is no point.
    Same goes with the Phenom II 800 series, they are already discountinued after the Athlon X4s are released.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2010
  21. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Would be cool if these cores unlocked.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page